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Massachusetts 
State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts 

State Population: 6,547,629 
Population Ages 12–20: 765,000 

     
  
 Percentage Number 

Ages 12–20            
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 33.0  253,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 22.5  172,000 

Ages 12–14            
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 5.0   13,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.3   3,000 

 Ages 15–17            
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 28.5   71,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 17.7  44,000 

 Ages 18–20            
 Past-Month Alcohol Use 63.8  169,000 
 Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 47.1  125,000 
 
  
    Number 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)     56 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)    3,340 



State Reports – Massachusetts 

466 Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 

  Percentage of  Number 
  All Traffic 
   Fatalities 
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers  
with BAC > 0.01 21.0   10 

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 

Underage Possession of Alcohol 
Possession is prohibited with the following exception(s): 
• Parent/guardian 

Underage Consumption of Alcohol 
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited. 

Internal Possession by Minors 
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited. 

Underage Purchase of Alcohol 
Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes. 

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 

Provision(s) Targeting Minors 
• Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense. 
• Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure. 

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers 
• It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID. 
• It is a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID. 

Provisions Targeting Retailers 
• Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 

and older. 
• Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable 

conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid. 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
• BAC limit: 0.02 
• BAC level at or above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation 
• Applies to drivers under age 21 

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”) 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21. 
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Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage possession 

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• 90 days 

Provisions Applied to Underage Purchase Violations 
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21 

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial 
• Underage purchase 

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction 
• Mandatory 

Length of Suspension/Revocation  
• 180 days 

Graduated Driver’s License 

Learner Stage 
• Minimum entry age: 16   
• Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months  
• Minimum supervised driving requirement: 40 hours—or 30 hours of supervised driving if 

applicant completes driver skills program 

Intermediate Stage 
• Minimum age: 16 years, 6 months 
• Unsupervised night driving 

– Prohibited after: 12:30 a.m. 
– Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule: Exception: secondary enforcement 

between 12:30 and 1 a.m. and between 4 and 5 a.m. 
• Passenger restrictions exist: No unrelated passengers under 18, unless supervised by 

licensed driver over 21 
– Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule 

License Stage 
• Minimum age to lift restrictions: 18—passenger restrictions expire 6 months after issuance 

of intermediate license; unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until full licensure is 
obtained. 

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Furnishing is prohibited with the following exception(s): EITHER 
• Parent/guardian OR  
• Spouse 
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Compliance Check Protocols 

Age of Decoy 
• Minimum: Not specified 
• Maximum: Not specified 

Appearance Requirements 
• Age-appropriate appearance 

ID Possession 
• Prohibited 

Verbal Exaggeration of Age 
• Prohibited 

Decoy Training 
• Recommended 

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Time period/conditions: No guidelines provided 

Responsible Beverage Service 
No beverage service training requirement 

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers 
• Beer: 18 
• Wine: 18 
• Spirits: 18 

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers 
• Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders 
• Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders 

Dram Shop Liability 
• There is no statutory liability.  
• The courts recognize common law dram shop liability.  

Social Host Liability Laws 
• There is no statutory liability. 
• The courts recognize common law social host liability.  

Host Party Laws 
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties 
• Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Possession 
• Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other 
• Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party: Knowledge—host must have 

actual knowledge of the occurrence. 
• Exception(s): Family 



 State Reports – Massachusetts 

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 469 

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers 
Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following 
restrictions:  

Age Verification Requirements  
• Common carrier must verify age of recipient.  

State Approval/Permit Requirements  
• Producer/shipper must obtain State permit.  
• State must approve common carrier.  

Reporting Requirements  
• Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.  

Shipping Label Statement Requirements 
• Contains alcohol  
• Recipient must be 21  

Note: Current law provides that a winery that produces 30,000 gallons of wine or more may 
obtain a direct shipment only if the winery has not contracted with or has not been represented 
by a Massachusetts wholesaler licensed for the preceding 6 months. There is no such 
requirement on wineries producing less than 30,000 gallons, which includes all wineries in the 
State of Massachusetts. This provision was ruled unconstitutional in a Federal district court on 
November 19, 2008, and upheld on appeal in the First Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals on January 
14, 2010. 

Keg Registration 
• Keg definition: More than 2 gallons 
• Purchaser information collected: Purchaser’s name and address 
• Warning information to purchaser: Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature) 
• Deposit required: $5 
• Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs. 

Note: The deposit provisions in Massachusetts require that a purchaser pay the following: (a) a 
container fee of not less than $10 for each keg having a capacity of 6 or more gallons and of not 
less than $1 for each container having a capacity of less than 6 gallons; and (b) a registration fee 
of $10 for each keg having a capacity of 6 or more gallons and of $4 for each keg having a 
capacity of less than 6 gallons.  

Alcohol Pricing Policies 

Home Delivery 
• Beer: Permitted—each vehicle used for transportation and delivery must be covered by a 

permit issued by the commission. 
• Wine: Permitted—each vehicle used for transportation and delivery must be covered by a 

permit issued by the commission. 
• Spirits: Permitted—each vehicle used for transportation and delivery must be covered by a 

permit issued by the commission. 
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Alcohol Tax 
• Beer (5 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.11 per gallon. 
• Wine (12 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.55 per gallon. 
• Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $4.05 per gallon. 

Drink Specials 
• Free beverages: Prohibited  
• Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited 
• Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Not prohibited 
• Reduced price at specified day or time: Prohibited  
• Unlimited beverages: Prohibited  
• Increased volume: Prohibited  

Wholesale Pricing 
Pricing restrictions exist. 

Beer (5 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements: Post and hold—1 month minimum 
• Retailer credit: Restricted—60 days maximum 

Wine (12 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements: Post and hold—1 month minimum 
• Retailer credit: Restricted—60 days maximum 

Spirits (40 percent alcohol) 
• Price posting requirements: Post and hold—1 month minimum 
• Retailer credit: Restricted—60 days maximum 
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 Massachusetts State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Massachusetts Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission (ABCC) 
Methods by which local and State enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws 
prohibiting underage drinking: 

The ABCC Investigation and Enforcement Division works in close cooperation with local and State 
law enforcement departments on a weekly basis to obtain optimal enforcement coverage. Most often, 
these efforts are generated from requests for assistance from local police chiefs who have 
problematic licensees in their communities or local conflicts of interest that are eliminated through 
ABCC cooperation. Furthermore, when a complaint is received by ABCC, investigators also reach out 
to local police departments to conduct cooperative enforcement operations when feasible. The 
Investigation and Enforcement Division works in a concerted effort with the Massachusetts Police. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary State agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing 
direct sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Massachusetts Alcoholic 
Beverages Control Commission 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies  No 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by State law enforcement agencies 1,004 
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine if 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by State agencies 1,793 
Number of licensees that failed State compliance checks 102 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 1,378 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 118 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the State3 No data 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $40,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the State4 117 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 275 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed5 1 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 

Additional Clarification   

No data  
1 Or having consumed or purchased per State statutes 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws 
prohibiting sales to minors 

3 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies 
4 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies 
5 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies 

 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking  
Bureau of Substance Abuse Services (BSAS), Underage Drinking Prevention Programs, and 
Regional Centers for Healthy Communities 

 

Number of youth served 1,336,280 
Number of parents served 720,040 
Number of caregivers served 308,589 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

Program description:  
• 31 underage drinking prevention programs in collaboration with 6 regional centers in communities 

across the Commonwealth  
• Coalition/community focused 
• Require city/town participation 
• Use SAMHSA’s Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF) 
• Required to use evidence-based environmental strategies that relate directly to assessment-

identified problems 

Town Meeting Initiative  
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served 3,341 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 
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Program description: BSAS supported 54 Town Hall Meetings as part of the SAMHSA-sponsored national 
Town Hall Meeting effort using the recommendations in the Surgeon General’s Call to Action to prevent 
underage alcohol use. These local Town Hall Meetings provided 54 local communities in Massachusetts 
the opportunity to come together to learn more about new research on underage drinking and its 
consequences, and to encourage individuals, families, and communities to address the problem. 
Berklee School of Music Demonstration Project  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

Program description: The Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) funds this 
demonstration project, which is designed to address underage drinking within the student population of 
Berklee School of Music. It is particularly geared to first-year students. 

District Attorneys Underage Drinking Prevention  
Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

Program description: OJJDP funding enabled four District Attorneys Offices (Counties of Berkshire, 
Norfolk, Plymouth, and Worcester) to convene Underage Drinking Prevention Conferences. 
Student Athlete Underage Drinking Prevention Conferences  

Number of youth served 500 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available Not applicable 
URL for evaluation report  Not applicable 
URL for more program information No data 

Program description: Funded by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), two 
conferences for student athletes were attended by 500 students. 
Dance Don’t Chance Contest  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report No data 
URL for more program information http://www.youtube.com/promshorts 
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Program description: Funded by NHTSA, this is a spring prom and graduation season safe-driving video 
contest in which teens write, produce, and submit a 60-second YouTube video on safe driving and 
avoiding underage drinking. The winning school is awarded a package of prizes for their prom donated by 
private sponsors. 

 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:  
Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking  
Bureau of Substance Abuse Services Underage Drinking Prevention Public Information Initiative 

URL for more program information http://www.maclearinghouse.com 

Program description: The BSAS Underage Drinking Prevention Public Information Initiative offered 
science-informed information to parents and youth. The major approaches used were print media and 
outreach through the Black Ministerial Alliance. Ministers highlighted the availability of step-by-step 
guides in their services and afterschool programs. The guides were also distributed through health, social 
services, and educational settings. Radio and cable television advertisements reinforced the power of 
parents in preventing underage alcohol use, but the number affected is difficult to estimate. 
Picture Yourself Alcohol and Drug Free 

URL for more program information No data 

Program description: The Picture Yourself Alcohol and Drug Free Program is a creative alcohol and drug 
prevention pilot program. The campaign features messages from teens for teens. It encourages students 
to pursue their interests so that alcohol and drugs do not get in their way. Posters and news articles (in 
the school newsletters and community) as well as school-based incentive items reinforce this message. 
Anti-Drug and Violence Prevention; a Safe and Drug-Free Schools Program 

URL for more program information No data 
CASASTART in three public schools in Boston and Winthrop 

URL for more program information http://www.wediko.org/news-events/2008/06/04/casastart-
national-model-helping-most-risk-children-and-families 

CASASTART at six Department of Youth Services sites 
URL for more program information http://www.talkaboutaddiction.org/programs/treatment.htm 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention 
of underage drinking 

Yes 

Program description: Meeting with Regional Centers for Healthy Communities to plan strategies at 
present. Department of Public Health-wide presentation on disparities in Native American health 
status was held in November. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol 
advertising and marketing 

Yes 

Program description: Community level: restrictions on advertising; counteralcohol advertising on 
billboards and public transportation. State level: counteralcohol advertising via radio. 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking 
prevention programs 

Yes 

Best practice standards description: BSAS implements best practices through:  
1. A competitive request-for-response (RFR) process.  
2. Strategy meetings.  
3. Regular site visits.  

The RFR requires the selection of a science-based model. Regular meetings provide technical 
assistance to ensure fidelity as well as cultural competence. The community’s logic model, action plan, 
accomplishments, and challenges are reviewed at the yearly site visits. 
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Additional Clarification  
No data 
 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A State-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or 
address underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: William D. Luzier, Executive Director, Interagency Council on Substance Abuse & Prevention 
Email: william.luzier@state.ma.us 
Address: 250 Washington St., Floor 3, Boston, MA 02108 
Phone: 617-624-5121 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Lieutenant Governor, Chair 
Executive Office of Health and Human Services 
Executive Office of Public Safety 
Executive Office of Elder Affairs 
Executive Office of Veterans Affairs 
Department of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Department of Corrections 
Parole Board 
Department of Probation 
Department of Public Health 
Department of Youth Services 
Department of Mental Health 
Department of Developmental Services 
Massachusetts Rehabilitation Commission 
Department of Transitional Assistance 
Department of Children and Families 
Department of Health Care Finance and Policy 
Department of the Deaf and Hard of Hearing 
Department of Early Education and Care 
Bureau of Substance Abuse Services 
MassHealth (Medicaid) 
Superior Court 
District Court  
Juvenile Court 
Governor’s Office 
Senate House 
Private citizen recovering from substance abuse problems  

A Web site or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access  http://www.mass.gov/?pageID=gov3subtopic&L=5&L0=Home&L1=O

ur+Team&L2=Lieutenant+Governor+Timothy+P.+Murray&L3=Counc
ils%2c+Cabinets%2c+and+Commissions&L4=Interagency+Council+

on+Substance+Abuse+and+Prevention&sid=Agov3 
 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by Interagency Council on Substance Abuse and Prevention 
Plan can be accessed via http://www.mass.gov/Agov3/docs/Strategic%2

0Plan%20Update%20-%20July%202010.pdf 
State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: Department of Elementary & Secondary Education and the Department of Public Health 
Report can be accessed via http://www.doe.mass.edu/cnp/hprograms/yrbs/ 
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Additional Clarification  
No data 
 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:  

Estimate of State funds expended $27,500 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of State funds expended $100,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2010 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of State funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable  

K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of State funds expended $450,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of State funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable  

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of State funds expended  $319,000 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of State funds expended Data unavailable 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data unavailable  

 Other programs: 
Programs or strategies included No data 
Estimate of State funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

 
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue 
streams:  

 

Taxes Yes 
Fines  No data 
Fees No data 
Other No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: A 6.25% sales tax on alcohol was implemented 
effective July 1, 2009 but was repealed by voters in November 2010 (effective January 1, 2011). This 
revenue stream was dedicated to substance abuse and prevention programs. 
Additional Clarification  

No data 

 
 

 




