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Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services in 
Medicaid and SCHIP in Wyoming 

 
 
As of July 2003, 59,789 people were covered under Wyoming’s Medicaid/SCHIP programs. There were 
56,209 enrolled in the Medicaid program and 3,580 enrolled in the separate SCHIP program (Wyoming 
does not have a Medicaid Expansion Program). In state fiscal year 2001, Wyoming spent $241 million to 
provide Medicaid services.  
 
In Wyoming, low-income children may be enrolled into the Medicaid program or a separate SCHIP 
program, based on the child's age and their family's income.  
 
• The Medicaid program serves infants from birth to age 6 from families with incomes less than 133% 

FPL and children aged 6 through 18 from families with incomes less than 100% FPL.  
• The separate SCHIP program serves children from age 6 through 18 from families with incomes of no 

more than 133% FPL who do not qualify for Medicaid.  Families with children participating in this 
program pay an annual enrollment fee of $200/family/year.  

 
Wyoming does not operate a managed care program--all services, including mental health and substance 
abuse services are delivered through a fee-for-service system.  
 
 
Medicaid 
 
 
Who is Eligible for Medicaid? 
   
Families and Children 
1. Low-income families that would have qualified for the Wyoming AFDC program in 1996.  The exact 

income limit varies by family size and composition.  
2. Children from birth through age 5 and pregnant women with incomes at or below 133% FPL.   
3. Children ages 6 through 18 from families with incomes at or below 100% FPL. 
4. Recipients of adoption assistance and foster care under Title IV-E of the Social Security Act 
5. Individuals who are under 21 and for whom public agencies are assuming full or partial financial 

responsibility and who are either residing in a foster home or private institution.  
 
Aged, Blind, and Disabled 
1. Individuals eligible for SSI. 
2. Working individuals that meet the SSI definition of disabled, are 16-64 years old, and have incomes of 

no more than 100% FPL. 
3. Individuals residing in a nursing facility or ICF/MR with incomes up to 300% of the SSI benefit rate 

and who meet all other SSI requirements. 
 
Medically Needy 
Wyoming does not have a Medically Needy program. 
 
Waiver Populations  
Wyoming does not have an 1115 waiver. 
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What Mental Health/Substance Abuse Services are Covered by Medicaid? 
 
Medicaid must cover some types of services (mandatory services) and may cover some other types of 
services (optional services).   The information presented here identifies the types of service Wyoming 
Medicaid covers and the coverage requirements for those services.  These services are presented grouped as 
they are in the Wyoming State plan that Washington must maintain under Medicaid law.  Only those types 
of services that include mental health or substance abuse services are discussed.  
 
 

Mandatory State Plan Services 
 
Inpatient Hospital Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Inpatient 
Psychiatric/substance 
abuse Care 

• Inpatient treatment for 
substance abuse is limited to 
detox and/or stabilization of 
acute conditions. 

• Inpatient psychiatric 
admissions are limited to 
stabilization of acute 
conditions 

 
 
 

• Beneficiaries may only receive mental health 
and substance abuse services that are 
therapeutically necessary. 

• A beneficiary may be admitted to an inpatient 
psychiatric or residential treatment facility and a 
prior authorization from the Medicaid agency 
will be conducted to determine the medical 
necessity of admission. 

• To qualify as an acute care admission, the 
beneficiary must have one or more of the 
following conditions: 
− Suicide attempt 
− Homicidal threats or other assaultive 

behavior indicating a threat to others. 
− Gross dysfunction 
− Child exhibiting bizarre or psychotic 

behaviors that cannot be contained or 
treated in an outpatient setting 

 
 
Outpatient Hospital Including Rural Health Center and Federally Qualified Health Center Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Outpatient Hospital • Substance abuse and mental 

health services that would be 
covered if provided in another 
setting may be provided by an 
outpatient hospital. 

• Services provided by 
outpatient ambulatory centers 
that provide medical care, 
which is preventive, diagnostic, 
therapeutic, rehabilitative, or 
palliative. 

• Beneficiaries may receive outpatient psychiatric 
services when  
− provided by a treatment team, which 

includes a physician,  
− the services are part of an active treatment 

plan based on the beneficiary’s need, and  
− there is sufficient evidence that the 

treatment will be will be effective when 
provided in an outpatient setting  

• Beneficiaries may receive no more than 12 
outpatient visits per year without prior approval 
from the Medicaid agency. 

Federally Qualified 
Health Centers 
(FQHCs) and Rural 
Health Centers 
(RHCs) 

Substance abuse and mental 
health services that are typically 
furnished in an office, including 
services provided by a  
• physician,  
• psychologist, or  
• social worker.  

• Services provided by an FQHC or RHC must 
meet the same criteria as those provided in any 
other setting 
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Physician Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Physician Services • Psychiatrists and other 

physicians may provide mental 
health and substance abuse 
services that are within their 
scope of practice, including 
− Assessment 
− Individual, group, and 

family therapy. 
• Licensed psychologists, social 

workers, and counselors may 
provide services under a 
physician's direction, but all 
such services must be billed 
by the physician. 

• The service must be within the physician's 
scope of practice 

• All services provided by a physician must meet 
the same requirements as those provided in 
another setting. 

• Beneficiaries may receive no more than 12 
office visits per calendar year without prior 
authorization from the Medicaid agency.  

 
 
Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Services to Children Under 21 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Extended psychiatric 
care 

Inpatient psychiatric care beyond 
that needed to stabilize an acute 
condition. 

• Service must be needed to ameliorate or treat a 
condition identified in an EPSDT screen 

• The beneficiary must  be under age 21 
• Extended attempts at community-based 

treatment must have been tried and failed 
• Referrals for care must come from the child's 

primary physician during an acute hospital stay 
• No beneficiary may receive extended 

psychiatric care without prior authorization from 
the Medicaid agency 

Expanded EPSDT 
Services 

• Medical care, or any other type 
of remedial care recognized 
under state law, furnished by 
licensed practitioners within 
the scope of their practice as 
defined by state law, including 
services provided by  
− psychiatric nurse 

practitioners,  
− psychologists, 
− social workers. 

• Services may be provided in a 
facility, home, or other setting 

• Service must be needed to ameliorate or treat a 
condition identified in an EPSDT screen 

• Only beneficiaries under 21 years of age qualify 
for EPSDT services. 

• No beneficiary may receive expanded EPSDT 
services without prior authorization from the 
Medicaid agency  
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Optional State Plan Services 

 
Rehabilitative Services 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Community mental 
health/substance 
abuse program 
services 

• Services provided by a 
Medicaid-certified community 
mental health or substance 
abuse program, including: 
− Clinical assessment 
− Individual, group, and 

family therapy 
− medication administration 

and support services 
− Individual rehabilitation 
− Intensive individual 

rehabilitation/day 
treatment 

− Day treatment 
− Intensive child treatment 
− Case management 

• Beneficiaries cannot receive 
opiate treatment with 
methadone maintenance. 

• Services may only be provided as part of an 
approved, active individual plan of care 

• Services must be provided under the direction 
of a physician. 

• The service must be within the providing 
practitioner's scope of practice. 

Psychologist Services provided by an 
independent licensed clinical 
psychologist, including: 
• Clinical assessment 
• Office and community-based 

individual and family therapy 
• Group therapy 

• Services provided by a psychologist must meet 
the same coverage requirements as those 
provided by a physician. 

• The service must be within the psychologist's 
scope of practice as defined in State law. 

 
 
Targeted Case Management 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 
Targeted Case 
Management (TCM) 
for Mental Health  

• An individual, non-medical 
service to assist beneficiaries 
to access all needed medical, 
social, educational, and other 
services. 

• Specific services may include: 
− Linkage 
− Monitoring and follow-up 
− Referral 
− Advocacy 
− Crisis Intervention 

 
 
 

• To qualify for services, a beneficiary must: 
− Be age 21 or older 
− have been diagnosed by a mental health 

professional with one of the following 
mental illnesses: 
� Schizophrenia and Other Psychotic 

Disorders  
� Major Depressive Disorders and 

Bipolar Disorders  
� Substance Dependence Disorders 

− exhibit impaired role functioning, resulting 
solely from the mental disorder, in at least 
one of the following areas, continuously or 
episodically for at least one year: 
� Inability to be self-supporting 

financially  
� Inability to function independently in 

daily living activities  
� Inability to exhibit appropriate social 

behavior  
• Beneficiaries who have the following mental 

disorders are not eligible for TCM 
− A sole diagnosis of mental retardation or 

other developmental disability  
− A sole diagnosis of a substance abuse 



Wyoming 
Data revised via fax by State after July 2003 

Information as reported by state Medicaid and SCHIP agencies     Wyoming page 5 of 5 

Targeted Case Management 
Service Description Coverage Requirements 

disorder; and  
− Mental disorders, due to a medical 

condition, for which supervision and 
medication are the primary intervention 
needs. 

 
 
SCHIP Medicaid Expansion Program  
 

Wyoming does not have a Medicaid Expansion 
SCHIP Program. 

 
 
Separate SCHIP Program 
 
Who is Eligible for the Separate SCHIP Program? 
 
The separate SCHIP program serves two groups of children. 
 
1. Uninsured children from age 6-18 from families with incomes of 101%-133% FPL. 
 
 Families with children participating in this program pay an annual enrollment fee of $200/family/year.  

 
 
What Mental Health/Substance Abuse Services are Covered by the 
Separate SCHIP Program? 
 
Benefits in Separate SCHIP programs must meet a benchmark selected by the State.  Wyoming has elected, 
and the federal government has approved, the use of a benefit package that is identical to Medicaid 
coverage, as previously described. 


