State Reports — Michigan

Michigan

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts

State Population: 9,883,640
Population Ages 12-20: 1,300,000

Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Ages 18-20

Past-Month Alcohol Use
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21)
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21)
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Percentage

26.6
17.2

5.8
2.5

21.9
13.4

49.5
34.0

Number

346,000
224,000

24,000
10,000

97,000
59,000

225,000
154,000

Number
145
8,703
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Percentage of Number
All Traffic
Fatalities
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC > 0.01 15.0 23

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers
e ]t is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.

Provisions Targeting Retailers
e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.
e Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.00
e Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)

e No use/lose law
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Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage
e Minimum entry age: 14 years, 9 months
e Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months
e Minimum supervised driving requirement: 50 hours,10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 10 p.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No more than one passenger under 21
— Primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors

e Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.
e There is an affirmative defense if the minor is not charged.

Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No data

Responsible Beverage Service

Mandatory Provisions

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Managers, Servers
e Applies only to on-sale establishments
e Applies only to new outlets

Voluntary Provisions

Voluntary Beverage Service Training
e Applies only to on-sale establishments
e Applies only to existing outlets

Incentives for Training
e Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits
e Discounts in dram shop liability insurance
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Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18
e Wine: 18
e Spirits: 18

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Dram Shop Liability
Statutory liability exists.

Note: Michigan law includes a responsible beverage service defense.

Social Host Liability Laws

e There is no statutory liability.
e The courts recognize common law social host liability.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties
e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Possession, consumption
e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other
e Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party: Knowledge—host must have
actual knowledge of the occurrence.
Preventive action by the host negates the violation.
Exception(s): Family, resident

Note: Michigan’s social host statute does not apply if all individuals attending the social
gathering are members of the same household or immediate family, or if a minor’s use,
consumption, or possession of an alcoholic beverage is for religious purposes. The “preventive
action” provision in Michigan allows the prosecution to establish guilt by proving that the host
failed to take preventive action.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are permitted for wine with the following
restrictions:

Age Verification Requirements
e Producer must verify age of purchaser.
e Common carrier must verify age of recipient.

State Approval/Permit Requirements
e Producer/shipper must obtain State permit.

Reporting Requirements
e Producer must record/report purchaser’s name.
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Shipping Label Statement Requirements
e Contains alcohol
e Recipient must be 21

Keg Registration

Keg definition: 5 gallons or more

Prohibited: Destroying the label on a keg—maximum fine/jail: $500/93 days
Purchaser information collected:

— Purchaser’s name and address

— Verified by a government-issued ID

Warning information to purchaser: Active—purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
Deposit required: $30

Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: Permitted
e Wine: Permitted
e Spirits: Prohibited

Alcohol Tax

e Beer (5 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.20 per gallon.
e  Wine (12 percent alcohol): Specific excise tax is $0.51 per gallon.
e Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Control State

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited
Reduced price at specified day or time: Not prohibited
Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Not prohibited

Wholesale Pricing

Pricing restrictions exist.

Beer (5 percent alcohol)

e Volume discounts: Banned

e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—180-day minimum. Prices may be decreased
during the 180-day period to meet a competing wholesalers price. The price reduction must
not exceed the competition’s price and must continue for the balance of the 180 days filed
by the competition.

e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days maximum for on-sale retailers. No credit extended to
off-sale retailers.
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Wine (12 percent alcohol)

e Volume discounts: Banned

e Price posting requirements: Post and hold—3-month minimum. By written order the
commission may approve a price change for a period of no fewer than 14 days.

e Retailer credit: Restricted—30 days for on-sale retailers. No credit extended to off-sale
retailers.

Spirits (40 percent alcohol)
e Control State
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Michigan State Survey Responses

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:
Michigan Liquor Control Commission (MLCC)
Methods by which local and State enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws
prohibiting underage drinking:
MLCC periodically works with local, county, and State police on enforcement assignments. MLCC
also conducts training for police on liquor laws on an ongoing basis. Police are encouraged to apprise
MLCC of the results of their own enforcement activities so that MLCC can make that information a

part of each licensee’s operating history on their database.
Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops Yes
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes

Primary State agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Unknown
Enforcement Statistics

No data

State collects data on the number of minors found in possession No
Number of minors found in possession’ by State law enforcement agencies Data not collected
Number pertains to the 12 months ending Data not collected
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Data not collected

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations® to determine if Yes

alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by State agencies 1,512
Number of licensees that failed State compliance checks 224
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to Yes

determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies No data
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 340
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010

State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes
Number of fines imposed by the State® 2,257
Total amount in fines across all licensees $934,976
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments Yes

specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the State* 47
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 162
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010
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State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments

o oy . Yes
specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® 4
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010

Additional Clarification

MLCC receives some information from local police (attached to submitted violations); however, they do
not maintain those data. This may include selling-to-minor violations (not involving decoys). Police must
take action against the minor for MLCC to process violations, and the police must attach proof of action
taken to MLCC violations. MLCC, however, does not maintain those data separately.

Question B.2: Local law enforcement conducts underage compliance checks; however, submission of the
data to MLCC is voluntary only. Not all local law enforcement submit the data, and therefore, MLCC does
not maintain the data they do receive separately due to incompleteness.

Question C.1: MLCC collects data on the amount of fines; however, this data is for violations of State
liquor code and rules only. MLCC does not maintain records of local fines imposed.

Question D.1: MLCC conducts enforcement on direct shipper laws only. MLCC does not perform full
investigations (field) on direct shippers.

'or having consumed or purchased per State statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors

®*Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

“Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking
Michigan Coalition to Reduce Underage Drinking (MCRUD)

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Program has been evaluated No
Evaluation report is available Not applicable
URL for evaluation report Not applicable
URL for more program information No data

Program description: MCRUD provides training, technical assistance, and networking opportunities for
local volunteer and professional groups that are working to address specific issues related to reducing
underage drinking at the local level. MCRUD also provides small grants (up to $1,500) for volunteer
grassroots groups on the same topics. Constituents include other statewide organizations (e.g., Mothers
Against Drunk Driving), local professional prevention agencies, local public health departments, hospital
staff, local teen centers, and volunteer groups (e.g., high school leadership groups, parent groups, and
community coalitions).

OJJDP Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws Program

Number of youth served 100
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for report: http://www.michigan.gov/documents/msp/2005_EUDL_Evaluation_197592_7.pdf
URL for more program information No data
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Program description: Michigan’s Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) program seeks to reduce the
availability of alcohol to minors by enforcing underage drinking laws. Law enforcement agencies across
Michigan are actively patrolling for underage drinking parties as well as conducting retail compliance
checks with liquor licensees.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
Sub-State Regional Coordinating Agencies
URL for more program information: http://www.michigan.gov/mdch-bsaas

Program description: No data

Prevention Network
URL for more program information: http://www.preventionnetwork.org

Program description: No data

Parenting Awareness Michigan (PAM)
URL for more program information: http://www.preventionnetwork.org/pam

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention Yes

of underage drinking
Program description: Collaboration with both the Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa and Chippewa
Indians and the Little Traverse Bay Band of Odawa Indians occurs through offering technical
assistance as appropriate or requested. Both Tribes have member representation with the State
Epidemiology Outcomes Workgroup and the Strategic Planning Framework State Incentive Grant (SPF
SIG), a State-level collaborative body. In addition, there is partnership with the Michigan Inter-Tribal

Council.
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol No
advertising and marketing

Program description Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes

prevention programs
Best practice standards description: Michigan’s EUDL grantees use the controlled dispersal method
when processing underage drinkers. Controlled dispersal is a systematic operational plan using the
concepts of zero tolerance and education to safely and efficiently close underage drinking parties. A
successful controlled dispersal results in effective zero-tolerance enforcement by placing appropriate
charges against violators. It also minimizes the potential for disaster by ensuring that the party
attendees are provided safe rides home. Proper implementation of the controlled dispersal plan
benefits communities and youth by reducing the negative consequences associated with underage
drinking.

The Michigan Department of Community Health (MDCH)/Bureau of Substance Abuse and Addiction
Services (BSAAS) has also adopted overarching principles of effective prevention based on the
Surgeon General’'s Call to Action to Prevent and Reduce Underage Drinking (2007). Specific
guidelines for safe prom/graduation initiatives have also been adopted. In addition, MDCH/BSAAS
requires that at least 90 percent of prevention programming within a coordinating agency region be
evidence based.

Additional Clarification

No data
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State Interagency Collaboration
A State-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Mike Tobias
Email: mike@preventionnetwork.org
Address: PO Box 4458, East Lansing, M| 48826-4458
Phone: 517-393-6890
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Barry County Community Mental Health
Bay County Sacred Heart
Cass Alcohol Safety Solutions
Cristo Rey Community Center
Courageous Persuaders
Ingham Substance Abuse Prevention Coalition
Little Traverse Bay Band of Odawa Indians
Marquette County Health Department/Coalition
Michigan Council on Alcohol Problems
Michigan Liquor Control Commission
Oakland County Health Division
Ottawa County Health Department
Van Buren Substance Abuse Task Force
Washtenaw County Partnership/Clean Teens

A Web site or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes
URL or other means of access http://www.mcrud.org
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by MDCH/BSAAS
Plan can be accessed via http://www.michigan.gov/mdch-bsaas
State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes

Prepared by: SPF SIG Childhood and Underage Drinking (CUAD) Workgroup
Plan can be accessed via: http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdch/Blueprint_for Michigan 336742

7.pdf

Additional Clarification |

No data

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of State funds expended $100,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2010
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of State funds expended $1,750,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 12/31/2010
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of State funds expended $484,087

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2010
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of State funds expended $40,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2010
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of State funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
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Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:
Estimate of State funds expended Data not available
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:
Estimate of State funds expended Data not available
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Other programs:
Programs or strategies included SPF SIG
Estimate of State funds expended $1,980,000
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 09/30/2010

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking

State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

streams:
Taxes Yes
Fines Yes
Fees Yes
Other No data

Description of funding streams and how they are used: Taxes on alcohol, fines for violations, and license
fees and renewal fees. These sources are used to fund controlled-buy operations among other efforts of
the MLCC.

Additional Clarification

Note on Part IV, question A.2: The $1.75 million is used solely for saturation patrols. Michigan does not
allow checkpoints.
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