Delaware
Data as of July 2003

Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services in
Medicaid and SCHIP in Delaware

As of July 2003, 125,397 people were covered under Delaware’s Medicaid and SCHIP programs. There
were 120,239 enrolled in the Medicaid program, and 5,158 enrolled in the separate SCHIP program. In
federal fiscal year 2001, Delaware spent $601 million to provide Medicaid services.

Delaware obtained an 1115 ‘Comprehensive Health Care Reform' waiver from the federal government to
establish a new program, Diamond State Health Plan. Approved in 1995 and implemented January 1,
1996, this waiver allows Delaware to expand Medicaid eligibility to include all uninsured Delawareans
who earn 100% FPL or less who are not otherwise eligible for Medicaid.

In Delaware, low-income children may be enrolled into the Medicaid program, or a Separate SCHIP
program, based on the child's age and their family's income.

e  The Medicaid program serves infants under 1 from families with incomes 185% FPL or less, children
from 1 to 6 years of age from families with incomes of 133% FPL or less and children age 18 or less
from families with incomes of 100% FPL or less.

e The separate SCHIP program serves children under 18 from families with incomes up to 200% FPL
who do not qualify for Medicaid. The premium amount varies based on family income.

Delaware operates a managed care program that that serves almost all Medicaid beneficiaries including
children, families, elders, and people with disabilities through comprehensive Managed Care Organizations
(MCOs) (one of which is a state-operated plan). The MCOs, however, provide only limited behavioral
health benefits. Any Medicaid covered mental health and substance abuse services, for children 0-18, that
are not covered by MCOs are provided by a behavioral health Prepaid Inpatient Health Plan (PIHP) that is
operated by the State’s children’s mental health agency and is reimbursed on fee-for-service. As of July
2003, there were 120,239 Medicaid beneficiaries in the Medicaid program, 95,041 of these received
services through comprehensive MCOs.

Medicaid

Who is Eligible for Medicaid?

Families and Children

Low-income families with children under age 19 with incomes below 100% FPL.

Children under age 1 and pregnant women with incomes at or below 200% FPL.

Children ages 1 through 5 from families with incomes at or below 133% FPL.

Recipients of adoption assistance and foster care under Title IV-E of the Social Security Act
Individuals who are under 21 and for whom public agencies are assuming full or partial financial
responsibility and who are either residing in a foster home, private institution, nursing home or
ICF/MR, or who are receiving active treatment as inpatients in a psychiatric facility or program.

agrwbdE

Aged, Blind, and Disabled

1. Individuals receiving SSI or Delaware’s supplementary SSI payment.

2. Persons who are resident of medical institutions for a period of 30 consecutive days and meet specific
income, resource, and medical criteria.
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3. Certain disabled children under 18 who are living at home who would be eligible for Medicaid if were
in a medical institution.

Medically Needy
Delaware does not have a Medically Needy program.

Waiver Populations
Delaware has an 1115 waiver that enables them to cover all people with incomes under 100% FPL who do
not otherwise qualify for Medicaid.

What Mental Health/Substance Abuse Services are Covered by Medicaid?

Medicaid must cover some types of services (mandatory services) and may cover some other types of
services (optional services). The information presented here identifies the types of service Delaware
Medicaid covers and the coverage requirements for those services. These services are presented grouped as
they are in the Medicaid State plan that Delaware must maintain under Medicaid law. Only those types of
services that include mental health or substance abuse services are discussed.

Mandatory State Plan Services

Inpatient Hospital Services

Service Description Coverage Requirements
Inpatient An inpatient psychiatric service is e Beneficiaries enrolled in comprehensive MCOs
Psychiatric/Substance | psychiatric treatment provided are limited to 30 days of inpatient psychiatric or
abuse Care under the direction of a psychiatrist substance abuse treatment per year.
in a psychiatric or other inpatient —  There are no inpatient services for children
setting. Also includes medically 0-21. Services are provided by the
necessary inpatient detoxification. appropriate State Agency..

—  **Adults who are not enrolled in managed
care are not eligible for the service; those
who are enrolled are limited to the 30 days
offered by their MCO. Unless determined
SPI by the State Agency (Division of
Substance Abuse and Mental Health(
DSAMH.

Outpatient Hospital Including Rural Health Center and Federally Qualified Health Center Services

Service Description Coverage Requirements

Outpatient Hospital Substance abuse and mental e  Adults are limited to 20 units of mental health or
health services that would be substance abuse service per year. Unless
covered if provided in another determined SPI by DSAMH."
setting may be provided in an e Children receive the first 30 units of service
outpatient hospital setting. from their MCO. Any services required beyond

that are provided by the state children's mental
health agency

e Services provided in an outpatient hospital
setting must meet the same criteria as
those provided in any other setting

! Adults are eligible for a 2:1 tradeoff , inpatient to outpatient benefits if approves. (30 inpatient benefits
may be traded to 60 outpatient benefits)
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Outpatient Hospital Including Rural Health Center and Federally Qualified Health Center Services

Service

Description

Coverage Requirements

Federally Qualified
Health Centers
(FQHCs)

Substance abuse and mental
health services that are typically
furnished by a physician in an
office or in a physician home visit.

e  Adults are limited to 20 units of mental health or
substance abuse service per year. Unless
determined SPI.

e  Children receive the first 30 units of service from
their MCO. Any services required beyond that
are provided by the state children's mental
health agency.

e Services provided by an FQHC must meet the
same criteria as those provided in any other
setting

Physician Services

Service

Description

Coverage Requirements

Physician Services

Physicians may provide mental
health and substance abuse
services as described under the
State’s waiver.

e  The service must be within the physician's
scope of practice. Adults are limited to 20 units
of service. Children are limited to 30 units of
service.

e All services provided by a physician must meet
the same requirements as those provided in
another setting.

Early Periodic Screeni

ng, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Services for Children Under 21

Service

Description

Coverage Requirements

Early Periodic
Screening, Diagnosis,
and Treatment
(EPSDT)

Mental health and substance abuse
services provided under EPSDT
include: mental health outpatient
services; mental health case
management; professional medical
services (i.e., neurologists, clinical
psychologists, psychiatric social
workers and other licensed medical
providers); psychiatric facility
services; and drug/alcohol
rehabilitation services

e Service must be needed to ameliorate or treat a
condition identified in an EPSDT screen

e Only beneficiaries under 21 years of age qualify
for EPSDT services.

e After the expiration of the 30 units of service
provided by the MCO, mental health and
substance abuse services provided under
EPSDT must be approved and monitored
through the Department of Services for
Children, Youth and their Families

Health Services
provided in a school
setting

Schools may provide screens,
assessment and treatment
including psychological treatment.

e Service must be needed to ameliorate or treat a
condition identified in an EPSDT screen

e Only beneficiaries under 21 years of age qualify
for EPSDT services.

e After the expiration of the 30 units of service
provided by the MCO, mental health and
substance abuse services provided under
EPSDT must be approved and monitored
through the Department of Services for
Children, Youth and their Families
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Optional State Plan Services

Clinic Services

Service Description

Coverage Requirements

Mental Health Clinics Substance abuse and mental
health services that would be
covered if provided in another
setting may be provided in a mental
health clinic.

e Adults are limited to 20 units of mental health or
substance abuse service per year. Unless
determined SPI by DSAMH.?

e Children receive the first 30 units of service
from their MCO. Any services required beyond
that are provided by the state children's mental
health agency

e Services provided by a clinic must meet the
same criteria as those provided in any other
setting

Rehabilitative Services: These services are provided only by DSAMH

Service Description Coverage Requirements
Community support e Community support services e The beneficiary’s physician must certify medical
services (CSP) are medically related necessity for community support services based

treatment, rehabilitative and

support services provided

through self-contained

programs.

e  Specific services may include

— comprehensive medical/
psychosocial evaluation,

—  physician services
(assessment, treatment,
prescription of
pharmacotherapy),

— Medical and psychiatric
nursing services

—  emergency services,

— counseling and

on a competed comprehensive medical/psycho-
social evaluation.

e Beneficiaries must receive an
assessment/evaluation, treatment plan, and
physician’s certification of medical necessity
within 60 days of enrollment and on the
anniversary date of entry.

e Psychotherapy may only be provided by
physicians and clinicians who are credentialed
in specific modalities or learning and practicing
under the supervision of one who is
credentialed.

e Beneficiaries must receive a minimum of one
face-to-face contact per week from their
provider.

psychotherapy, e Clients who are treated with psychotropic
—  Methadone maintenance medication must be evaluated monthly face-to-
and LAAM face by a physician.

e Beneficiaries cannot receive vocational
counseling, academic/remedial education
services and solely recreation services.

e Services provided in an institution for mental
diseases are not covered.

Day Health And e Psychosocial day health and e Beneficiaries may only receive services that are
Rehabilitation rehabilitation services are — authorized by a physician's determination
Services provided to assist the of medical necessity,

beneficiary to gain or relearn

skills needed to live

independently and sustain

medical/psychiatric stability.

e Specific services may include

— Rehabilitative therapy
(primarily home and
community-based)

— supported by an individual treatment plan;
and

— supervised by a physician

e Beneficiaries may only receive residential

rehabilitation services provided in a licensed

mental health group home or a licensed

alcoholism and drug abuse residential treatment

program.

2 Adults are eligible for a 2:1 tradeoff , inpatient to outpatient benefits if approves. (30 inpatient benefits

may be traded to 60 outpatient benefits)
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Rehabilitative Services: These services are provided only by DSAMH

Service Description Coverage Requirements
—  Psychosocial e All residential services must be approved by the
Rehabilitation Center Medicaid agency or its designated agent.

(facility-based) Services

— Residential Rehabilitation
Services (Facility-based,
24-hour rehabilitative
therapy)

SCHIP Medicaid Expansion Program

Delaware has no Medicaid Expansion SCHIP
Program

Separate SCHIP Program

Who is Eligible for the Separate SCHIP Program?

The separate SCHIP program, which is called the Delaware Healthy Children Program, serves children
under 18 from families with incomes up to 200% FPL. In other words, two groups of children are covered
in this program.

1. Children ages 1 through 5 from families with incomes of 133-200% FPL.
2. Children from age 6-19 from families with incomes of 100 - 150% FPL

Families with incomes if 101% FPL or more must pay a monthly premium of between $10 and $25 per
family. The premium amount varies based on family income, but not family size.

What Mental Health/Substance Abuse Services are Covered by the
Separate SCHIP Program?

Benefits in Separate SCHIP programs must be actuarially equivalent to a benchmark selected by the State,
among federally established options. In Delaware, the benefit package must be at least actuarially
equivalent to the children's health insurance coverage provided by the standard Blue Cross/Blue Shield
preferred provider option service benefit plan offered under the Federal Employees Health Benefits
Program. Coverage specifics for Mental health and substance abuse services that would meet that
benchmark are identified here.

Mental health and substance abuse coverage in the separate SCHIP program is identical to that of the
Medicaid program (described in the previous section).
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