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Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services in 

Medicaid and SCHIP in Colorado 
 
 
 
As of July 2003, 377,123 people were covered under Colorado’s Medicaid and SCHIP 
programs. There were 330,499 enrolled in the Medicaid program and 46,624 in the 
separate SCHIP program. In State fiscal year 2001, Colorado spent $1.95 billion to 
provide Medicaid services.  
 
In September 2002, Colorado received a §1115 Health Insurance Flexibility and 
Accountability (HIFA) waiver to enroll uninsured pregnant women from families with 
incomes of no more than 185 percent Federal Poverty Level (FPL) in a separate SCHIP 
program called CHP+. These women do not qualify for Medicaid. 
 
In Colorado, low-income children may be enrolled in the Medicaid or the CHP+ 
program, based on the child’s age and the family’s income.  
 
• The Medicaid program serves children aged 0–6 from families with incomes of no 

more than 133 percent FPL; and children aged 6–18 from families with incomes of no 
more than 100 percent FPL. 

• The separate SCHIP program serves children aged 0–18 from families with incomes 
of no more than 185 percent FPL who do not qualify for Medicaid. Families with 
incomes between 151 and 185 percent FPL pay an annual premium for their 
childrens’ participation. The premium varies by family size but is no more than $35 
per family. 

 
Colorado operates a Medicaid managed care program that includes three types of 
contractors, including one that delivers mental health and substance abuse services: 
 
• All beneficiaries must obtain all mental health services from prepaid inpatient health 

plans (PIHPs) that deliver only those services. There is one PIHP in each geographic 
area of the State. 

• All beneficiaries may choose to obtain physical health care services from either a 
comprehensive managed care organization (MCO) or a primary care case 
management program (PCCM). Beneficiaries may also choose to remain in the fee-
for-service system. 

 
As of July 2003, there were 330,499 Medicaid beneficiaries in the Medicaid program, 
including— 
• 274,174 enrollees in the PIHP 
• 70,150 enrollees in comprehensive MCOs 
• 82,488 enrollees in the PCCM program 
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Medicaid 
 
Who Is Eligible for Medicaid? 
 
Families and Children 
1. Low-income families that qualify for the Colorado Works program who are 

transitioning from that program to employment, or who have exceeded the time limit 
for receiving services from that program. The income limit for Colorado Works 
varies by family composition but is about 39 percent FPL. 

2. Pregnant women and children under 6 from families with incomes of 133 percent 
FPL or less. 

3. Children aged 6–19 from families with incomes less than 100 percent FPL. 
4. Recipients of adoption assistance and foster care under Title IV-E of the Social 

Security Act. 
5. Individuals under 21 for whom public agencies are assuming full or partial financial 

responsibility and who are either residing in a foster home, private institution, nursing 
home, or intermediate care facility for people with mental retardation (ICF/MR); or 
who are receiving active treatment as inpatients in a psychiatric facility or program. 

 
Aged, Blind, and Disabled 
1. Individuals receiving (or eligible to receive) Supplemental Security Insurance (SSI) 

or the Colorado Old Age Pension (OAP). 
2. Persons who are residents of medical institutions (including nursing homes, hospitals, 

and ICFs-MR) for a period of 30 consecutive days, with incomes of 300 percent of 
the maximum SSI payment or less.  

3. Individuals under the age of 21 who are receiving active treatment as inpatients in 
psychiatric facilities or programs. 

 
Medically Needy 
Colorado does not have a medically needy program. 
 
Waiver Populations  
Colorado does not have a §1115 waiver. 
 
What Mental Health/Substance Abuse Services Are Covered by Medicaid? 
 
Medicaid must cover some types of services (mandatory services) and may cover some 
other types of services (optional services). The information presented here identifies the 
types of services Colorado Medicaid covers, and the coverage requirements for those 
services. The services are presented as they are grouped in the Medicaid State plan that 
Colorado must maintain under Medicaid law. Only those types of services that include 
mental health or substance abuse services are discussed. 
 
Inpatient Hospital Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Inpatient hospital 
services 

Services include those items and 
services that are ordinarily 

• The Medicaid agency’s designated agent must 
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furnished by a hospital for the care 
and treatment of inpatients, 
including— 
• Acute inpatient hospital 

psychiatric services when 
provided as an integral service 
of a participating Medicaid 
general hospital. 

• Inpatient psychiatric care from 
a specialty hospital. 

approve all nonemergency psychiatric 
admissions and requests for continuation of 
stays for mental health treatment. 

• Beneficiaries may receive no more than 45 
days per fiscal year of mental health treatment. 

• Beneficiaries must have concurrent medical 
conditions to qualify for substance abuse 
treatment for detoxification or rehabilitation. 

 
 
Outpatient Hospital Including Rural Health Center and Federally Qualified Health Center Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Outpatient psychiatric 
hospital services 

Outpatient psychiatric hospital 
services include preventive, 
diagnostic, therapeutic, 
rehabilitative, or palliative services 
that— 
• Are furnished to outpatients 
• Are furnished by or under the 

direction of a physician 
• Are furnished by an institution 

that is licensed or formally 
approved as a hospital  

• Services provided in an outpatient facility must 
meet the same requirements as those provided 
in another setting. 

Federally Qualified 
Health Centers 
(FQHCs) 

Mental health and substance abuse 
services provided by a licensed 
physician, psychologist, or social 
worker, or that would be covered if 
provided in another setting. 

• Mental health and substance abuse services 
provided in an FQHC must meet the same 
requirements as services provided in another 
setting.  

 
Rural Health Clinics 
(RHCs) 

Mental health and substance abuse 
services provided by a licensed 
physician, or that would be covered 
if provided in another setting. 

• Mental health and substance abuse services 
provided in an RHC must meet the same 
requirements as those provided in another 
setting.  

 
 
Physician Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Physician services Physicians may provide Medicaid-

covered mental health and 
substance abuse services that are 
within their scope of practice. 

• A mental health or substance abuse service 
provided in a physician’s office must meet the 
same requirements as those provided in 
another setting. 

• All services must be within the physician’s 
scope of practice as defined in State law. 

 
 
Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Services for Children Under 21 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Early Periodic 
Screening, Diagnosis, 
and Treatment 
(EPSDT) Mental 
Health Services 

Colorado does not specify any 
mental health or substance abuse 
services that are covered under 
EPSDT; however, it is required to 
cover any service that could be 
covered under Federal Medicaid 
regulations that is needed to treat 
or ameliorate a condition identified 
in an EPSDT screen. 

• Service must be needed to ameliorate or treat a 
condition identified in an EPSDT screen. 

• The beneficiary must be under age 21.  
• Beneficiaries may not receive services that 

would not normally be covered by Medicaid 
without the approval of the Medicaid agency or 
its designated agent. 
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Optional State Plan Services 
 
Other Licensed Practitioners 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Psychologists Services provided by a licensed 

psychologist that are within the 
scope of the practice of the 
profession 

• The psychologist must be State licensed. 
• The services must be within the psychologist’s 

scope of practice as defined in State law. 
• Services provided by a psychologist must meet 

the same criteria as those provided by other 
providers described elsewhere in this section. 

• Services may only be provided as part of an 
active individualized plan of care that must be 
prepared within the first 5 visits, or within 24 
hours of an inpatient admission.  

• Beneficiaries may receive no more than 35 
sessions of mental health services per fiscal 
year without the authorization of the Medicaid 
agency. 

 
 
Clinic Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Community mental 
health clinic or center 
services 

Medical or remedial services provided by a 
licensed community mental health center or 
clinic, including— 

• Partial care 
• Outpatient services, including 

therapy services 
• 24-hour emergency care and  
• Case management 

• Services must be recommended by a 
physician to reduce physical or 
mental disability, or to improve 
functional level. 

• Therapy services provided by a 
mental health clinic or center must 
meet the criteria described under 
Other Licensed Practitioners. 

Drug and alcohol 
treatment for pregnant 
women 

• Services that may be provided under the 
clinic option include— 
− Risk assessment  
− Case management  
− Drug/alcohol individual and group 

therapy 
− Health maintenance group 
− Urine screening and monitoring 

related to alcohol and drug abuse 
treatment services 

• Opiate treatment with methadone 
maintenance is not covered for 
beneficiaries 

• To qualify for treatment, a beneficiary 
must be a substance-abusing 
pregnant woman who is at risk of a 
poor birth outcome, as determined by 
a screening and assessment 
conducted by the clinic. 

• All services must be preapproved by 
the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division 
of the Colorado Department of 
Health. 

• Beneficiaries may only receive 
services from a freestanding alcohol 
or drug treatment program approved 
and certified by the Division of 
Alcohol and Drug Abuse. 

 
 
Inpatient Psychiatric Services (for persons under the age of 21) 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Inpatient psychiatric 
services for persons 
under 21 

Services provided in an inpatient psychiatric 
hospital facility or residential treatment facility 
devoted to the provision of inpatient 
psychiatric services for persons under age 21 

• All admissions must be approved by 
the State’s designated agent and the 
PIHP that serves the geographic area 
where the beneficiary lives. 

• Services may only be provided by 
facilities that maintain a current 
license as a hospital or a residential 
treatment center and are accredited 
by the Joint Commission on 
Accreditation of Healthcare 
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Organizations.  
• The beneficiary must be under age 

21. 
 
 
Rehabilitative Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Community Mental 
Health Centers 

Services limited to those described under 
Clinic Services 

• Coverage requirements are 
discussed under Clinic Services. 

• Services must meet the coverage 
criteria established by the PIHP that 
serves the geographic area where the 
beneficiary lives. 

Partial day care Services include—  
− Long partial day care services (4–24 

hours of contact per day) 
− Short partial day care services (less 

than 4 hours per day) 

Services must meet the coverage criteria 
established by the PIHP that serves the 
geographic area where the beneficiary 
lives. 

Group and individual 
therapy 

Therapy services provided in an office or in 
the beneficiary’s school or home, including 
the following: 
• Therapeutic contact with more than one 

consumer of up to, and including, 2 
hours 

• Therapeutic contact with one consumer 
of no more than 2 hours; visits of 30 
minutes or less are considered individual 
brief therapy 

Services must meet the coverage criteria 
established by the PIHP that serves the 
geographic area where the beneficiary 
lives. 

Psychosocial 
rehabilitation 

• A broad array of services to maximize a 
consumer’s ability to live and participate 
in the community and to function 
independently 

• Service options include, but are not 
limited to— 
− Assessment of interests and abilities 
− Development of individualized goals 

and timelines 
− Assistance in understanding and 

coping with one’s illness 
− Crisis planning 
− Recognition of and skill development 

to offset the realities of stigma and 
feelings of lack of control over one’s 
life 

− Daily living skills 
− Education 
− Recreation/leisure time use 
− Social interactions 
− Providing information and assisting 

in accessing peer-oriented groups 

Services must meet the coverage criteria 
established by the PIHP that serves the 
geographic area where the beneficiary 
lives. 
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Targeted Case Management 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Case management Those services that assist mentally 

ill individuals eligible under the State plan to 
gain access to needed medical, 
social, educational, and other services, 
including— 
• Service planning 
• Outreach 
• Referral 
• Supportive interventions 
• Crisis management 
• Linkage 
• Service coordination and continuity of 

care 
• Monitoring and follow-up  
• Advocacy 

• Services must meet the coverage 
criteria established by the PIHP that 
serves the geographic area where the 
beneficiary lives. 

• Beneficiaries must be determined by 
the community mental health centers 
to be mentally ill and in need of case 
management services as defined 
here. 

 
 
Home and Community-Based Waiver Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Home and 
Community-Based 
Services for Persons 
With Mental Illness 
(HCBS-MI) 

HCBS-MI services provided as an alternative 
to nursing facility placement include— 
• Adult day services 
• Alternative care facility services, 

including homemaker and personal care 
services in a residential setting 

• Electronic monitoring 
• Home modification 
• Homemaker services 
• Nonmedical transportation 
• Personal care 
• Respite care 

• To participate in this program, 
participants must— 
− Have an adjusted income of no 

more than 300 percent of the 
maximum SSI cash benefit. 

− Require a level of care that 
would require nursing home 
placement without the waiver 
services 

− Have a current primary or 
secondary diagnosis of a major 
mental disorder 

− Be assessed to be a person with 
mental illness as defined by 
State Mental Health Services 

• Beneficiaries must be approved by 
the State for participation in the 
program. 

• Participation in this program is 
capped. If there are no openings for 
the program when the beneficiary is 
found eligible for the program, the 
beneficiary will be placed on a waiting 
list for services. 
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SCHIP Medicaid Expansion Program  
 
 
Colorado Does Not Have A SCHIP Medicaid Expansion Program. 
 
 
Separate SCHIP Program 
 
 
Who Is Eligible for the Separate SCHIP Program? 
 
The separate SCHIP program expands the eligibility of two groups of children: 
 
• Uninsured children aged 0–5 from families with incomes between 133 and 185 

percent FPL. 
• Uninsured children aged 6–18 from families with incomes between 100 and 185 

percent FPL. 
 
What Mental Health/Substance Abuse Services Are Covered by the 
Separate SCHIP Program? 
 
 
Hospital 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Mental health  Covered and treated the same 

as any other health condition 
(i.e., there are no limits on the 
number of hospital days covered) 

Limited coverage; 45 days of inpatient coverage with 
the option of converting 45 inpatient days into 90 days 
of day treatment services.1 

Substance abuse Not covered except for acute 
detoxification; maximum 5 days 
per episode 

 

 
 
Office Visits 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Mental health 
services 

Mental health services delivered 
in a setting other than inpatient 
hospital   

• Enrollees may receive no more than 20 outpatient 
visits per year. 

• Neurobiological illnesses are treated as any other 
illness and not subject to limit. 

Substance abuse 
services 

Substance abuse services 
delivered in a setting other than 
inpatient hospital   

• Enrollees may receive no more than 20 outpatient 
visits per year.  

 
 

                                                           
1 This recognizes that as in all HMOs, the HMO has the right to exempt members from this limit.   


