State Reports — Utah

State Profile and Underage Drinking Facts

State Population: 2,763,885
Population Ages 12-20: 393,000

Percentage Number
Ages 12-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 13.8 54,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 9.9 39,000
Ages 12-14
Past-Month Alcohol Use 3.0 4,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 1.7 2,000
Ages 15-17
Past-Month Alcohol Use 12.1 16,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 8.6 11,000
Ages 18-20
Past-Month Alcohol Use 24.5 35,000
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use 18.1 26,000
Number
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 32
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 1,952
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Percentage of Number
All Traffic
Fatalities
Traffic Fatalities, 15- to 20-Year-Old Drivers
with BAC > 0.01 17.0 9

Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol

Underage Possession of Alcohol
Possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Consumption of Alcohol
Consumption is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Internal Possession by Minors
Internal possession is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Underage Purchase of Alcohol
Purchase is prohibited, but youth may purchase for law enforcement purposes.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol

Provision(s) Targeting Minors
e Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense.
e Penalty may include driver’s license suspension through a judicial procedure.

Provision(s) Targeting Suppliers
e [tis a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID.

Provisions Targeting Retailers

e State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and
other information digitally encoded on valid identification cards.

e Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21
and older.
Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs.
Specific affirmative defense—the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable
conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid.

e Retailer has the statutory right to sue a minor who uses a false ID to purchase alcohol for
any losses or fines suffered by the retailer as a result of the illegal sale.

e Retailer has the authority to detain a minor suspected of using a false ID in connection with
the purchase of alcohol.

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving

BAC Limits: Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

e BAC limit: 0.00
e Any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
e Applies to drivers under age 21

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 729



State Reports — Utah

Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose Laws”)
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21.

Type(s) of Violation Leading to Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, or Denial
e Underage purchase
e Underage possession
e Underage consumption

Authority To Impose Driver’s License Sanction
e Mandatory

Length of Suspension/Revocation
e 365 days

Graduated Driver’s License

Learner Stage
e Minimum entry age: 15
e Minimum learner-stage period: 6 months
e  Minimum supervised driving requirement: 40 hours—10 of which must be at night

Intermediate Stage
e Minimum age: 16
e Unsupervised night driving
— Prohibited after: 12 a.m.
— Primary enforcement of the night-driving rule
e Passenger restrictions exist: No unrelated passengers, unless accompanied by driver over 21
— No primary enforcement of the passenger-restriction rule

License Stage
e Minimum age to lift restrictions: 17—passenger restrictions are lifted at age 16 years, 6
months; unsupervised night-driving restrictions remain until age 17.

Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors
Furnishing is prohibited—no explicit exceptions noted in the law.

Compliance Check Protocols
No data

Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors
No data

Responsible Beverage Service

Mandatory Beverage Service Training for Managers, Servers
e Applies to both on-sale and off-sale establishments
e Applies to both new and existing outlets
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Note: In Utah, the off-premise establishments subject to mandatory training are “off-premise
beer retailers.” Off-premise beer retailers are licensed to sell “beer,” which in Utah is any
product that contains not more than 4 percent ABV and is obtained by fermentation, infusion, or
decoction of any malted grain.

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 21
e Wine: 21
e Spirits: 21

Note: Although employees must be at least 21 to sell “liquor” at off-sale establishments in Utah,
persons between 16 and 21 may sell beer (defined as containing not more than 4 percent ABV)
on the premises of a beer retailer for off-premise consumption if under the supervision of a
person age 21 or older who is on the premises.

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Sellers

e Beer: 21 for both servers and bartenders
e Wine: 21 for both servers and bartenders
e Spirits: 21 for both servers and bartenders

Dram Shop Liability

Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:
e Limitations on damages: $1 million limit for one person and $2 million limit for all injured
parties per occurrence.
e Limitations on who may sue: Retailers that furnish beer only for off-premises consumption
are exempt.

Note: Liability is strictly imposed for furnishing alcohol to an underage drinker. Evidence of
retailer’s negligence is not required.

Social Host Liability Laws

Statutory liability exists subject to the following conditions:
e Limitations on damages: $1 million limit for one person and $2 million limit for all injured
parties per occurrence.
e Limitations on who may be sued: Social host must be age 21 or older.

Host Party Laws

Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties.
e Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Not specified
e Property type(s) covered by liability law: Residence, outdoor, other
e Standard for hosts’ knowledge or action regarding the party: Knowledge—host must have
actual knowledge of the occurrence.

Note: In Utah, an individual may not knowingly conduct, aid, or allow an “underage drinking
gathering.” An “underage drinking gathering” means a gathering of two or more individuals (a)
at which an individual knowingly serves, aids in the service of, or allows the service of an
alcoholic beverage to an underage person; and (b) to which an emergency response provider is
required to respond, except for a response related solely to providing medical care at the location
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of the gathering. The definition does not otherwise specify a property type or an action by

underage guest.

Direct Sales/Shipments of Alcohol by Producers

Direct sales/shipments from producers to consumers are not permitted.

Keg Registration

e Keg sales prohibited
e Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs.

Alcohol Pricing Policies

Home Delivery

e Beer: Prohibited
e Wine: Prohibited
e Spirits: Prohibited

Alcohol Tax

e Beer (5 percent alcohol): Control State
e  Wine (12 percent alcohol): Control State
e Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Control State

Drink Specials

Free beverages: Prohibited

Multiple servings at one time: Not prohibited

Multiple servings for same price as single serving: Prohibited
Reduced price at specified day or time: Prohibited

Unlimited beverages: Prohibited

Increased volume: Prohibited

Wholesale Pricing

Pricing restrictions exist.
e Beer (5 percent alcohol): Control State
e  Wine (12 percent alcohol): Control State
e Spirits (40 percent alcohol): Control State
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Utah State Survey Responses

Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws:

Utah Department of Public Safety (DPS), Utah Highway Patrol (UHP), Alcohol Enforcement Team (AET)
Methods by which local and State enforcement agencies coordinate their efforts to enforce laws
prohibiting underage drinking:

The Utah DPS Highway Safety Office (HSO) receives funding specifically targeting underage drinking

from the Federal Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention’s (OJJDP’s) Enforcing

Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) Block Grant. The HSO funds the AET and local law enforcement.

The AET uses EUDL funding to conduct compliance checks in restaurants, bars, taverns, etc. The

AET also trains local law enforcement on how to conduct compliance checks and train underage

buyers on how to attempt purchases during compliance checks. Funding from the National Highway

Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) flows through the HSO to the AET for the Serving Intoxicated

Persons (SIPS) program to target overserving in restaurants and taverns as well as serving underage

drinkers. The Targeting Responsibility for Alcohol Connected Emergencies (TRACE) project, also

funded by NHTSA, investigates serious or fatal car crashes involving underage drinkers to find where
they obtained their alcohol. The AET also helps local law enforcement agencies with investigations
when there are SIPS or TRACE problems in their areas. The HSO provides EUDL funding to 15 local
law enforcement agencies (multiagency task forces) to enforce underage drinking laws in operations
such as party patrols (urban and rural), saturation patrols with an emphasis on youth, administrative

checkpoints focusing on youth, shoulder tap operations, and source investigations.
Enforcement Strategies

State law enforcement agencies use:

Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations No
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
Local law enforcement agencies use:
Cops in Shops No
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes
Underage Alcohol-Related Fatality Investigations Yes
State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No

Primary State agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies No
Enforcement Statistics

Not applicable

State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes
Number of minors found in possession by State law enforcement agencies 9,235
Number pertains to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations® to determine if Yes

alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities No
Number of licensees checked for compliance by State agencies Data not collected
Number of licensees that failed State compliance checks Data not collected
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Data not collected

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to Yes

determine if alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors
Data are collected on these activities Yes
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 2,448
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 234
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2010

Report to Congress on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking 733



State Reports — Utah

State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish minors Yes
Number of fines imposed by the State® 12
Total amount in fines across all licensees $19,300
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 01/01/2011

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments Yes

specifically for furnishing minors
Number of suspensions imposed by the State® 8
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 55
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 01/01/2011

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments Yes

specifically for furnishing minors
Number of license revocations imposed® 0

Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 01/01/2011
Additional Clarification

Clarification on Question A.4.a: The number of minors (9,235 total) in the State found in possession (or
having consumed or purchased) alcohol includes 3,784 under age 18 (for the calendar year ending
12/31/2009) and 5,451 ages 18 to 20 (for the State fiscal year [FY] ending 06/30/2010). Data are
collected separately by the Utah Juvenile Court (under 18) and the Utah Justice Courts (18 to 20).

New research on the harmful effects of alcohol on teenagers’ developing brains, combined with the
results of the 2005 Utah Student Health and Risk Prevention Survey (SHARP)—which revealed a trend of
increasing alcohol use among adolescents in Utah—resulted in the passage of the Eliminating Alcohol
Sales to Youth (EASY statute) by the 2006 Utah Legislature. EASY provides funding for the
reimbursement of local law enforcement agencies for monies expended when conducting alcohol
compliance checks at off-premises retailers, including locations such as grocery, convenience, and drug
stores. EASY entered its fourth year in FY 2010.

The primary goal of the EASY program is to curtail the retail supply of alcohol to minors at off-premises
retail locations through two complementary methods: providing funding to local law enforcement agencies
to conduct alcohol compliance checks, and requiring standardized and mandatory retail employee
training. Through these methods, EASY has removed the financial obstacles that frequently prevented
law enforcement agencies from conducting compliance checks; the retail training requirements empower
front-line employees with the knowledge and information they need to avoid sales to minors.

Utah’s law enforcement agencies and retailers continued to support the EASY program by increasing
numbers in FY 2010. New agencies conducted compliance checks, and retailers new to the State
completed training before opening. The Highway Safety Office records data, analyzes results, and tracks
records related to the compliance checks performed by law enforcement as part of EASY.

Clarification on Questions C.1 through C.3 — Sanctions: Responses apply specifically to on-premises
establishments including restaurants, taverns, clubs, and on-premises beer retailers.

'or having consumed or purchased per State statutes

2Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying
with laws prohibiting sales to minors

3 . . . .
Does not include fines imposed by local agencies

*Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies

®Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies
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Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs SPECIFIC TO Underage Drinking

ParentsEmpowered
Number of youth served 288,480
Number of parents served 576,960
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes

URL for evaluation report: http://www.dsamh.utah.gov/docs/sharp_statewide_report_2009.pdf
URL for more program information: http://www.parentsempowered.org

Program description: ParentsEmpowered is a statewide, State-sponsored media and education campaign
launched in September 2006 to inform parents about the lasting harm of underage drinking and provide
them with the proven skills, tools, and information needed to prevent it. Teens say their parents are the
number one influence in preventing underage drinking, and research shows that teens are less likely to
drink when parents are actively involved in helping their children understand the risks of drinking alcohol
before age 21. ParentsEmpowered is targeted directly at parents rather than teens or children, as parents
are the key to preventing underage drinking.

The ParentsEmpowered campaign consists of television and radio spots, billboards, print materials, a
Web site, and other materials/activities designed to help parents and communities eliminate underage
drining. The campaign is funded by the Utah Legislature with profits from the State’s alcohol sales. Utah
is currently the only State in the Nation to fund an underage drinking prevention campaign at this level.
The ParentsEmpowered program objectives are as follows:

e Primary Objective: Total Community Mobilization. Eliminating underage drinking in Utah can be a
daunting task for parents to face alone. Creating a community network to support parents and their
enforcement of rules for their children increases the chances ot keeping kids alcohol free.

e Secondary Objective: It's All About the Media. Special events and projects need to be organized to
gain media and parental attention. Arranging public interaction between key community leaders and
parents enables ParentsEmpowered to deliver its underage drinking prevention message while
continuing to generate media and parental attention.

Mind Over Matter
Number of youth served 46,000
Number of parents served 92,000
Number of caregivers served 2,105
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2010
Program has been evaluated Yes
Evaluation report is available Yes
URL for evaluation report No data

URL for more program information: http://www.utahpd.org/mindmatter.htm

Program description: Mind Over Matter uses the Utah school system to distribute educational materials to
parents and children about the dangers of and skills needed to prevent underage drinking. This school
take-home assignment, consisting of a compact disc with songs that educate children about the
damaging effects of alcohol on their developing brains, accompanied by questions to facilitate a
discussion of the messages of each song, is targeted at 4th-grade students and their parents.

Utah’s Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws Program

Number of youth served No data
Number of parents served No data
Number of caregivers served No data
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data
Program has been evaluated No data
Evaluation report is available No data
URL for evaluation report Not applicable
URL for more program information: No data
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Program description: The Utah Highway Safety Office (HSO) receives funding to combat underage
drinking from the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention’s (OJJDP’s) “Enforcing Underage
Drinking Laws” (EUDL) block grant program. The HSO has received EUDL funding every year since
1999, with the amount typically being $360,000. The funding is utilized for the following
activities/purposes: (1) 15 Youth Alcohol/Drug Enforcement Task Forces that specifically target underage
drinkers through activities such as party patrols, sobriety checkpoints, false identification and source
investigations, shoulder-tap operations, and saturation patrols; (2) Underage Buyer Programs that
conduct compliance checks at private clubs and restaurants; (3) College/University Campus and Youth
Court Programs that educate students about underage drinking and impaired driving through
conferences, summits, presentations, workshops, training, new student orientation, alcohol-free activities,
awareness weeks, and other activities; and (4) Public Information and Education activities including
presentations at Utah Chiefs of Police and Utah Sheriffs Associations conferences, community events,
and educational materials on such topics as parenting skills.

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State:

Programs RELATED TO Underage Drinking
Prevention Dimensions
URL for more program information: http://www.utahpd.org

Program description: Prevention Dimensions (PD) is Utah’s school-based kindergarten through 12th-
grade alcohol, tobacco, and drug prevention education program. The program consists of teacher
resource files/lesson plans and accompanying classroom materials that support the Utah State Office of
Education’s core curriculum standards and objectives for health education. The program began in 1982
as a joint effort of the Utah Division of Alcoholism and Drugs, Utah Department of Health, Utah State
Office of Education, and Utah Parent-Teacher Association (PTA), and has been updated and revised
several times over the years. The mission of PD is to give students a strong foundation of effective
substance abuse and violence prevention skills. The resource lessons are age-appropriate and scoped
and sequenced to the core curriculum objectives. The lessons are also based on the risk and protective
factor model identified through the research of Drs. David Hawkins and Richard Catalano of the
University of Washington. Studies have shown that young people with identified risk factors are more
likely to engage in substance abuse and other antisocial behaviors; conversely, students with strong
protective factors are less likely to engage in substance abuse and antisocial behaviors. PD lessons are,
therefore, designed to decrease risk factors and promote protective factors. PD teacher trainings develop
teacher skills to implement proven prevention strategies, impart knowledge, and help maintain a positive
prevention attitude and classroom environment.

Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs

State collaborates with federally recognized Tribal governments in the prevention No
of underage drinking

Program description Not applicable
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol No
advertising and marketing

Program description Not applicable
State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking Yes

prevention programs
Best practice standards description: Utah has created an Evidence-Based Workgroup (EBW). Using
SAMHSA'’s evidence-based guidelines and the National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and
Practices (NREPP) as foundations, Utah formatted a collaborative committee to review and provide
technical assistance to prevention programs. The EBW reviews prevention programs submitted to the
panel. Then, based on the data and research provided, the EBW decides if the program has met the
burden of proof to be an evidence-based program.
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Additional Clarification |

The URL provided for the evaluation report of Utah’s ParentsEmpowered underage drinking prevention
education and media campaign is for the 2009 Student Health and Risk Prevention (SHARP) Survey. The
Utah SHARP Survey is conducted every 2 years (odd years) among students in grades 6 through 12. The
most recent (2009) SHARP Survey shows an average 4 percent reduction across 6th, 8th, 10th, and 12th
grades (and extrapolated for the 7th, 9th, and 11th grades) in lifetime use of alcohol, past 30-day use of
alcohol, and binge drinking among Utah’s youth. This equates to roughly 11,260 fewer Utah youth who
report trying alcohol in their lifetimes; 5,520 fewer having used alcohol in the past 30 days in the last 2
years; and 2,600 fewer underage binge/heavy drinkers in Utah than 2 years ago. The ParentsEmpowered
campaign is an integral part of Utah’s comprehensive strategy to prevent and reduce underage drinking.
There is also an ongoing specific evaluation (available on request) of the ParentsEmpowered campaign
being conducted by Dan Jones and Associates, Inc., a Utah firm.

State Interagency Collaboration |

A State-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or Yes
address underage drinking prevention activities
Committee contact information:
Name: Douglas Murakami, Chair, UPAC Underage Drinking Prevention Workgroup
Email: dmurakami@utah.gov
Address: Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 1625 South 900 West, P.O. Box 30408,
Salt Lake City, UT 84130-0408
Phone: 801-977-6820
Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:
Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Utah Attorney General’s Office
Utah Department of Health
Utah State Office of Education
Utah Juvenile Court
Utah Prevention Network
Utah Department of Public Safety
Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health
Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council
Mothers Against Drunk Driving—Utah Chapter
Intermountain Healthcare
Utah Council for Crime Prevention
Utah Parent-Teacher Association
A Web site or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes
URL or other means of access: http://www.parentsempowered.org

Underage Drinking Reports

State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: Underage Drinking Prevention Workgroup (a workgroup of the Utah Prevention
Advisory Council - UPAC, which is a committee of the Utah Substance Abuse Advisory
Council - USAAV)
Plan can be accessed via No data
State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes
Prepared by: 2009 Student Health and Risk Prevention (SHARP) Survey Report, Prepared by Bach
Harrison, LLC. 2010 Annual ParentsEmpowered and Eliminating Alcohol Sales to Youth
(E.A.S.Y.) Report, prepared by R&R Partners.
Plan can be accessed via: 2009 SHARP Survey:
http://www.dsamh.utah.gov/docs/sharp_statewide report_2009.pdf
2010 Annual ParentsEmpowered/EASY Report:
Contact Mary Lou Emerson at memerson@utah.gov
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Additional Clarification |

Clarification of Utah’s Underage Drinking Prevention Plan: Although Utah has not produced a written plan
for preventing underage drinking per se, we have had a plan in place for addressing this issue for the past
several years. Utah’s Underage Drinking Prevention Workgroup was originally created to attend
SAMHSA'’s “Preventing Underage Alcohol Use: A National Meeting of the States” on October 31—
November 1, 2005, in Washington, D.C. Following this meeting, the newly formed team immediately got
to work and was successful in promoting the passage of legislation during the 2006 Utah Legislative
Session (S.B. 58) that created and funded the ParentsEmpowered campaign and the EASY compliance
check program. Since then, Utah’s Underage Drinking Prevention Workgroup has continued to meet on a
weekly to biweekly basis to create new components for the campaign and to plan for adjunct school- and
community-based activities including the following: Mind Over Matter take-home program for 4th-grade
students and their parents, Underage Drinking Town Hall Meetings, higher education prevention activities
such as the incoming students’ Freshman Letter, creation and promotion of the passage of related
legislation (e.g., Social Host Liability Act in 2009), to name only a few. We do see the value of formalizing
our plan in written form, and plan to do so in the near future.

State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking

Compliance checks/decoy operations in retail outlets:

Estimate of State funds expended $232,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010
Checkpoints and saturation patrols:

Estimate of State funds expended $415,556

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of State funds expended $1,473,700

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010
K-12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:

Estimate of State funds expended $602,000

Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2010
Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:

Estimate of State funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:

Estimate of State funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:

Estimate of State funds expended Data not available

Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available
Other programs:

Programs or strategies included No data

Estimate of State funds expended No data

Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue

streams:
Taxes Yes
Fines No
Fees Yes

Other: Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control Liquor Control Fund and State General Fund
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Description of funding streams and how they are used:
A portion of the tax revenue collected on beer sales in Utah is deposited into the Alcoholic Beverage
Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account, which is distributed annually on a formula basis to
municipalities and counties throughout Utah for purposes of the following:

Driving under the influence (DUI) law enforcement.

General alcohol-related law enforcement.

Prosecution/court costs for alcohol-related cases.

Treatment of alcohol problems.

Alcohol-related education/prevention.

Confinement of alcohol law offenders.

In SFY 2010 (ending June 30, 2010), $5,622,600 was distributed, and approximately 39 percent of
municipalities and counties used at least some of their funding for alcohol-related education or
prevention, including underage drinking prevention. A surcharge is imposed on every fine assessed
for a criminal penalty in Utah (35 percent for lesser offenses; 90 percent for major offenses). The
funding generated by the surcharges on fines, 2.5 percent is appropriated to the Utah State Office of
Education annually for substance abuse prevention and is used to support the Prevention Dimensions
program. A portion of the revenues from vehicle impound fees and driver license reinstatement fees
will fund the EASY program (these revenues are initially deposited into the Department of Public
Safety Restricted Account) beginning July 1, 2011; in the past, EASY has been funded out of the
State General Fund. The ParentsEmpowered underage drinking media and education campaign is
funded by the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control’s Liquor Control Fund. Revenues in this fund
are generated by the profits on the sales of alcoholic beverages in Utah.

oar®N =

Additional Clarification

Clarification on State Funds Used for Community-Based Programs: The $1,473,700 is for the
ParentsEmpowered underage drinking prevention media and education campaign.

Clarification on State Funds Used for K-12 School-Based Programs: $112,000 is for the 4th-grade Mind
Over Matter program that specifically targets underage drinking; $490,000 is for the Prevention
Dimensions program, which includes prevention of underage drinking as a major objective but also deals
with tobacco, drugs, and violence issues.
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