
 State Reports – West Virginia 
 

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 775 

 

West Virginia 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts 

State Population: 1,852,994 
Population Ages 12–20: 204,000 

   Percentage Number 
Ages 12–20            
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 24.5    50,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 16.5   34,000 

Ages 12–14                
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 7.7     5,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 4.0    3,000 

 Ages 15–17                
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 21.0    14,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.9    9,000 

 Ages 18–20                
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 43.3    31,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 30.6   22,000 
 
    Number 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)       32 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)     1,912 
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  Percentage of  Number 
  All Traffic 
   Fatalities 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers  
with BAC > 0.01 32.0    18 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through an administrative procedure. 

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and 

other information digitally encoded on valid identification cards. 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
• General affirmative defense—the retailer came to a good faith or reasonable decision that 

the purchaser was 21 years or older; inspection of an identification card not required. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit: 0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
No use/lose law 
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Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age: 15   
• Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months  
• There is no minimum supervised driving requirement—with driver education; 50 hours 

without, 10 of which must be at night 

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age: 16 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after: 10 p.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist: For first 6 months, no unrelated passengers less than 20 years 
old. For second 6 months, not more than one passenger under 20 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Note: West Virginia’s exception allows relatives by blood or marriage to furnish alcohol to 
minors. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of Decoy 
• Minimum: 18 
• Maximum: 20 

Appearance Requirements 
• None 

ID Possession 
• Required 

Verbal Exaggeration of Age 
• Prohibited 

Decoy Training 
• Mandated 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Time period/conditions: No guidelines provided 
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Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer: 18 
• Wine: 18 
• Spirits: 18 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders 

Condition(s) That Must Be Met in order for an Underage Person To Sell Alcoholic Beverages 
• Manager/supervisor is present. 

Dram Shop Liability 
• There is no statutory liability.   
• The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.   

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Host Party Laws 
No State-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:  

Age Verification Requirements   
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient.  

State Approval/Permit Requirements   
• Producer/shipper must obtain State permit.  
• State must approve common carrier.  

Reporting Requirements   
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.  
• Common carrier must record/report purchaser’s name. 

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 
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Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer: No law 
• Wine: Permitted—direct shipper’s license required; two cases per month 
• Spirits: No law 

Alcohol Tax 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.18 per gallon. 
• Wine (12 percent alcohol): Control State 
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Control State 

Drink Specials 
No law 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Volume discounts: Banned 
• Price posting requirements: Post and hold—30 days minimum 
• Retailer credit: Not permitted  

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Retailer credit: Not permitted  

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Control State  
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West Virginia Survey Responses 

  

State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

West Virginia Beverage Control Administration (WV ABCA) 
Methods by which local and State enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

Under the current code, ABCA writes a letter requesting that the WV State Police assist in the 
inspection of on-premises establishments. Local law enforcement agencies assist in crowd control on 
the exterior of the establishments. At off-premises retailers, local law enforcement agencies can 
conduct compliance checks and coordinate with ABCA for licensee penalties. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary State agency responsible for enforcing laws 
addressing direct sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

West Virginia Alcohol Beverage Control 
Administration (http://abca.wv.gov) 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies  No 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession by State law enforcement agencies 195 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by State agencies 1,449 
Number of licensees that failed State compliance checks 328 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Data not collected 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the State3 382 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $87,900 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the State4 17 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed5 1 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 

Additional Clarification   

As of January 1, 2011, all agencies (State or local) that conduct compliance operations using Enforcing 
Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) funds from the WV Division of Justice and Community Services or 
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) funds from the WV Governor’s Highway Safety 
Program (GHSP) will report their data through the WV Commission on Drunk Driving Prevention’s Web-
based reporting system. This database is funded by the WV Governor’s Highway Safety Program. 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per State statutes 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying 
with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies 

 

 
 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
RU 21 Underage Drinking Prevention Project  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information http://www.ru21wv.org 

Program description: The WV Prevention Resource Center (PRC) serves as a central point of 
communication and administers the statewide EUDL Marketing and Education Project. The Underage 
Drinking Prevention Specialist facilitates cross-system efforts with EUDL, Bureau for Behavioral Health 
and Health Facilities (BBHHF), GHSP, ABCA, Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD), WV 
Collegiate Initiative to Address High-Risk Alcohol Use (WVCIA), and county prevention partnerships and 
other stakeholders through the Underage Drinking Prevention workgroup. The workgroup was 
established in January 2005 to coordinate with other systems specifically to target preventing and 
reducing the onset of underage drinking. (This workgroup was established in 2005 by the personnel who 
attended the Surgeon General’s National Meeting of the States and includes members of the Underage 
Drinking Task Force of the Juvenile Justice Sub-Committee. It oversees the Statewide EUDL Marketing 
and Education Project.) This is accomplished by working together to build the capacity of individuals and 
organizations to prevent and reduce childhood and underage drinking by increasing understanding and 
perception of harm, strengthening community-based processes and youth-oriented practices, promoting 
continued underage drinking prevention efforts, and promoting underage drinking prevention messages. 

WV Collegiate Initiative to Address High-Risk Alcohol Use  
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information http://www.wvcia.org 
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Program description: WVCIA is the West Virginia organization that proactively addresses collegiate 
alcohol, drug, and associated violence issues through the use of evidence-based strategies to promote 
healthy campus environments through self-regulatory initiatives, information dissemination, public policy 
influence, cooperation with prevention partners, and technical assistance. Members are representatives 
of the State’s campuses, agencies, and communities who encourage and enhance local, State, regional, 
and national initiatives through a commitment to shared standards for policy development, educational 
strategies, enforcement, evaluation, and community collaboration. This initiative is currently funded by a 
grant from the WV GHSP through its NHTSA Alcohol funds. 

Dreamsavers  
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report http://www.iihs.org/externaldata/srdata/docs/sr4306.pdf 
URL for more program information No data 

Program description: Coordinated law enforcement effort to restrict alcohol availability to underage 
persons in both bars and retail carryouts. 

ABCA Statewide Enforcement Program  
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information http://www.abca.wv.gov 

Program description: Funded by WV GHSP through NHTSA funds and the WV Division on Justice and 
Community Services through EUDL funds. 

Driving under the influence (DUI) simulator: With funds from WV GHSP and State Farm philanthropies, 
ABCA has purchased and is operating a DUI Simulator that is being exhibited at high schools, colleges, 
and public events for the purpose of educating teen drivers on the dangers of drinking and driving. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
WV Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD) 

URL for more program information: http:// www.wvsadd.org 

Program description: SADD is a peer-to-peer education, prevention, and activism organization dedicated 
to preventing destructive decisions—particularly underage drinking, drug use, risky and impaired driving, 
teen violence, and teen suicide. 

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No recognized Tribes 

Program description  Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

No 

Program description Not applicable 

http://www.abca.wv.gov/
http://www.wvsadd.org/
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State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Best practice standards description: All programs receiving Federal funds (EUDL, Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant, Strategic Prevention Framework-State Incentive Grant, 
NHTSA, etc.) must select model programs or evidence-based practices for their underage drinking 
prevention programs. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

State Interagency Collaboration  
A State-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Stephanie Southall 
Email: southall1@marshall.edu 
Address: 100 Angus E Peyton Drive, S Chas, WV 25303 
Phone: 304-766-6301 x25 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
WV Prevention Resource Center 
WV Alcohol Beverage Control Administration 
WV Governor’s Highway Safety Program 
WV Bureau for Behavioral Health and Health Facilities 
WV Division of Justice and Community Services (EUDL) 
WV State Police 
WV National Guard Drug Demand Reduction Unit 
WV Mothers Against Drunk Driving 
WV Students Against Destructive Decisions 
WV Department of Education 
WV Collegiate Initiative to Address High-Risk Alcohol Use County Prevention Partnerships 

A Web site or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access http://www.ru21wv.org; 

http://www.prevnet.org/wvpartnership/workgroups.aspx 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: There is not a consolidated plan. However, many agencies have their own strategic 
plans that are used to apply for grants from the Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws and 
Governor’s Highway Safety Programs. 

Plan can be accessed via:  southall1@marshall.edu 
State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 

Prepared by Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
The coordinating committee, known as the Underage Drinking Prevention Workgroup, is staffed by the 
WV PRC and is a subcommittee of the WV Partnership to Promote Community Well-Being. It is funded 
by the EUDL Grant and a SAMHSA Programs of Regional and National Significance Grant administered 
by the WV PRC. In addition, the WV GHSP has supported this effort through equipment purchases and 
travel assistance. In the past, this committee received funding from the SAMHSA SPF-SIG Discretionary 
Grant Program and the SAMHSA SAPT Block Grant Program. Our State’s SPF-SIG funds expired in 
September 2010. At the same time, our Single State Authority pulled the funding for the Underage 
Drinking Prevention Specialist position, whose role is to staff the Underage Drinking Prevention 
Workgroup. Beginning in October 2011, the Underage Drinking Prevention Specialist will likely be funded 
by the WV GHSP through the NHTSA Alcohol Programs Grant. The Single State Authority (WV BBHHF) 
has been represented on this workgroup. However, their attendance and participation has been minimal.  

mailto:southall1@marshall.edu
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For that reason, they did not have access to the information needed to complete the report and therefore 
asked the Underage Drinking Prevention Specialist to provide the information. 

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:  

Estimate of State funds expended $210,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of State funds expended $210,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of State funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of State funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of State funds expended No data  
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of State funds expended $76,500 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of State funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included No data 
Estimate of State funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes Yes 
Fines  Yes 
Fees No 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: There is a dedicated tax on beverage alcohol that 
goes to support the WV Commission on Drunk Driving Prevention (CDDP), which uses this money for 
DUI enforcement throughout the State. The GHSP uses the CDDP monies as the State match for its 
Federal NHTSA funds so that funds can be directed to grantees match free. Administrative fines collected 
by WV ABCA are used as buy monies for underage drinking enforcement operations. 
Additional Clarification  

Law enforcement’s focus has been on a comprehensive method of enforcement emphasizing cooperation 
among WV ABCA, State Police, and local law enforcement agencies. The Division of Justice and 
Community Services administers the OJJDP EUDL program in WV. This program funds several local law 
enforcement agencies for compliance checks, diversion programs, and education programs. 




