Arkansas
Data as of July 2003

Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services in
Medicaid and SCHIP in Arkansas

As of July 2003, 557,074 people were covered under Arkansas’s Medicaid programs. In
state fiscal year 2003, Arkansas spent $2.46 billion to provide Medicaid services. As of
July 2003, Arkansas no longer operates a SCHIP program. The State does, however, have
approval for a separate SCHIP program that has not yet been implemented. The State also
has a Medicaid §1115 waiver from the Federal government that allows it to expand
Medicaid to cover certain children who would not otherwise qualify for Medicaid. The
program operated under this waiver is referred to as the ARKids program and serves the
following groups of children:

e All children under age 6 from families with incomes of 133 percent Federal Poverty
Level (FPL) or less.

e All children aged 6-18 from families with incomes of 100 percent FPL or less.

e Uninsured children 18 or under from families with incomes of 200 percent FPL or
less who do not otherwise qualify for Medicaid.

Most beneficiaries (low-income families, low-income children, and persons with a
disability) qualify to enroll in primary care case management (PCCM). Mental health and
substance abuse services are excluded from the managed care program and are delivered
through the fee-for-service system. As of July 2003, there were 557,074 Medicaid
beneficiaries in the Medicaid program, with 325,886 enrollees in the PCCM program.

Medicaid

Who Is Eligible for Medicaid?

Families and Children

1. Families that would have qualified for cash assistance from the Arkansas Aid to
Families with Dependent Children program.

2. All children under age 6 from families with incomes of 133 percent FPL or less.

3. All children aged 6-18 from families with incomes of 100 percent FPL or less.

4. Uninsured children age 18 or under from families with incomes of 200 percent FPL
or less who do not otherwise qualify for Medicaid. (Also referred to as ARKids.)

5. Pregnant women from families with incomes of 133 percent FPL or less.

6. Recipients of adoption assistance and foster care under Title IV-E of the Social
Security Act.

Aged, Blind, and Disabled
1. Individuals receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI).

Information compiled from Medicaid state plan, SCHIP state plan, and various web-related
resources that may include the state and/or CMS Arkansas page 1 of 6



Arkansas
Data as of July 2003

2. Individuals who are in institutions for at least 30 consecutive days and who earn no
more than 300 percent of the cash SSI benefit.

3. Certain disabled children age 18 or under who are living at home, who would be
eligible for Medicaid if they were in a medical institution.

4. Individuals under the age of 21 who are receiving active treatment as inpatients in
psychiatric facilities or programs.

5. All working individuals aged 16—64 who meet the SSI definition of disability and
have an income of 250 percent FPL or less.

Medically Needy

Members of the following groups may qualify for Medicaid coverage as medically needy

if they meet a special income limit set by the State or have sufficient medical expenses to

spend down to that level:

1. Pregnant women.

2. Children under age 18.

3. Children under age 21 who are in foster homes, private institutions, or inpatient
psychiatric facilities.

4. Aged, blind, and disabled individuals financially supported by family caretakers.

Special income limits vary by family size and are no more than $108.33 per one-person
family, or $216.66 per two-person family, etc.

Waiver Populations
A 81115 waiver allows Arkansas to cover low-income children as described above.

What Mental Health/Substance Abuse Services Are Covered by Medicaid?

Medicaid must cover some types of services (mandatory services) and may cover some
other types of services (optional services). The information presented here identifies the
types of services Arkansas Medicaid covers and the coverage requirements for those
services. The services are presented as they are grouped in the Medicaid State plan that
Arkansas must maintain under Medicaid law. Only those types of services that include
mental health or substance abuse services are discussed.

Inpatient Hospital Services

Service Description Coverage Requirements

Inpatient psychiatric Services to treat mental health ¢ All stays of longer than 4 days must be approved

care conditions provided in an inpatient by the Medicaid agency’s designated agent.
hospital setting ¢ Beneficiaries age 21 and over may receive no

more than 20 days of inpatient services per year.
¢ Beneficiaries under age 21 may not receive more

than 20 days of service without the prior

authorization of the Medicaid agency.

Outpatient Hospital Including Rural Health Center and Federally Qualified Health Center Services

Service Description Coverage Requirements

Outpatient psychiatric | Mental health services that would e Beneficiaries age 21 or older may not receive
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care

be covered if provided in another
setting may be provided by an
outpatient hospital clinic

more than 12 visits to an outpatient hospital
facility per State fiscal year without the
authorization of the Medicaid agency. (The visit
limit does not apply to beneficiaries under age
21).

A mental health/substance abuse service
provided in an outpatient hospital setting must
meet the same coverage requirements as it
would if provided in another setting.

Federally Qualified
Health Centers
(FQHCs)

Any mental health service that .
would be covered if provided in
another setting

Beneficiaries age 21 or older may not receive
more than 12 visits to a FQHC per State fiscal
year without the authorization of the Medicaid
agency. (The visit limit does not apply to
beneficiaries under age 21).

A mental health/substance abuse service
provided in a FQHC must meet the same
coverage requirements as it would if provided in
another setting.

Rural Health Clinics
(RHCs)

Mental health services that are .
typically furnished by a physician in
an office or in a physician home
visit

Beneficiaries age 21 or older may not receive
more than a combined total of 12 visits per
State fiscal year for any of the following types of
services. (The visit limit does not apply to
beneficiaries under age 21):

— Rural health clinic services

— Physicians’ services

—  Medical services furnished by a dentist

—  Office medical services furnished by

an optometrist

—  Certified nurse midwife services
A mental health/substance abuse service
provided in a rural health clinic must meet the
same coverage requirements as it would if
provided in another setting.

Physician Services

Service

Description

Coverage Requirements

Physician services

Services that include mental health | o
services provided by a physician
acting within his/her scope of
practice as defined in State law

Beneficiaries age 21 or older may not receive
more than a combined total of 12 visits per
State fiscal year for any of the following types of
service. (The visit limit does not apply to
beneficiaries under age 21):

— Rural health clinic services

— Physicians’ services

—  Medical services furnished by a dentist

—  Office medical services furnished by

an optometrist

—  Certified nurse midwife services
A mental health/substance abuse service
provided by a physician clinic must meet the
same coverage requirements as it would if
provided in another setting.

Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Services for Children Under 21

Service Description Coverage Requirements
Child Health Services provided to beneficiaries e Beneficiaries may only receive services that are
Management eligible through early and periodic needed to treat or ameliorate a condition

Services (CHMS)

screening, diagnostic, and

treatment (EPSDT) screening in .

identified in an EPSDT screen.
Beneficiaries must be under age 21
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multidisciplinary clinic settings and
pediatric day program/intervention
settings. Specific services include
the following mental health and
substance abuse services:

Behavior counseling and
therapy

Neuropsychological testing
Psychiatric evaluation
psychological
Social/emotional assessment
Counseling and therapy

Beneficiaries may not receive more than two
diagnostic/evaluation services per State fiscal
year without the authorization of the Medicaid
agency.

Beneficiaries may not receive CHMS treatment
services without prior authorization from the
Medicaid agency.

Psychology
Services

Children in the EPSDT program
may receive the following
outpatient services from a
psychologist:

Diagnosis, including—

—  Psychological test/
evaluation

— Psychological testing
battery

Interpretation of diagnosis

Crisis management visit

Individual therapy session

Marital/family therapy

Individual collateral services

Group therapy

Beneficiaries may only receive services that are
needed to treat or ameliorate a condition
identified in an EPSDT screen.

Beneficiaries must be under age 21.

All psychology services must be—

—  Provided by a licensed psychologist

—  Prescribed by a physician

Beneficiaries may not receive therapy and
collateral services without the prior
authorization of the Medicaid agency.

Licensed Certified
Social Worker
(LCSW) Services

LCSWs may provide the following

services:

e Diagnosis

e Interpretation of diagnosis

e  Crisis management visit

e Individual outpatient therapy

sessions

Marital/family therapy
Individual outpatient collateral
services

Outpatient group therapy

Beneficiaries may only receive services that are
needed to treat or ameliorate a condition
identified in an EPSDT screen.

Beneficiaries must be under age 21.
Beneficiaries may not receive LCSW services
without a referral from a physician who
participates in the Medicaid program.
Beneficiaries may not receive therapy and
collateral services without the prior
authorization of the Medicaid agency.

Licensed
Professional
Counselor (LPC)
Services

LPCs may provide the following
services:

Diagnosis

Interpretation of diagnosis
Crisis management visit
Individual outpatient therapy
session

Marital/family therapy
Individual outpatient collateral
services

Outpatient group therapy

Beneficiaries may only receive services that are
needed to treat or ameliorate a condition
identified in an EPSDT screen.

Beneficiaries must be under age 21.
Beneficiaries may not receive LPC services
without a referral from a physician who
participates in the Medicaid program.
Beneficiaries may not receive therapy and
collateral services without the prior
authorization of the Medicaid agency.

Licensed Marriage
and Family
Therapist (LMFT)
services

LMFTs may provide the following

services:

e Diagnosis

e Interpretation of diagnosis

e  Crisis management visit

e Individual outpatient therapy

session

Marital/family therapy
Individual outpatient collateral
services

Outpatient group therapy

Beneficiaries may only receive services that are
needed to treat or ameliorate a condition
identified in an EPSDT screen.

Beneficiaries must be under age 21.
Beneficiaries may not receive LMFT services
without a referral from a physician who
participates in the Medicaid program.
Beneficiaries may not receive therapy and
collateral services without the prior
authorization of the Medicaid agency.
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School-based
mental health
services

Children in the EPSDT program
may receive the following
outpatient services from a school:
e  Crisis management visits

e Individual therapy sessions

e  Marital/family therapy

e  Group therapy

e Beneficiaries may only receive services that are
needed to treat or ameliorate a condition
identified in an EPSDT screen.

e Beneficiaries must be under age 21.

e Beneficiaries may not receive any services
without the prior authorization of the Medicaid
agency.

Rehabilitative
services for children

If needed, children in the EPSDT
program may receive the following
services in a residential setting to
treat or ameliorate a behavioral
health condition:

e Therapeutic foster care

¢ Residential treatment

e Beneficiaries may only receive services that are
needed to treat or ameliorate a condition
identified in an EPSDT screen.

e Beneficiaries must be under age 21

e Beneficiaries may only receive services that are
provided as part of an active individualized plan
of care.

e These services are only available to
beneficiaries who cannot be treated in their own
home.

Rehabilitative
services for youth

If needed, children in the EPSDT

program may receive the following

outpatient services in a residential

setting to treat or ameliorate a

behavioral health condition:

e Individual, group, and family
therapy

e Residential services
including—

— Emergency shelter
Therapeutic foster care
Therapeutic group home
Residential treatment

e Beneficiaries may only receive services that are
needed to treat or ameliorate a condition
identified in an EPSDT screen.

e Beneficiaries must be under age 21.

e Beneficiaries may only receive services that are
provided as part of an active individualized plan
of care.

e No beneficiary may receive therapy services
without the prior authorization of the Medicaid
agency.

e Residential services are only available to
beneficiaries who cannot be treated in their own
home.

Optional State Plan Services

Inpatient Psychiatric Services (for persons under the age of 22)

Service

Description

Coverage Requirements

Inpatient psychiatric
facility services for
individuals under 22

Inpatient or residential services to
treat a psychiatric condition in a
distinct unit for children and
adolescents

e Only beneficiaries under age 21 may begin
treatment in an inpatient psychiatric facility. If
the beneficiary was an inpatient when he/she
reached 21, services may continue until
services are no longer required or the individual
turns 22, whichever comes first.

e Beneficiaries may only receive services—

—  That are part of an individual plan of
care developed by an interdisciplinary
team

—  With prior authorization from the
Medicaid agency review team

— Under the direction of a physician

Rehabilitative Services

Service

Description

Coverage Requirements

Rehabilitative
Services for Persons
with Mental lliness
(RSPMI)

Services needed to treat a mental illness, .

including the following—

e Acute outpatient services, including—

— Diagnosis

No beneficiary may receive the following
services without the prior authorization of
the Medicaid agency—

— Individual and group outpatient

Information compiled from Medicaid state plan, SCHIP state plan, and various web-related
resources that may include the state and/or CMS

Arkansas page 5 of 6




Arkansas
Data as of July 2003

— Psychological test/evaluation
— Psychological testing battery
treatment plan
— Interpretation of diagnosis
— Individual outpatient therapy
session
—  Marital/family therapy
—  Outpatient group therapy
—  Group outpatient medication
maintenance
Acute day treatment
e Assessment-reassessment and plan
of care development
e  Crisis intervention and stabilization
interventions
Onsite intervention
OffSite intervention
Rehabilitation day services
Physical examination
Medication maintenance by a
physician
Periodic review of plan of care
e Routine venipuncture for collection of
specimen
e  Catheterization for collection of
specimen
e Medication administration by a
licensed nurse
Collateral intervention
e Inpatient visits in acute care
hospitals by board certified
psychiatrists
Methadone maintenance and levo-alpha-
acetyl-methadol (LAAM) are not covered

therapy sessions
—  Offsite and onsite interventions
— Rehabilitation day services
— Medication maintenance by a
physician
No beneficiary under age 21 may receive
the following services without the prior
authorization of the Medicaid agency—
—  Marital/family therapy
—  Collateral intervention
No beneficiary age 21 or over may
receive the following services without the
prior authorization of the Medicaid
agency—
— Acute day treatment
—  Crisis stabilization intervention
Services may only be provided as part of
an active, individualized plan of care.

SCHIP Medicaid Expansion Program

Arkansas Does Not Operate A SCHIP Medicaid Expansion Program.

Separate SCHIP Program

Arkansas Does Not Operate A Separate SCHIP Program.
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