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Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services in 

Medicaid and SCHIP in Missouri 
 
 
Missouri Department of Social Services monthly Management Report states that as of July 31, 2003, 
956,228 people were covered under Missouri's Medicaid/SCHIP programs. 871,283 of these were financed 
by Medicaid funding and 84,945 by SCHIP funding.  In state fiscal year 2002, Missouri spent about $4 
billion to provide Medicaid services.  
 
In 1998, Missouri obtained a Medicaid/SCHIP 1115 waiver from the federal government to expand 
eligibility using a combination of Medicaid and SCHIP funding.  Specifically, Missouri: 
 
• Uses Medicaid funding to cover: 

− children under 1 from families with incomes of 185% FPL or less, children from age 1-6 from 
families with incomes of 133% FPL or less, and children age 6-18 from families with incomes less 
than 100% FPL; 

− Uninsured parents who are in their second year of transitioning from welfare to work with income 
below 100% FPL and have a Medicaid/MC+ eligible child in the home; 

− uninsured women losing their Medicaid eligibility for 60 days post-partum, regardless of income, 
for 1 year plus 60 days  (This group is covered for women’s health services only). 

• Uses SCHIP funding to cover children under age 19 from families with incomes up to 300% FPL who 
would not otherwise be eligible for Medicaid.  Children with family incomes 186-225% of FPL are 
subject to co-payment. Children with family incomes from 226% - 300% FPL are subject to co-
payments and monthly premiums equal to the average co-payment of the Missouri Consolidated 
Health Care Plan. This premium currently ranges between $59.00 and $225.00 per month. 

 
Missouri Medicaid requires most families and children to enroll in comprehensive MCOs that deliver most 
mental health and substance abuse services.  Those beneficiaries who belong to the aged, blind, and 
disabled eligibility groups are served through fee-for-service, as are those families and children who live in 
some rural areas of the State where managed care does not operate.  As of July 2003 there were 936,228 
Medicaid beneficiaries in the Medicaid program; 435,642 of these were enrolled in comprehensive 
Managed Care Organizations.    
 
 
Medicaid 
 
 
Who is Eligible for Medicaid? 
 
Families and Children 
1. Parents from families with incomes of 77% FPL or less.1 
2. Pregnant women and children under age 1 from families with incomes of 185% FPL or less 
3. Children from age 1 to 6 from families with incomes of 133% FPL or less 
4. Children age 6 to 19 from families with incomes less than 100% FPL.  
5. Uninsured parents who are in the second year of transitioning from welfare to work with income below 

100% FPL and have a Medicaid/MC+ eligible child in the home  
6. Uninsured women losing their Medicaid eligibility for 60 days post-partum, regardless of income, for a 

maximum of 1 year plus 60 days.  (This group is covered for women’s health services only.) 
7. Recipients of adoption assistance and foster care under Title IV-E of the Social Security Act 
 

                                                           
1 As of July 1, 2004, Missouri Medicaid reduced the income limit for parents to 75% FPL. 
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Aged, Blind, and Disabled 
1. Individuals who are age 65 or older OR meet the SSI definition of disabled or the state definition of 

blindness or receive SSI or Social Security based on age or disability.  As of July 2003,  
A. The income limit for aged, blind, and disabled beneficiaries was $599/month for individuals and  

$829/month for couples.  
B. The resource limits for this group was $999.99 for individuals and $2000 for couples. 
C.  

2. All who meet the State's definition of blindness and receive no more than $470/month/indivual and 
$940/month/couple in State supplementary payments and federal SSI payments combined. 

3. All who meet the SSI definition of disability or are over 65, live in a group setting, and receive no 
more than $390/month in State supplementary payments and federal SSI payments combined. 

4. All working individuals between the ages of 16 and 64 who meet the SSI definition of disability and 
have an income of 250% FPL or less.  Those with incomes of 150% FPL or more must pay a premium 
that varies by income in order to participate in the Medicaid program.  

5. Individuals under the age of 21 who are receiving active treatment as inpatients in psychiatric facilities 
or programs, reside in a nursing facility, or reside in an ICF-MR. 

6. Individuals over 65 or under 18 years of age who are eligible for in institutions and who have income 
no more than $965/month.  

 
Medically Needy 
Missouri does not have a medically needy program. 
 
Waiver Populations  
Missouri has an 1115 waiver that allows the State to cover low-income families as previously described. 
 
 
What Mental Health/Substance Abuse Services are Covered by Medicaid? 
 
Medicaid must cover some types of services (mandatory services) and may cover some other types of 
services (optional services).   The information presented here identifies the types of service Missouri 
Medicaid covers and the coverage requirements for those services.  These services are presented grouped as 
they are in the Medicaid State plan that Missouri must maintain under Medicaid law.  Only those types of 
services that include mental health or substance abuse services are discussed. (NOTE: Benefits are limited 
for parents who are in the 2nd year of transition from welfare to work.) 
 
 

Mandatory State Plan Services 
 
Inpatient Hospital Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Inpatient Mental 
Health and Substance 
Abuse Services 

• Psychiatric services provided 
in the specialized wing of an 
acute care hospital; or an 
Inpatient Psychiatric Facility (to 
those under 21 years of age) 

• Detox in acute hospitals 

• Inpatient psychiatric hospital services are not 
covered for beneficiaries between the ages of 
22 and 65.  (Please see the table, "Inpatient 
Psychiatric Services (for persons under the age 
of 21)," for more information.) 
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Outpatient Hospital Including Rural Health Center and Federally Qualified Health Center Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Outpatient Psychiatric 
and Substance Abuse 
Care 

Substance abuse and mental 
health services that would be 
covered if provided in another 
setting may be provided by an 
outpatient hospital clinic.  Except, 
day treatment services may not be 
billed as outpatient hospital 
services. 

• Services must be physician or psychologist 
directed 

• Services must be performed within the licensed 
outpatient facility 

• Mental health and substance abuse services 
provided in an outpatient hospital must meet the 
same requirements as those provided in 
another setting information) 

• Specific opiod treatments, such as methadone 
and/or LAAM are not covered 

Federally Qualified 
Health Centers 
(FQHCs) and Rural 
Health Centers 
(RHCs) 

FQHCs and RHCs may provide the 
same mental health and substance 
abuse services as any other 
provider-as long as the personnel 
providing the service meet the 
same qualifications as other 
providers. 

• Services must be physician or psychologist 
directed 

• Services provided by an FQHC or RHC must 
meet the same requirements as services 
provided by another provider. 

 
 
Physician Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Physician Services Physicians may provide substance 

abuse and psychotherapy services 
as described under "Rehabilitative 
Services". 
 
Licensed psychologist may provide 
psychotherapy services under the 
Physician’s program. 

• The service must be within the scope of the 
practice of medicine, as defined by state law. 

• Physicians providing psychotherapy must have 
completed a residency in psychiatry; any 
Medicaid certified physician may provide 
substance abuse services. 

• For psychologist the services must be within the 
scope of practice of psychotherapy, as defined 
by state law 

• Services cover Medicaid eligible recipients 0-
125 years of age. 

• .  
 
 
Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Counseling/Social 
work services 

Services include the following: 
• assessment 
• crisis intervention 
• individual therapy 
• family therapy  
• group therapy 

• Service must be needed to ameliorate or treat a 
condition identified in an EPSDT screen 

• Services may be provided by a licensed social 
worker or licensed professional counselor 

• Some services must be prior authorized by the 
Medicaid agency for children 0-2. 
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Optional State Plan Services 
 
Clinic Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Community mental 
health center services 

• Services to maintain seriously 
mentally ill beneficiaries within 
the community at a level of 
care less restrictive than an 
inpatient psychiatric hospital or 
nursing facility. 

• Services may include: 
− Intake/annual evaluation,  
− psychosocial 

rehabilitation,  
− crisis intervention,  
− community support,  
− intensive community 

support, 
− medication administration 

and  
− medication services  

• To qualify for services, beneficiaries must, as 
identified through a medical evaluation and 
assessment process, be found to be seriously 
and persistently mentally ill 

• To continue receiving services 
− a medical/clinical review team must 

periodically review the situation and 
approve continuation, and 

− a physician must review and re-certify the 
beneficiary's treatment plan. 

 
 
Inpatient Psychiatric Services (for persons under the age of 21) 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Inpatient Psychiatric 
Services for persons 
under the age of 21 

 • Services may only be provided within a: 
− State-licensed psychiatric facility or 

program within a psychiatric facility that is 
accredited by the Joint Commission on 
Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations; 

− Comprehensive Substance Treatment and 
Rehabilitation Services (CSTAR) program, 
or 

− psychiatric facility operated by the Missouri 
Department of Mental Health 

• To obtain inpatient psychiatric services a 
beneficiary must be medically certified as 
requiring that level of care 

• Services must be prescribed by a physician 
• The Medicaid agency's designated agent must 

authorize the admission and the length of stay. 
 
 
Rehabilitative Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Adult day health care 
program 

• An individual may receive up 
to 10 hours of care per day,  
including, 

− a program of organized 
therapeutic, rehabilitative 
and social activities,  

− medical supervision,  
− medication services,  
− meals and snacks, and 
− necessary transportation. 

 

• To receive care the beneficiary must be 
physically, mentally, socially, or emotionally 
impaired to a level of care that would otherwise 
require institutionalization and need daytime 
supervision and services to maintain or improve 
their level of functioning. 

• Each beneficiary in treatment must have a plan 
of care that is developed by the provider within 
five days of the first contact and is revised at 
least every six months. 
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Rehabilitative Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Community 
psychiatric 
rehabilitation services 

• Services to maintain seriously 
mentally ill beneficiaries within 
the community at a level of 
care less restrictive than an 
inpatient psychiatric hospital or 
nursing facility. 

• Services may include: 
− Intake/annual evaluation,  
− psychosocial 

rehabilitation,  
− crisis intervention,  
− community support,  
− intensive community 

support, 
− medication administration 

and  
− medication services  

• To qualify for services, beneficiaries must, as 
identified through a  medical evaluation and 
assessment process, be found to be seriously 
and persistently mentally ill 

• To continue receiving services 
− a medical/clinical review team must 

periodically review the situation and 
approve continuation, and 

− a physician must review and recertify the 
beneficiary's treatment plan. 

• The CPR provider shall develop and maintain 
an Individualized Treatment Plan that sets 
forth the care, treatment and rehabilitation 
goals and objectives for individuals with mental 
illness and that details the treatment program 
as required by law, rules and funding sources.  

Comprehensive 
community support 
services  

• Services include any medical 
or remedial service reasonable 
and necessary for maximum 
reduction of behavioral 
disability and restoration of the 
beneficiary to his or her best 
possible functional level. 

• Services may include: 
− intake, assessment, 

evaluation and treatment 
planning; 

− community support , 
− specialized sexual abuse 

treatment 
− 24 hour crisis stabilization 

and intervention 
− intensive in-home services 
− medication management 

and monitoring: 
− day treatment/ 

psychosocial rehabilitation 
− therapeutic counseling or 

consultation services not 
covered separately 

− supported independent 
living and transitional 
living 

To receive services a beneficiary must have an 
individualized treatment and rehabilitation plan that 
is periodically revised. 
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Rehabilitative Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Comprehensive day 
rehabilitation services 

• Intensive, comprehensive 
services to prevent and/or 
minimize chronic disabilities 
while restoring the individual to 
an optimal level of physical 
cognitive and behavioral 
functions. This is a post-acute 
program serving those who 
demonstrate the need for 
rehabilitation and specialized 
supportive care. 

• Emphasis in this program is on 
functional living skills, adaptive 
strategies for cognitive, 
memory or perceptual deficits. 

• To qualify for services a beneficiary must have 
a primary diagnosis of traumatically acquired 
brain damage resulting in residual deficits and 
disability 

• Services may only be provided in a free-
standing rehabilitation center or in an acute 
hospital setting with space dedicated to head 
injury rehabilitation. 

Comprehensive 
substance treatment 
and rehabilitation 
services (CSTAR) 

Services may include: 
• day treatment,  
• individual counseling, 
• family therapy, 
• group counseling,  
• codependency counseling,  
• group educational counseling, 
• ADA community support 

services,  
• intake/screening, and  
• comprehensive assessment  
• Specific opioid treatments, 

such as methadone and/or 
LAAM 

• To qualify for services beneficiaries must have 
been assessed to a particular level of CSTAR 
treatment.  

• Each beneficiary must have an individual 
treatment plan  

• The individual treatment plan must be reviewed 
and signed by a licensed psychologist, board-
certified psychiatrist, or licensed physician. 

• Services must be approved by the Department 
of Mental Health. 

 
 
Targeted Case Management 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Targeted Case 
Management (TCM) 

• Services to assist eligible 
children and adults gain 
access to needed psychiatric, 
medical, social, 
educational, vocational, and 
other services necessary to 
maximize the 
recipient's adjustment and 
functioning within the family 
and community 

• Services to coordinate the 
multiple service systems that 
typically impact recipients with 
SED and SMI. 

• Specific services include 
− assessment, 
− planning for services 
− case coordination 
− case documentation 

• Individuals receiving TCM services2 must 
− be 6 to 17 years of age, and 
� have a DSM III-diagnosis, and be 

Severely Emotionally Disturbed 
(SED) by the State's definition,  

� require case management 
services, and 

� be participating in, being 
discharged from, or be on a 
waiting list for community based, 
residential, or a facility inpatient 
programs and services funded by 
the Department of Mental Health. 

− Be at least 18 years of age, suffering from 
severe mental illness (SMI), and 
� been discharged within the last 

thirty days from an Inpatient 
hospital for psychiatric treatment, 
or; 

� have had at least two periods of 
                                                           
2 Missouri provides Targeted Case Management Services to other groups, but these groups are not defined 
by the need for mental health or AODA services. 
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Targeted Case Management 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 

inpatient hospitalization for 
psychiatric treatment within the last 
twelve months, or 

� be participating in the DMH 
supported community living 
program, or 

� have been conditionally released 
from a psychiatric facility; or  

� meet the criteria for inpatient 
psychiatric hospitalization and will 
be diverted from inpatient 
hospitalization through use of 
community-based treatment. 

 
 
SCHIP Medicaid Expansion Program  
 
 
Who is Eligible for the SCHIP Medicaid Expansion Program? 
 
As previously discussed, Missouri obtained a Medicaid/SCHIP 1115 waiver from the federal government 
to establish Missouri Care Plus.  This program serves  
 
1. Children under age 1 from families with incomes between 186 and 300% FPL; 
2. Children from age 1to6 from families with incomes between 134 and 300% FPL. 
3. Children from 6 to 19 from families with incomes between 101 and 300% FPL.   
 
Families with eligible children and incomes above 225% FPL must pay monthly premiums for program 
participation that vary from $59 to $225 based on income and family size. 
 
 
What Mental Health/Substance Abuse Services are Covered by the SCHIP 
Medicaid Expansion Program? 
 
Service coverage in Missouri Care Plus is identical to coverage in the Medicaid program, which was 
described in the previous section. 
 
 
Separate SCHIP Program 
 
 

Missouri has no Separate SCHIP Program 


