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Delaware 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts 

State Population: 897,934 
Population Ages 12–20: 107,000 

     
  
 Percentage Number 

Ages 12–20            
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 30.4   32,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 21.4  23,000 

Ages 12–14            
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.7   2,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 2.2   1,000 

 Ages 15–17            
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 24.2   9,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 13.2   5,000 

 Ages 18–20            
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 56.8   21,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 45.4  17,000 
 
  
    Number 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)     12 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)    745 
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  Percentage of  Number 
  All Traffic 
   Fatalities 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers  
with BAC > 0.01 28.0   7 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence AND EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Note: Delaware’s exception includes “members of the same family” and allows possession if in 
“private home of any of said members” (Del. Code Ann. tit. 4, § 904). For purposes of this 
report, the phrase “members of the same family” is interpreted as including a spouse. 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Private residence AND EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Note: Delaware’s exception includes “members of the same family” and allows consumption if 
in “private home of any of said members” (Del. Code Ann. tit. 4, § 904). For purposes of this 
report, the phrase “members of the same family” is interpreted as including a spouse. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Note: Delaware makes it an offense for “[w]hoever, being under the age of 21 years, has 
alcoholic liquor in his or her possession at any time, or consumes or is found to have consumed 
alcoholic liquor” (Del. Code Ann. tit. 4, § 904). Laws that prohibit minors from having alcohol 
in their bodies, but do so without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are not considered as 
prohibiting Internal Possession, for purposes of this report. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is NOT prohibited and there is no specific allowance for youth purchase for law 
enforcement purposes. 

Note: Delaware does not have a statute that specifically prohibits purchase, but it does prohibit 
“obtaining” alcohol in connection with making a false statement (see Del. Code Ann. tit. 4, § 
904(b)). 
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False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• No driver’s license suspension procedure. 

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 
Note: Although Del. Admin. Code § 2 2000 2215 states that “persons under 21 years of age have 
noted on their licenses ‘Under 21,’” research revealed that no Delaware statute or regulation 
expressly requires distinguishing licenses for persons under 21 years old.  

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit: 0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage possession 
• Underage consumption 

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• 30 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age: 16   
• Minimum S: 6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours—10 of which must be at night 

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age: 16 years, 6 months 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after: 10 p.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule 

• Passenger restrictions exist: One passenger, except for immediate family members 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17 
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Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s):  
• Private residence AND EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 

Note: Delaware’s exception includes “members of the same family” and allows furnishing if in 
the “private home of any of said members” (see Del. Code Ann. tit. 4, § 904). For purposes of 
this report, the phrase “members of the same family” is interpreted as including a spouse. 

Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of Decoy 
• Minimum: 16 
• Maximum: 20 

Appearance Requirements 
• Males: No facial hair   
• Females: No excessive makeup  

ID Possession 
• Required 

Verbal Exaggeration of Age 
• Prohibited 

Decoy Training 
• Recommended 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
• Time period/conditions: 5 years 
• First offense: $500 fine 
• Second offense: $2,500 fine 
• Third offense: 30-day license suspension 
• Fourth offense: 60-day license suspension 

Note: Mitigating and/or aggravating circumstances may be considered. 

Responsible Beverage Service 

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Licensees, Managers, Servers 
• Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments 
• Applies to both new and existing outlets 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer: 21 
• Wine: 21 
• Spirits: 21 
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Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Wine: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 
• Spirits: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders 

Dram Shop Liability 
There is no statutory liability.  

Social Host Liability Laws 
There is no statutory liability. 

Host Party Laws 
No State-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted. 

Keg Registration 
Registration is not required. 

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer: Prohibited 
• Wine: Prohibited 
• Spirits: Prohibited 

Alcohol Tax 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.16 per gallon. 
• Wine (12 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.97 per gallon. 
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $3.75 per gallon ($2.50 per gallon for 

alcohol content of 25 percent or less). 
  



State Reports – Delaware 

310 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages: Prohibited  
• Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited  
• Reduced price at specified day or time: Not prohibited 
• Unlimited beverages: Prohibited  
• Increased volume: Not prohibited 

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements: Post and hold—5 days minimum 
• Retailer credit: Restricted—commissioner shall not control credit transactions to extent they 

are permitted by Federal law. 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements: Post and hold—5 days minimum 
• Retailer credit: Restricted—commissioner shall not control credit transactions to extent they 

are permitted by Federal law. 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements: Post and hold—5 days minimum 
• Retailer credit: Restricted—commissioner shall not control credit transactions to extent they 

are permitted by Federal law. 
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 Delaware Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Department of Safety and Homeland Security Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement (DATE) 
Methods by which local and State enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

DATE has three programs: Cops in Shops, Cooperating Underage Witness Program, and Fake ID 
Sweeps. DATE and Delaware’s police departments collaboratively implement all three programs. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No 
Primary State agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies  Not applicable 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by State law enforcement agencies 45 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 04/30/2010 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by State agencies 44  
Number of licensees that failed State compliance checks 5  
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 04/30/2010 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No  
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Data not collected 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Data not collected 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the State3 30 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $20,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the State4 3 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 90 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed5 1 
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Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 
Additional Clarification   

No data 

1 Or having consumed or purchased per State statutes 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying 
with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies 

 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
All Stars  

Number of youth served 1,248 
Number of parents served 119 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:                                                Not available      
URL for more program information No data 

Program description: All Stars is an innovative, science-based prevention program that promotes 
prosocial behavior and attitudes. When done as intended, the effects on students can be profound. All 
Stars is designed for use by professionals who work with children ages 9 to 11 in community settings. All 
Stars can be delivered after school and in community settings such as churches and recreation centers. 
Too Good for Drugs  

Number of youth served 147 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report: Not applicable 
URL for more program information: No data 

Program description: Too Good for Drugs is a school-based prevention program proven to reduce the 
intention to use alcohol, tobacco, and illegal drugs in middle and high school students. The program is for 
kindergarten through 12th grades (5- through 18-year-olds) and has a separate, developmentally 
appropriate curriculum for each grade level. The program is designed to address:  

• Personal and interpersonal skills relating to alcohol, drugs, tobacco, and illegal drugs. 
• Appropriate attitudes toward alcohol, tobacco, and illegal drug use. 
• Knowledge of the negative consequences of alcohol, tobacco, and illegal drug use. 
• Benefits of a drug-free lifestyle. 
• Positive peer norms.  

The number of youth served were 147 at-risk youth in the City of Wilmington. 
Project Towards No Drug Abuse  

Number of youth served 128 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
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URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

Program description: Project Towards No Drug Abuse is a highly interactive school-based program 
designed to help high school youth, ages 14-19, resist substance use. The program teaches participants 
increased coping and self-control skills that allow them to:  

• Grasp the cognitive misperceptions that may lead to substance use.  
• Express a desire not to abuse substances. 
• Understand the sequence of substance abuse and the consequences of using substances. 
• Correct myths concerning substance use. 
• Demonstrate effective communication, coping, and self control skills. 
• State a commitment to discuss substance abuse with others.  

The Media Matters program, which is part of this project, is a hands-on media workshop in which youth 
translate content and attitudes about consequences of violence and substance abuse with the freedom of 
form and expression necessary for youth to take ownership of their creative projects and to take pride in 
discovering the power of their authentic voices. Examples include public service announcements, video 
diaries, and interviews.  

 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
Parents Step Up Campaign 

URL for more program information: http://parentsstepup.org 

Program description: Using various communication media, the Step Up campaign: 
• Helps adults recognize and change behaviors that facilitate underage drinking. 
• Provides ideas for effective house rules to help adults protect kids from underage drinking. 
• Encourages parents to block teens from access to alcohol. 
• Highlights the consequences of underage drinking to discourage alcohol use. 
 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

No 

Program description Not applicable 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

No 

Program description Not applicable 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

No 

Best practice standards description:  Not applicable 
Additional Clarification  
The Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health (DSAMH) services (Single State Agency) has 
recently developed our Prevention Web site as of this year and we continue to enhance our 
site. http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dsamh/prevention.html 
DSAMH’s subrecipient, Division of Prevention and Behavioral Health Services, provides services to 
youths age 17 and younger. Their Web site is at: http://kids.delaware.gov/fs/fs_prevent.shtml 
 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A State-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
 

http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dsamh/prevention.html
http://kids.delaware.gov/fs/fs_prevent.shtml
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Name: Dr. Marc Richman 
Email: Marc.Richman@state.de.us 
Address: DHSS-Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services, 1901 N. DuPont Hwy, 
Main Admin Bldg, New Castle, DE 19720 
Phone: 302-255-9416 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS) Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Services 
Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement 
Office of Highway Safety 
Delaware Department of Education 
Division of Prevention and Behavioral Health Services 
University of Delaware Center for Drug and Alcohol Studies 

A Web site or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access: http://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dsamh/prevention.html 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 

Prepared by Not applicable 
Plan can be accessed via  Not applicable 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by Not applicable 
Report can be accessed via  Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  

The DHSS Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services convenes a State-level interagency 
governmental body/committee that coordinates and addresses across-the-lifespan prevention activities 
targeting State priorities: alcohol, marijuana, prescription opiates, and heroin. Delaware continues to 
enhance its efforts by making this committee an inclusive body.  

On January 25, 2011, Delaware’s Substance Abuse Prevention Strategic Plan was approved; it 
addresses the misuse and abuse of alcohol across the lifespan. On October 28, 2010, the Strategic 
Prevention Framework (SPF) State Incentive Grant (SIG) Cohort IV strategic plan was approved; one of 
its two priorities is to reduce past-month alcohol misuse and abuse by Delaware residents ages 12 to 25. 
Indicators of change may include, but are not limited to: a decrease in underage and binge drinking 
(consumption) and a decrease in alcohol-related traffic crashes, death, and/or injuries (consequences).  

The Office of Highway Safety (OHS) implemented the Underage Drinking Task Force in the past through 
the support/requirement of the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) Grant. In 
the near future, it is projected that through reappointment of responsibilities, Delaware’s Division of 
Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement will become responsible for continuing the efforts of the Underage 
Drinking Task Force. DATE will begin receiving Federal Fiscal Year 2011 funds through OJJDP so that 
OHS can focus on drinking and driving. Delaware does not have a stand-alone underage drinking report. 
However, data on underage drinking are included in the State and substance epidemiological profiles, 
which are released annually. These reports are prepared by the University of Delaware Center for Drug 
and Alcohol Studies and can be found at http://www.udel.edu/delawaredata. 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:  

Estimate of State funds expended $20,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 04/30/2010 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of State funds expended $300,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2010 
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Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of State funds expended $500,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of State funds expended $1,138,678 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of State funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of State funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of State funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable 

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included: The “Under 21. Think. Don’t Drink.” campaign is a two-pronged 
approach to increase awareness of the issue of underage drinking in Delaware. The awareness 
campaign rolled out in two phases. The first was launched in April when Delaware Governor Jack 
Markell recorded a radio spot for OHS aimed at parents. The goal was to make parents more aware 
of the dangers and legal consequences of underage drinking. An ad coming from the State’s First 
Parent was predicted to be effective. The second portion of the campaign was the development and 
implementation of a video public service announcement (PSA) contest. OHS contacted every school 
and college in the State to ask for video submissions on why it was important that individuals under 
age 21 think and not drink. Submissions (30 for the first year) were loaded onto the Web site and the 
public voted for their favorites. Votes figured into the official voting by OHS staff members and 
members of a public relations firm. A red-carpet-style awards banquet was held and awards for first 
through third place were distributed. Winning submissions will be used as TV and movie theatre PSAs 
in 2011. Additionally, transit advertising at the college level was implemented. The contest Web site 
can be found at http://www.ohs.delaware.gov/UnderageDrinking. 
Estimate of State funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

 
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:  

 

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: No data 
Additional Clarification  

No data 

 
 

 




