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Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services in 
Medicaid and SCHIP in Alaska 

 
 
 
As of July 2003, 128,193 people were covered under Alaska’s Medicaid and SCHIP 
programs, with 115,920 people financed by Medicaid and 12,273 financed by a Medicaid 
Expansion SCHIP program. In State fiscal year 2002, Alaska spent $629.9 million to 
provide Medicaid services.  
 
In Alaska, low-income children may be enrolled in the Medicaid program or a SCHIP 
Medicaid expansion program, based on the child’s age and the family’s income.   
 
• The Medicaid program serves children aged 0–1 from families with incomes of 200 

percent Federal Poverty Level (FPL) or less; children aged 1–5 from families with 
incomes of 133 percent FPL or less; and children aged 6–18 from families with 
incomes of 100 FPL or less. 

• The SCHIP Medicaid expansion program serves children aged 1–18 from families 
with incomes of 200 percent FPL or less who do not qualify for Medicaid. 

 
Alaska delivers mental health and substance abuse services only through a fee-for-service 
system.   
 
• The Alaska Department of Health and Human Services contracts with five mental 

health regional administrators responsible for overseeing community mental health 
services. The State also contracts with one inpatient facility to provide psychiatric 
services. Substance abuse services funded by the State substance abuse authority are 
purchased under several types of arrangements, including direct contracts with 
service providers and master contracts with county entities.   

  
Alaska’s Medicaid program has no managed care program. All mental health and 
substance abuse services are delivered through a fee-for-service payment system.    
 
 
Medicaid 
 
 
Who Is Eligible for Medicaid? 
 
Families and Children 
1. Low-income families with incomes below a standard set by the State that varies by 

family composition. For example, a two-person family must have an adjusted income 
of $1,069 per month or less to qualify for Medicaid, a three-person family must have 
$1,202 per month or less, etc.  

2. Pregnant women and children under age 1 from families with incomes of 200 percent 
FPL or less.  
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3. Children aged 1–6 from families with incomes of 133 percent FPL or less. 
4. Children aged 6–18 from families with incomes of 100 percent FPL or less.   
5. Recipients of adoption assistance and foster care under Title IV-E of the Social 

Security Act. 
 
Aged, Blind, and Disabled 
1. Individuals receiving or eligible to receive Supplemental Security Income (SSI) or 

Alaska’s supplementary payment program (referred to as Adult Public Assistance or 
APA). 

2. All working individuals aged 16–64 who meet the SSI definition of disability and 
have an income of 250 percent FPL or less. Those with incomes of 100 percent FPL 
or more must pay a premium that varies by income in order to participate in the 
Medicaid program. 

3. Aged, blind, and disabled individuals in domiciliary facilities or other group living 
arrangements as defined under SSI.  

4. Individuals who are in institutions for at least 30 consecutive days and who earn no 
more than 300 percent of the maximum Federal SSI payment.   

5. Certain disabled children aged 18 or under who are living at home, but who would be 
eligible for Medicaid if they were in an institution.   

 
Medically Needy 
Alaska does not have a medically needy program.   
 
Waiver Populations  
Alaska does not have a §1115 waiver. 
 
What Mental Health/Substance Abuse Services Are Covered by Medicaid? 
 
Medicaid must cover some types of services (mandatory services) and may cover some 
other types of services (optional services). The information presented here identifies the 
types of services Alaska Medicaid covers and the coverage requirements for those 
services. These services are presented grouped as they are in the Medicaid State plan that 
Alaska must maintain under Medicaid law. Only those types of services that include 
mental health or substance abuse services are discussed.  
 
 

Mandatory State Plan Services 
 
Inpatient Hospital Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Inpatient psychiatric 
care 

Psychiatric care provided in an 
inpatient psychiatric hospital 
facility, a general hospital that 
provides psychiatric services, or 
residential psychiatric treatment 
center 

• All hospitalizations must be physician-prescribed.   
• All admissions for psychiatric care must be 

preapproved by the State's utilization review 
contractor.   

• The contractor must also approve all days of care 
beyond those originally authorized by the 
contractor. 

• Beneficiaries under age 21 may receive care from 
an inpatient psychiatric hospital facility, a general 
hospital that provides psychiatric services, or a 
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residential psychiatric treatment center.  
• Beneficiaries aged 21–64 may only receive care 

from a general hospital that provides psychiatric 
services. 

• Beneficiaries over 65 may only receive services 
from an inpatient psychiatric hospital facility or a 
general hospital that provides psychiatric services. 

 
 
Outpatient Hospital Including Rural Health Center and Federally Qualified Health Center Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Federally Qualified 
Health Centers 
(FQHCs) and Rural 
Health Centers 
(RHCs) 

FQHCs and RHCs may provide 
any Medicaid-covered mental 
health or substance abuse service 
that is within the scope of practice 
of the practitioner providing the 
service.  

• Services must be physician-directed. 
• Services provided by an FQHC or RHC must 

meet the same requirements as services 
provided by another provider. 

 
 

Physician Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Physician services Physicians may provide substance abuse and mental health services as described under 

Rehabilitative Services if the service is part of their scope of practice as defined in State 
law. 

 
 
Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Services to Children Under 21 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Early Periodic 
Screening, Diagnosis, 
and Treatment 
(EPSDT) mental 
health services 

Alaska defines coverage for mental health and substance abuse services needed to treat 
or ameliorate a condition identified in an EPSDT screen under Rehabilitative Services. 

 
Optional State Plan Services 

 
Clinic Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Mental health clinic Services provided by approved outpatient 

community mental health clinics, state-
operated community mental health clinics, 
and mental health physician clinics, 
including— 
• Psychotherapy 
• Rehabilitation services as described in 

that category 

Beneficiaries may receive no more than 
10 hours of psychotherapy in a calendar 
year without the prior approval of the 
Medicaid agency. 

 
 
Inpatient Psychiatric Services (for persons under the age of 22) 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Inpatient psychiatric 
services for persons 
under age 22 

Psychiatric services provided in an inpatient 
psychiatric hospital facility, a general hospital 
that provides psychiatric services, or 
residential psychiatric treatment center 

No beneficiary may be admitted without 
the prior approval of the Medicaid 
agency’s designated utilization review 
contractor. 
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Rehabilitative Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Mental health 
rehabilitative services 
for children under 21 

Services for children under 21 may 
include— 
• Crisis intervention services 
• Family, individual, group 

psychotherapy 
• Intake assessment 
• Medication management 
• Psychiatric assessment 
• Psychological testing and 

evaluation 
• Home-based therapy 
• Activity therapy 
• Day treatment services 
• Intensive rehabilitation 

services 
• Medication administration 

services 
• Family support services 

• Services must be needed to treat or ameliorate 
a condition identified in an EPSDT screen. 

• Services must be provided as part of an 
individual plan of care. 

• Beneficiaries may receive no more than the 
following amounts of service without the prior 
approval of the Medicaid agency (approval may 
be granted retroactively): 
− Crisis intervention— 
� 22 hours in a calendar year 
� No more than 2 hours per day 

− Family, group, or individual 
psychotherapy— 
• 10 sessions in a calendar year  

− Intake assessment—  
� 3 hours per assessment 
� 1 assessment per admission 

− Medication management—  
� 1 visit per week for the initial month 

and 1 visit per month thereafter 
� 15 visits in a calendar year 

− Psychiatric assessment— 
� 4 in a calendar year 

− Psychological testing—  
• 6 hours in a calendar year, except 

neuropsychological testing 
− Home-based therapy— 

• 100 hours in a calendar year 
− Activity therapy— 

• 140 hours in a calendar year 
− Day treatment— 

• 30 full or 60 half days in a calendar 
year 

− Intensive rehabilitation— 
• 90 days 

− Medication administration— 
� 1 visit per week for the initial month 
� 15 visits in a calendar year 

− Family support:— 
� 15 hours per month 
� 180 hours in a calendar year  

Mental health 
rehabilitative services 
for adults 

Services for adults may include:  
• Psychosocial development 

(day treatment) 
• Intensive rehabilitation, 

including: 
− Crisis intervention 

services 
− Family, individual, group 

psychotherapy 
− Intake assessment 
− Medication management 
− Psychiatric assessment 
− Psychological testing and 

evaluation 
• Client support services 

• All services must be specified in a treatment plan 
that is signed by a physician or mental health 
professional. 

• Beneficiaries may receive no more than the 
following amounts of service without the prior  
approval of the Medicaid agency: 
− Psychosocial development—  
� 4 hours per day 
� 3 days per week 
� 240 hours in a calendar year 

− Crisis intervention—  
� 22 hours in a calendar year 
� no more than 1 hour per day 

 
 

− Family, group, or individual 
psychotherapy—10 sessions in a calendar 
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Rehabilitative Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 

year  
− Intake assessment—  
� 3 hours per assessment 
� 1 assessment per admission 

− Medication management— 
� 1 visit per week for the initial month 

and 1 visit per month thereafter 
� 15 visits in a calendar year 

− Psychiatric assessment—4 in a calendar 
year 

− Psychological testing— 
• 6 hours in a calendar year, except 

neuropsychological testing 
− Client support services— 
� 15 hours per month 
� 180 hours in a calendar year 

Behavior rehabilitation 
services for children 
under 21 

Services to remediate debilitating 
psychosocial, emotional, and 
behavioral disorders, including: 
• Milieu therapy 
• Crisis intervention 
• Crisis counseling 
• Regular counseling 
• Skills training 

• Beneficiaries may not receive any services 
without the prior approval of the Medicaid 
agency. 

• Services must be provided as part of a treatment 
plan. 

• Beneficiaries may receive no more than the 
following amounts of service without the prior 
approval of the Medicaid agency: 
− Beneficiaries receiving care must be under 

21 
− Services must be needed to treat or 

ameliorate a condition identified in an 
EPSDT screen  

− The beneficiary must be diagnosed with a 
primary mental, emotional, or behavioral 
disorder that prevents functioning at 
developmentally appropriate levels in the 
home, school, or community. 

Alcohol and 
substance abuse 
services 

Services include:  
• Assessments and diagnosis 
• Intensive outpatient services 
• Individual, group, or family 

counseling services 
• Intermediate services 

(outpatient counseling and 
care coordination provided to 
beneficiaries who need a 
residential level of care) 

• Psychosocial development 
services (day treatment) 

• Medical services directly 
related to substance abuse 

• Detoxification services 

• Services may be provided as part of an 
approved treatment plan. 

• Beneficiaries may receive no more than the 
following amounts of service without the prior 
approval of the Medicaid agency: 
− Assessment and diagnosis—4 hours per 

assessment and diagnosis 
− Intensive outpatient—  
� At least 3 days or evenings per week 
� 8 hours per week 
� No more than 12 hours per week for 8 

consecutive weeks 
− Counseling— 
� Six 50-minute individual, group, or 

family sessions per month 
� Four 90-minute group sessions per 

month 
� Aggregate total of 10 sessions of any 

type or length per month 
− Intermediate services— 
� 10 hours per week 
� Beneficiary must require a residential 

level of care 
− Psychosocial development services—10 

hours per week 
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Rehabilitative Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 

− Methadone maintenance—1 dose per day 
− Detoxification—Five 24-hour days in any 

30-day period 
 
 
Targeted Case Management 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Targeted Case 
Management (TCM) 

Services include— 
• Family support for children 
• Client support for adults 
• Coordination of treatment 

services 
• Facilitation of access to services 
• Monitoring of service delivery 
• Advocate for services 

• To qualify for services, beneficiaries must be 
diagnosed with a mental illness severe enough 
that case management services are medically 
necessary. 

• Services must be specified in a written 
treatment plan that has been approved and 
signed by a physician or mental health 
professional. 

• Beneficiaries may receive no more than 15 
hours of service per month and 180 hours per 
12 months without the prior approval of the 
Medicaid agency. 

• Services may only be provided by a mental 
health clinical associate or professional clinician 
who is working for a community mental health 
clinic. 

 
 
SCHIP Medicaid Expansion Program  
 
 
Who Is Eligible for the SCHIP Medicaid Expansion Program? 
 
The SCHIP Medicaid expansion program covers the following children: 
  
• Children aged 1–5 years from families with incomes between 133 and 200 percent 

FPL. 
• Children aged 6–18 from families with incomes between 100 and 200 percent FPL.   
 
What Mental Health/Substance Abuse Services Are Covered by the SCHIP 
Medicaid Expansion Program? 
 
Service coverage is identical to coverage in the Medicaid program described in the 
previous section. 
 
 
Separate SCHIP Program 
 
Alaska has no separate SCHIP program. 
 


