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Exhibit 4.3.12: Distribution of Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor 
Vehicles) BAC Limit Laws, January 1, 1998, through January 1, 2011 

 

References and Further Information 
All data for this policy were obtained from APIS at http://www.alcoholpolicy.niaaa.nih.gov. 
Follow links to the policy entitled “Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits: Youth (Underage 
Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles).” APIS provides further descriptions of this policy 
and its variables, details regarding State policies, and a review of the limitations associated with 
the reported data. To see definitions of the variables for this policy, go to Appendix B.  

5. LOSS OF DRIVING PRIVILEGES FOR ALCOHOL VIOLATIONS BY MINORS 
(“USE/LOSE” LAWS)  

Policy Description  
Use/lose laws authorize suspension or revocation of driving privileges as a penalty for underage 
purchase, possession, or consumption of alcoholic beverages. States began enacting these 
statutes in the mid-1980s to deter underage drinking by imposing a punishment that young 
people would consider significant: the loss of a driver’s license. In most States, use/lose laws 
make it mandatory to impose driver’s license sanctions in response to underage alcohol 
violations. State laws vary as to the type of violation (purchase, possession, or consumption of 
alcohol) that leads to these sanctions and how long suspensions or revocations stay in effect. 

State laws specific to minors (purchase, possession, and consumption of alcoholic beverages) are 
described in the “Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase,” “Underage Possession,” 
“Underage Consumption,” and “Internal Possession by Minors” sections of this Report. 

Status of Loss of Driving Privileges Policies 

Upper Age Limit 
Thirty States and the District of Columbia set age 21 as the upper limit for which use/lose laws 
apply. Fourteen States set the upper limit at age 18, and one State (Wyoming) sets the limit at 

http://www.alcoholpolicy.niaaa.nih.gov/
https://dl-web.dropbox.com/get/Report%20to%20Congress/Report%20To%20Congress%2006-06-11%20KJM.doc?w=4fa4bc80#Purchase
https://dl-web.dropbox.com/get/Report%20to%20Congress/Report%20To%20Congress%2006-06-11%20KJM.doc?w=4fa4bc80#Possession
https://dl-web.dropbox.com/get/Report%20to%20Congress/Report%20To%20Congress%2006-06-11%20KJM.doc?w=4fa4bc80#Consumption
https://dl-web.dropbox.com/get/Report%20to%20Congress/Report%20To%20Congress%2006-06-11%20KJM.doc?w=4fa4bc80#InternalPossession
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age 19. In four States (Arkansas, Hawaii, Tennessee, and Virginia), some sanction conditions 
vary depending on whether the violator is under age 18 or under age 21. 

Authority To Impose License Sanction 
The vast majority of jurisdictions (37 States and the District of Columbia) have made license 
suspension or revocation mandatory in cases of underage alcohol violations (see Exhibit 4.3.13). 
Nine States have made this a discretionary penalty for such violations, and 10 States have no 
use/lose law. One State (Hawaii) makes this a discretionary penalty for minors below age 18, but 
mandatory for violators ages 18 through 20. (The total of States is greater than 51 because some 
have both mandatory and discretionary laws.)  

Exhibit 4.3.13: License Suspension/Revocation for Alcohol Violations by Minors as of 
January 1, 2011 

 

Trends in Loss of Driving Privileges Policies 
Between 1998 and 2011, the number of jurisdictions that made license suspension or revocation 
mandatory in cases of underage alcohol violations increased from 25 to 34 (see Exhibit 4.3.14). 
During this same time period, the number of jurisdictions with no use/lose laws decreased from 
17 to 10, and the number with discretionary authority to impose use/lose sanctions dropped from 
10 to 9. 
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Exhibit 4.3.14: Distribution of License Suspension/Revocation Procedures for Alcohol 
Violations by Minors, January 1, 1998, through January 1, 2011 

 

References and Further Information 
Data for this policy were obtained from APIS at http://www.alcoholpolicy.niaaa.nih.gov. Follow 
links to the policy entitled “Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors 
(“Use/Lose” Laws).” APIS provides further descriptions of this policy and its variables, details 
regarding State policies, and a review of the limitations associated with the reported data. To see 
definitions of the variables for this policy, go to Appendix B. 

6. GRADUATED DRIVER’S LICENSES 

Policy Description  
Graduated driver licensing (GDL) is a system designed to delay full licensure for teenage 
automobile drivers, thus allowing beginning drivers to gain experience under less risky 
conditions. Teenagers are targeted because they are at the highest risk for motor vehicle crashes, 
including alcohol-related crashes. By imposing restrictions on driving privileges, GDL reduces 
the chances of teenagers driving while intoxicated. 

A fully developed GDL system has three stages: a minimum supervised learner’s period, an 
intermediate license (once the driving test is passed) that limits unsupervised driving in high-risk 
situations, and a full-privilege driver’s license available after completion of the first two stages. 
Beginners must remain in each of the first two stages for set minimum time periods. 

The learner’s stage has three components: 

• Minimum age at which drivers can operate vehicles in the presence of parents, guardians, or 
other adults 

• Minimum holding periods during which learner’s permits must be held before drivers 
advance to the intermediate stage of the licensing process 

http://www.alcoholpolicy.niaaa.nih.gov/



