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Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services in 
Medicaid and SCHIP in Arkansas 

 
 
 
As of July 2003, 557,074 people were covered under Arkansas’s Medicaid programs. In 
state fiscal year 2003, Arkansas spent $2.46 billion to provide Medicaid services. As of 
July 2003, Arkansas no longer operates a SCHIP program. The State does, however, have 
approval for a separate SCHIP program that has not yet been implemented. The State also 
has a Medicaid §1115 waiver from the Federal government that allows it to expand 
Medicaid to cover certain children who would not otherwise qualify for Medicaid. The 
program operated under this waiver is referred to as the ARKids program and serves the 
following groups of children: 
 
• All children under age 6 from families with incomes of 133 percent Federal Poverty 

Level (FPL) or less. 
• All children aged 6–18 from families with incomes of 100 percent FPL or less. 
• Uninsured children 18 or under from families with incomes of 200 percent FPL or 

less who do not otherwise qualify for Medicaid. 
 
Most beneficiaries (low-income families, low-income children, and persons with a 
disability) qualify to enroll in primary care case management (PCCM). Mental health and 
substance abuse services are excluded from the managed care program and are delivered 
through the fee-for-service system. As of July 2003, there were 557,074 Medicaid 
beneficiaries in the Medicaid program, with 325,886 enrollees in the PCCM program. 
 
 
Medicaid 
 
 
Who Is Eligible for Medicaid? 
 
Families and Children 
1. Families that would have qualified for cash assistance from the Arkansas Aid to 

Families with Dependent Children program. 
2. All children under age 6 from families with incomes of 133 percent FPL or less. 
3. All children aged 6–18 from families with incomes of 100 percent FPL or less. 
4. Uninsured children age 18 or under from families with incomes of 200 percent FPL 

or less who do not otherwise qualify for Medicaid.  (Also referred to as ARKids.) 
5. Pregnant women from families with incomes of 133 percent FPL or less. 
6. Recipients of adoption assistance and foster care under Title IV-E of the Social 

Security Act. 
 
Aged, Blind, and Disabled 
1. Individuals receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI). 
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2. Individuals who are in institutions for at least 30 consecutive days and who earn no 
more than 300 percent of the cash SSI benefit.   

3. Certain disabled children age 18 or under who are living at home, who would be 
eligible for Medicaid if they were in a medical institution.   

4. Individuals under the age of 21 who are receiving active treatment as inpatients in 
psychiatric facilities or programs.   

5. All working individuals aged 16–64 who meet the SSI definition of disability and 
have an income of 250 percent FPL or less.   

 
Medically Needy 
Members of the following groups may qualify for Medicaid coverage as medically needy 
if they meet a special income limit set by the State or have sufficient medical expenses to 
spend down to that level: 
1. Pregnant women. 
2. Children under age 18. 
3. Children under age 21 who are in foster homes, private institutions, or inpatient 

psychiatric facilities. 
4. Aged, blind, and disabled individuals financially supported by family caretakers. 
 
Special income limits vary by family size and are no more than $108.33 per one-person 
family, or $216.66 per two-person family, etc. 
 
Waiver Populations  
A §1115 waiver allows Arkansas to cover low-income children as described above. 
 
What Mental Health/Substance Abuse Services Are Covered by Medicaid? 
 
Medicaid must cover some types of services (mandatory services) and may cover some 
other types of services (optional services). The information presented here identifies the 
types of services Arkansas Medicaid covers and the coverage requirements for those 
services. The services are presented as they are grouped in the Medicaid State plan that 
Arkansas must maintain under Medicaid law. Only those types of services that include 
mental health or substance abuse services are discussed. 
 
 
Inpatient Hospital Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Inpatient psychiatric  
care 

Services to treat mental health 
conditions provided in an inpatient 
hospital setting 

• All stays of longer than 4 days must be approved 
by the Medicaid agency’s designated agent.  

• Beneficiaries age 21 and over may receive no 
more than 20 days of inpatient services per year. 

• Beneficiaries under age 21 may not receive more 
than 20 days of service without the prior 
authorization of the Medicaid agency. 

 
 
 
Outpatient Hospital Including Rural Health Center and Federally Qualified Health Center Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Outpatient psychiatric Mental health services that would • Beneficiaries age 21 or older may not receive 
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care be covered if provided in another 
setting may be provided by an 
outpatient hospital clinic 

more than 12 visits to an outpatient hospital 
facility per State fiscal year without the 
authorization of the Medicaid agency. (The visit 
limit does not apply to beneficiaries under age 
21). 

• A mental health/substance abuse service 
provided in an outpatient hospital setting must 
meet the same coverage requirements as it 
would if provided in another setting. 

Federally Qualified 
Health Centers 
(FQHCs) 

Any mental health service that 
would be covered if provided in 
another setting 

• Beneficiaries age 21 or older may not receive 
more than 12 visits to a FQHC per State fiscal 
year without the authorization of the Medicaid 
agency. (The visit limit does not apply to 
beneficiaries under age 21). 

• A mental health/substance abuse service 
provided in a FQHC must meet the same 
coverage requirements as it would if provided in 
another setting. 

Rural Health Clinics 
(RHCs) 

Mental health services that are 
typically furnished by a physician in 
an office or in a physician home 
visit 

• Beneficiaries age 21 or older may not receive 
more than a combined total of 12 visits per 
State fiscal year for any of the following types of 
services. (The visit limit does not apply to 
beneficiaries under age 21): 

− Rural health clinic services 
− Physicians’ services 
− Medical services furnished by a dentist 
− Office medical services furnished by 

an optometrist 
− Certified nurse midwife services 

• A mental health/substance abuse service 
provided in a rural health clinic must meet the 
same coverage requirements as it would if 
provided in another setting. 

 
 
Physician Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Physician services Services that include mental health 

services provided by a physician 
acting within his/her scope of 
practice as defined in State law 

• Beneficiaries age 21 or older may not receive 
more than a combined total of 12 visits per 
State fiscal year for any of the following types of 
service. (The visit limit does not apply to 
beneficiaries under age 21): 

− Rural health clinic services 
− Physicians’ services 
− Medical services furnished by a dentist 
− Office medical services furnished by 

an optometrist 
− Certified nurse midwife services 

• A mental health/substance abuse service 
provided by a physician clinic must meet the 
same coverage requirements as it would if 
provided in another setting. 

 
 
Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Services for Children Under 21 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Child Health 
Management 
Services (CHMS) 

Services provided to beneficiaries 
eligible through early and periodic 
screening, diagnostic, and 
treatment (EPSDT) screening in 

• Beneficiaries may only receive services that are 
needed to treat or ameliorate a condition 
identified in an EPSDT screen. 

• Beneficiaries must be under age 21 
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multidisciplinary clinic settings and 
pediatric day program/intervention 
settings. Specific services include 
the following mental health and 
substance abuse services: 
• Behavior counseling and 

therapy  
• Neuropsychological testing  
• Psychiatric evaluation 

psychological  
• Social/emotional assessment  
• Counseling and therapy 

• Beneficiaries may not receive more than two 
diagnostic/evaluation services per State fiscal 
year without the authorization of the Medicaid 
agency. 

• Beneficiaries may not receive CHMS treatment 
services without prior authorization from the 
Medicaid agency. 

Psychology 
Services 

Children in the EPSDT program 
may receive the following 
outpatient services from a 
psychologist: 
• Diagnosis, including— 

− Psychological test/ 
evaluation 

− Psychological testing 
battery 

• Interpretation of diagnosis 
• Crisis management visit 
• Individual therapy session 
• Marital/family therapy 
• Individual collateral services 
• Group therapy 

• Beneficiaries may only receive services that are 
needed to treat or ameliorate a condition 
identified in an EPSDT screen. 

• Beneficiaries must be under age 21. 
• All psychology services must be—  

− Provided by a licensed psychologist  
− Prescribed by a physician 

• Beneficiaries may not receive therapy and 
collateral services without the prior 
authorization of the Medicaid agency. 

Licensed Certified 
Social Worker 
(LCSW) Services 

LCSWs may provide the following 
services: 
• Diagnosis 
• Interpretation of diagnosis 
• Crisis management visit 
• Individual outpatient therapy 

sessions 
• Marital/family therapy 
• Individual outpatient collateral 

services 
• Outpatient group therapy 

• Beneficiaries may only receive services that are 
needed to treat or ameliorate a condition 
identified in an EPSDT screen. 

• Beneficiaries must be under age 21. 
• Beneficiaries may not receive LCSW services 

without a referral from a physician who 
participates in the Medicaid program. 

• Beneficiaries may not receive therapy and 
collateral services without the prior 
authorization of the Medicaid agency. 

Licensed 
Professional 
Counselor (LPC) 
Services 

LPCs may provide the following 
services: 
• Diagnosis 
• Interpretation of diagnosis 
• Crisis management visit 
• Individual outpatient therapy 

session 
• Marital/family therapy 
• Individual outpatient collateral 

services 
• Outpatient group therapy 

• Beneficiaries may only receive services that are 
needed to treat or ameliorate a condition 
identified in an EPSDT screen. 

• Beneficiaries must be under age 21. 
• Beneficiaries may not receive LPC services 

without a referral from a physician who 
participates in the Medicaid program. 

• Beneficiaries may not receive therapy and 
collateral services without the prior 
authorization of the Medicaid agency. 

Licensed Marriage 
and Family 
Therapist (LMFT) 
services 

LMFTs may provide the following 
services: 
• Diagnosis 
• Interpretation of diagnosis 
• Crisis management visit 
• Individual outpatient  therapy 

session 
• Marital/family therapy 
• Individual outpatient collateral 

services 
• Outpatient group therapy 

• Beneficiaries may only receive services that are 
needed to treat or ameliorate a condition 
identified in an EPSDT screen. 

• Beneficiaries must be under age 21. 
• Beneficiaries may not receive LMFT services 

without a referral from a physician who 
participates in the Medicaid program. 

• Beneficiaries may not receive therapy and 
collateral services without the prior 
authorization of the Medicaid agency. 
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School-based 
mental health 
services 

Children in the EPSDT program 
may receive the following 
outpatient services from a school: 
• Crisis management visits 
• Individual therapy sessions 
• Marital/family therapy 
• Group therapy 

• Beneficiaries may only receive services that are 
needed to treat or ameliorate a condition 
identified in an EPSDT screen. 

• Beneficiaries must be under age 21. 
• Beneficiaries may not receive any services 

without the prior authorization of the Medicaid 
agency. 

Rehabilitative 
services for children 

If needed,  children in the EPSDT 
program may receive the following 
services in a residential setting to 
treat or ameliorate a behavioral 
health condition: 
• Therapeutic foster care 
• Residential treatment 

• Beneficiaries may only receive services that are 
needed to treat or ameliorate a condition 
identified in an EPSDT screen. 

• Beneficiaries must be under age 21 
• Beneficiaries may only receive services that are 

provided as part of an active individualized plan 
of care. 

• These services are only available to 
beneficiaries who cannot be treated in their own 
home. 

Rehabilitative 
services for youth 

If needed, children in the EPSDT 
program may receive the following 
outpatient services in a residential 
setting to treat or ameliorate a 
behavioral health condition: 
• Individual, group, and family 

therapy 
• Residential services 

including— 
− Emergency shelter 
− Therapeutic foster care 
− Therapeutic group home 
− Residential treatment 

• Beneficiaries may only receive services that are 
needed to treat or ameliorate a condition 
identified in an EPSDT screen. 

• Beneficiaries must be under age 21. 
• Beneficiaries may only receive services that are 

provided as part of an active individualized plan 
of care. 

• No beneficiary may receive therapy services 
without the prior authorization of the Medicaid 
agency. 

• Residential services are only available to 
beneficiaries who cannot be treated in their own 
home. 

 
 

Optional State Plan Services 
 
Inpatient Psychiatric Services (for persons under the age of 22) 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Inpatient psychiatric 
facility services for 
individuals under 22  

Inpatient or residential services to 
treat a psychiatric condition in a 
distinct unit for children and 
adolescents 

• Only beneficiaries under age 21 may begin 
treatment in an inpatient psychiatric facility. If 
the beneficiary was an inpatient when he/she 
reached 21, services may continue until 
services are no longer required or the individual 
turns 22, whichever comes first. 

• Beneficiaries may only receive services— 
− That are part of an individual plan of 

care developed by an interdisciplinary 
team  

− With prior authorization from the 
Medicaid agency review team  

− Under the direction of a physician 
 
 
 
 
Rehabilitative Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Rehabilitative 
Services for Persons 
with Mental Illness 
(RSPMI) 

Services needed to treat a mental illness, 
including the following— 
• Acute outpatient services, including— 

− Diagnosis 

• No beneficiary may receive the following 
services without the prior authorization of 
the Medicaid agency— 
− Individual and group outpatient 
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− Psychological test/evaluation 
− Psychological testing battery 

treatment plan  
− Interpretation of diagnosis  
− Individual outpatient therapy 

session 
− Marital/family therapy  
− Outpatient group therapy 
− Group outpatient medication 

maintenance 
• Acute day treatment 
• Assessment-reassessment and plan 

of care development 
• Crisis intervention and stabilization 

interventions 
• Onsite intervention 
• OffSite intervention 
• Rehabilitation day services 
• Physical examination 
• Medication maintenance by a 

physician 
• Periodic review of plan of care  
• Routine venipuncture for collection of 

specimen  
• Catheterization for collection of 

specimen 
• Medication administration by a 

licensed nurse  
• Collateral intervention 
• Inpatient visits in acute care  

hospitals by board certified 
psychiatrists 

Methadone maintenance and levo-alpha-
acetyl-methadol (LAAM) are not covered 

therapy sessions 
− Offsite and onsite interventions 
− Rehabilitation day services 
− Medication maintenance by a 

physician 
• No beneficiary under age 21 may receive 

the following services without the prior 
authorization of the Medicaid agency— 
− Marital/family therapy 
− Collateral intervention 

• No beneficiary age 21 or over may 
receive the following services without the 
prior authorization of the Medicaid 
agency— 
− Acute day treatment 
− Crisis stabilization intervention 

• Services may only be provided as part of 
an active, individualized plan of care. 

 

 
 
 
SCHIP Medicaid Expansion Program  
 
Arkansas Does Not Operate A SCHIP Medicaid Expansion Program. 
 
Separate SCHIP Program 
 
Arkansas Does Not Operate A Separate SCHIP Program. 
 


