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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 21st 
Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255). The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.” As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), chaired by Miriam 
Delphin-Rittmon, Ph.D., the Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). 

Time Period Covered by this State Report: This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2020 and 2021. Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available 
federal survey data as of 2020. State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2021. State 
survey data, collected in 2021, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states 
maintained the data.  

Source of Data: For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data. Data 
about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about past-
month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2017 through 2020 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), SAMHSA’s Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality 
(CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis (2021). Confidence intervals for these estimates are 
available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance and Data Collection on request. The Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related Disease Impact (ARDI) application (updated May 
2022) served as the resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths from 2015–2019 among youth 
under age 21. ARDI was also the source for state-level data on years of potential life lost as a result of 
underage alcohol-related fatalities. The National Center for Statistics and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis 
Reporting System (FARS) provided the 2020 data used to present statistics about fatalities among 15- 
to 20-year-old drivers. State legal policy data were obtained from the following sources: 1) the 
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism’s Alcohol Policy Information System (APIS) 
website (https://alcoholpolicy.niaaa.nih.gov/); 2) legal research planned and managed by the ICCPUD. 

Recommended Citation: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2022). 2022 Alabama State Report – 
Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD: SAMHSA.  
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Alabama 
State Population: 4,921,532 
Population Ages 12–20: 607,000  

   Past-Month Alcohol Use  
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 91,000 (15.0%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 50,000 (8.3%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 4,000 (2.3%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 1,000 (0.5%) 

Ages 15–17   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 27,000 (14.1%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 14,000 (7.3%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 60,000 (25.6%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 36,000 (15.2%) 

Adults Ages 21+   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – (Percentage) 1,707,000 (48.8%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – (Percentage) 835,000 (23.9%) 

Average Age of Initiation  
Average Age of Initiation  16.4 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths and Years of Potential Life Lost Under the Age of 211 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 87 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 4,938 
Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%2 

Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With BAC > 0.01% 18 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver 14% 
 

 
1 The Alcohol-Related Disease Impact Application was updated May 2022 to reflect new methodology for calculating the 
average annual alcohol-attributable deaths, and it reflects national and state annual averages from 2015–2019. 
2 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are rounded to the 
nearest whole number; however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded estimates and may not equal 
those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of components due to independent rounding. 
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Behavioral Health and Substance Abuse Service System1 
The Alabama Department of Mental Health (ADMH) was established by Alabama Acts 1965, 
No. 881, Section 22-50-2. A cabinet-level state government agency, ADMH has the authority to 
act in any prudent way to provide mental health and intellectual disability services for the people 
of Alabama. Act 881 defines “mental health services” as the diagnosis of, treatment of, 
rehabilitation for, follow-up care of, prevention of and research into the causes of all forms of 
mental or emotional illnesses, including but not limited to, alcoholism, drug addiction, or 
epilepsy in combination with mental illness or intellectual disability.  
 
ADMH is comprised of three unique divisions: (1) Administration, (2) Intellectual Disabilities, 
and (3) Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services. Each division operates under the direction 
and control of its own Associate Commissioner who is appointed by and reports directly to the 
ADMH Commissioner. The Commissioner reports directly to the Governor. A Board of 
Trustees, appointed by the Governor, serves in an advisory capacity to the Commissioner. 
 
Among its designated powers, ADMH is authorized to plan, supervise, coordinate, and establish 
standards for all operations and activities of the State of Alabama, including the provision of 
services, related to intellectual disability and mental health. ADMH’s two service divisions, the 
Intellectual Disabilities Division and the Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services Division 
have primary responsibility for accomplishment of these tasks.  
 
ADMH is designated as the single state agency (SSA) in Alabama authorized to receive and 
administer any and all funds available from any source to support the provision of services and 
other activities within the scope of its statutory authority. This responsibility includes receipt and 
administration of the Mental Illness and Substance Abuse Block Grants provided by the 
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). ADMH’s decision to 
submit separate SAMHSA block grant applications for mental illness and substance use services, 
respectively, for FY 22 – FY 23 allows for more realistic planning based upon currently 
identified needs, than does submission of a combined application that plans for a behavioral 
health division that remains under development. 
 
Organization of Substance Abuse Service Delivery System 

Act 881 grants ADMH statutory responsibility for operation and regulation of Alabama’s public 
substance abuse service delivery system. Specific responsibilities, as implemented through the 
Division of Mental Illness and Substance Abuse Services (the Division), include:  
 
• Planning, development, coordination, and management of a comprehensive system of 

prevention, treatment and recovery support services for individuals adversely impacted by, or 
with the potential to be adversely impacted, by alcohol, tobacco, and/or other drug use; 

• Resource solicitation, development, and dissemination; 

 
1 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2022/2023 – (Alabama) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG), CSAP, Division of State Programs, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, 
Division of State and Community Assistance: Section II: Planning Steps, One. Assess the strengths and needs of the service 
system to address the specific populations.  
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• Funding solicitation, receipt, and allocation; 
• Contracting for service delivery and contract compliance monitoring;  
• Development of program certification regulations, and management and implementation of a 

regulatory review process; 
• Development and dissemination of best practice guidelines for prevention, treatment, and 

recovery support services; 
• Collaboration with state and local government and community-based organizations to 

support fulfillment of its statutory responsibilities; 
• Protection of patient rights, confidentiality, and privacy; and 
• Collaboration with service recipients and advocates to support systems improvements and 

enhanced service outcomes. 
 
ADMH does not operate any substance abuse prevention, treatment, or recovery support 
programs or directly provide any related services. The agency has established the State’s public 
system of services through the execution of contractual agreements with eighty-six (86) 
community based private and public entities located throughout Alabama. Each of these 
organizations receives funds from ADMH to provide one (1) or more of fifteen (15) levels of 
care that together, compose the state’s treatment service continuum, funds to provide one or 
more of the six (6) primary preventions strategies, and/or funds to provide recovery support 
services. ADMH also certifies fifteen (15) other providers with which there is no contractual 
relationship.  
 
The SABG provided by SAMHSA is the primary funding source for Alabama’s public system of 
substance abuse services. In addition, state funding is provided by the Alabama State Legislature. 
Utilizing ADMH as the payment conduit, the Alabama Medicaid Agency also makes available 
reimbursement to qualified provider organizations for services delivered to eligible Medicaid 
beneficiaries. These services are reimbursable through Medicaid’s nonemergency transportation 
and rehabilitation option programs. For all three funding sources, providers are reimbursed by 
ADMH on a fee for service basis. 
 
Primary Prevention Services 

As noted above, ADMH does not operate substance abuse prevention programs, or directly 
provide any related services. The agency currently enlists the services of twenty-three (23) 
certified prevention programs across the state in this regard. ADMH has established the state’s 
public system of services through the execution of contractual agreements with these private and 
public entities located throughout Alabama and include representation of all four-substance 
abuse regional planning areas.  
 
ADMH utilizes twenty percent (20%) of its SABG allocation for the provision of prevention 
services for individuals who do not require treatment for substance use disorders. Contractors are 
required to:  
a) Educate and counsel individuals on substance abuse. 
b) Provide for activities to reduce the risk of such abuse by the individuals. 
c) Give priority to populations that are at risk of developing a pattern of such abuse and develop 

community-based strategies for prevention of such abuse, including strategies to discourage 
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the use of alcoholic beverages and tobacco products by individuals to whom it is unlawful to 
sell or distribute such beverages or products. 

d) Use funds provided for the provision of comprehensive primary prevention programs that 
include activities and services provided in a variety of settings for both the general 
population, as well as targeting sub-groups who are at high risk for substance abuse. 

e) Identify the type of target population for service provision based on the Institute of Medicine 
categories: Universal, Selective, or Indicated. 

f) Use a variety of strategies, as appropriate for each target group, including but not limited to 
the following (1) information dissemination; (2) education; (3) alternative programs; (4) 
problem identification and referral; (5) community-based process; (6) environmental. 

 
The majority of ADMH provided prevention funding is directed towards environmental, 
community-based processes, and alternative activities. A minimum of 50 percent of the 
contractor’s ADMH SABG provided funding must be expended for implementation of 
environmental strategies. All strategies must also incorporate the utilization of evidenced-based 
programs from the Evidence-based Practices Resource Center. 
 
Youth Services 

ADMH certifies eighteen (18) adolescent substance use disorder treatment. Youth between the 
ages of 13-18 who meet DSM-V criteria are eligible for treatment services. These treatment 
providers offer services for youth that engage the patient and family in recovery efforts. 
Treatment addresses the patient’s psychosocial needs along with the substance use disorder. 
Treatment approaches are evidenced based and modalities include residential and outpatient 
programs with varying intensities to meet patient needs. Services include family, group, 
individual counseling as well as educational sessions and other support services such as case 
management and peer support. Adolescent services also include in-home and school-based 
counseling when appropriate. Treatment providers are expected to have formal linkages with 
other community social service entities for referrals to ensure that individualized needs are being 
addressed.  
 

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through SABG funds 
administered by SAMHSA. Exhibit 1 shows the sources that Alabama used for expenditures on 
substance abuse prevention and treatment in 2021. As indicated, SABG funds and state funds 
account for the largest sources (37.0 percent and 22.3 percent, respectively).2  
 
States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures. For FY 2022-2023, Alabama designated the 
prevention of underage drinking as the number one priority for use of SABG funds.3 
  

 
2 WebBGAS State Profile, 2021 SABG and Community Mental Health Block Grant (MHBG) Reports – Alabama 2021. 
3 FY 2022/2023 – (Alabama) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, Center for 
Substance Abuse Treatment, Division of State and Community Assistance: Table 1: Priority Areas and Annual Performance 
Indicators. 
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Exhibit 1: Sources of Alabama’s 2021 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
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State Performance: Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 
As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details Alabama’s performance in enacting, enforcing, 
and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  
The following sections address these measures: 
 
State Laws and Policies: These underage drinking prevention policies have been identified as 
best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into six 
categories:  

• underage possession or purchase of alcohol 
• underage drinking and driving  
• alcohol availability  
• sales and delivery to consumers at home  
• alcohol pricing  
• enforcement policies  

  
STOP Act State Survey Data: The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 states 
and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, 
regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking. Administered since 2011, the 
STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics:  

• enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and 
regulations 

• programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking 
• state interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice 

standards, collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking 
media campaigns  

• state expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking 
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Underage Possession or Purchase of Alcohol 
Alabama Underage Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is 

present or consents? 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
 
Alabama-Underage Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is consumption allowed if parent or guardian 

is present or consents? 
• Is consumption allowed if spouse is present or 

consents? 

 
 
No 
 
No 

Is there an exception based on location? No 
 
Alabama-Underage Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic 
beverages prohibited? 

No law 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships?  
• Is internal possession allowed if parent or 

guardian is present or consents? 
• Is internal possession allowed if spouse is 

present or consents? 

 
 
N/A 
 
N/A 

Is there an exception based on location? NA 
 

Alabama-Underage Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages 
prohibited? 

Yes 

May youth purchase for law enforcement 
purposes? 

Yes 

 
Alabama-Underage False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s 
driver’s license suspension? 

Yes, through a judicial process 

Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
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Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false 
ID prohibited?  

No 

Is the production of a false ID in the context of 
underage alcohol sales specifically prohibited?  

No 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use 
electronic scanners for information digitally 
encoded on valid IDs?  

No 

Do state statutes or regulations mandate that 
state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 be 
easily distinguishable from licenses for persons 
21 and over? 

No 

May the retailer seize apparently false IDs 
without fear of prosecution even if the ID is 
ultimately deemed valid? 

No 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?  No 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer 

reasonably believed ID was valid after 
examining it)? 

N/A 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer 
reasonably believed purchaser was over 21)? 

N/A 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor 
for use of a false ID? 

No 

May the retailer detain a minor who used a false 
ID?  

No 

 
Underage Drinking and Driving 

Alabama-Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor 
Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) limit for an underage driver 
of a motor vehicle? 

0.02 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically 
establish a violation (per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit 
applies? 

0 

What is the maximum age to which the limit 
applies? 

21 

 
Alabama-Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or 
revokes a minor’s driving privileges for alcohol 
violations? 

Yes 

What types of violation lead to license 
suspension or revocation? 

 

• Purchase of alcohol Yes 
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• Possession of alcohol Yes 
• Consumption of alcohol Yes 
The law applies to people under what age? 21 
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or 
discretionary? 

Mandatory 

What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days 90 
Maximum number of days 180 

 
Alabama-Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

15 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

6 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

0 with driver education; 50 hours without 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

Midnight 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

Yes 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes, no more than one passenger who is not a 
parent, guardian, family member or person at 
least 21 years of age. 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

Yes 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

17 

 
Alcohol Availability 

Alabama-Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors 
prohibited? 

Yes 

Are there exceptions based on family 
relationships? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian 

supplies the alcohol? 
• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies 

the alcohol? 

 
 
No 
 
No 
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Is there an exception based on location? No 
Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated 
of furnishing to a minor if the minor has not been 
charged? 

No 

 
Alabama-Responsible Beverage Service (RBS)—Voluntary 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage 
Service Training?  

Yes, voluntary 

If training is mandatory, who must participate?  N/A 
If training is voluntary, which of the following 
incentives are offered? 

 

• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits No 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, 

license fees, or other  
No 

• Mitigation of fines or other administrative 
penalties for sales to minors or intoxicated 
persons 

Yes 

• Protection against license revocation for sales 
to minors or sales to intoxicated persons 

Yes 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises 
establishments (such as bars and restaurants) or 
off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?  

Both 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing 
licensees?  

Both 

 
Alabama-Minimum Ages for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-
premises retail establishments? 

 

Beer None 
Wine None 
Spirits 21 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

Yes 

Notes: A minor employee of an off-premises retail licensee may handle, transport, or sell beer or 
table wine, provided there is an adult employee in attendance at all times. 

 
Alabama-Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and 
Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for 
servers in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 19 
Wine 19 
Spirits 19 
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What is the minimum age requirement for 
bartenders in on-premises establishments? 

 

Beer 21 
Wine 21 
Spirits 21 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present 
when an underage person is selling beverages? 

Yes 

 
Alabama-Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and 
Primary and Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

No  

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

N/A 

Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises 
outlets (i.e., liquor stores)? 

No 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises 
outlets (i.e., restaurants and bars)? 

No 

To which alcohol products does requirement 
apply? 

N/A 

 
Alabama-Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

No 

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No 
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

No 

Does common law dram shop liability exist? No 
 

Alabama-Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

No 

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No 
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

No 

Does common law social host liability exist? No 
 

Alabama-Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking 
parties? 

Yes 
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Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a 
general prohibition against permitting underage 
drinking on the property? 

Specific 

What action by underage guest triggers a 
violation? 

Possession and consumption 

Property type covered by the law? Residential/other 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? Knowledge (Host must have actual knowledge of 

party) 
Does host’s preventive action protect him/her 
from being held liable? 

Yes 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? No 
Notes: Alabama's provision requires that the adult social host be in attendance at the gathering or 
party in order for a violation to occur. The "preventive action" provision in Alabama requires the 
prosecution to prove that the host failed to take preventive action. 

 
Alabama-Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? No law 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or 
unlabeled keg and if so, what is the penalty? 

No law 

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

No law 

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? No law 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name 
and address on license or other government 
information? 

No law 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg 
will be consumed? 

No law 

Must warning information be given to purchaser? No law 
Is a deposit required? No law 
Does law cover disposable kegs? No law 

 

Alabama-High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

No; however, this state is a control state, and 
control states may impose additional restrictions 
on the sale of products that are not reflected in 
statute or regulation. 

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

N/A  

Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A 
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Sales and Delivery to Consumers at Home 
Alabama-Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending 
interstate shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Prohibited  
Wine Prohibited 
Spirits Prohibited 

 
Alabama-Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to 
consumers? 

No 

What alcohol types may be shipped? N/A 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to 
producer before delivery is authorized? 

N/A 

Age verification requirements  
Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age 
before sale? 

N/A 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of 
recipients? 

N/A 

State approval/permit requirements  
Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state 
license or permit? 

N/A 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) be 
approved by a state agency? 

N/A 

Recording/reporting requirements  
Must the producer/manufacturer record/report 
purchaser’s name? 

N/A 

Must the common carrier (deliverer) 
record/report recipient’s name? 

N/A 

Shipping label requirements  
Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? N/A  
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years 
old”? 

N/A 

 
Alabama-Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer Prohibited  
Wine Prohibited  
Spirits Prohibited 
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Alabama-Direct to Consumer 
Is there a policy allowing on-premises retailers to 
deliver alcohol to a consumer at home? 

Yes 

Which on-premises retailers can provide delivery 
of alcoholic beverages? 

• Restaurant 
• Bar license 
• Third party license 

 
 
Yes, with state permit 
No 
Yes, with state permit 

Which types of alcohol are permitted to be 
delivered? 

• Beer 
• Wine 
• Spirits 
• Mixed Drinks 

 
 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 
No 

Requirements and Restrictions   
Are there restrictions in place addressing details 
of the delivery? 

• Hours limited 
• Amount of alcohol limited 
• Food requirement 

 
 
No 
Yes 
Yes 

Are there certain requirements that the delivery 
person must meet? 

• Must be 21 
• Must check ID at point of delivery 
• Must receive payment regardless of 

delivery completion 

 
 
Yes 
Yes 
Yes 

Notes: In any single 24-hour period, the following alcohol quantities are limited: beer, 1440 ounces 
(120 12oz bottles); draft beer, 288 ounces; wine, 9,000 milliliters (12 750mL bottles); and distilled 
spirits, 375 milliliters. 

 
Alcohol Pricing 

Alabama-Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $1.05 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
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If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if 
applicable 

 

Wine  
Control system for wine? Yes 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol 
wine 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

Not relevant 

• General sales tax rate  

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

Not relevant 

• General sales tax rate  
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• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if 
applicable 

 

Spirits  
Control system for spirits? Yes 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol 
spirits 

Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

Not relevant 

• General sales tax rate  

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on 
total receipts for 40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable)  
Retail tax rate (if applicable)  
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption 
from general sales tax? 

Not relevant 

• General sales tax rate  

• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax 
minus the general sales tax, where there is an 
exemption from the general sales tax) 

 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if 
applicable 

 

 
Alabama-Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from 
offering the following types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  No 
Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving Yes 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., 
happy hours) 

Restricted (Permitted 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.) 
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Unlimited beverages for fixed price No 
Increased volume without increase in price No 

 
Alabama-Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No  

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

No  

Spirit Control System 
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? N/A 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup 
or maximum discount for each product sold to 
retailers? 

N/A 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not 
reduce) prices for a set period of time? 

N/A  

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to 
retailer and if so, what is the maximum time 
period? 

N/A  

 

Enforcement Policies 
Alabama-Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when 
an underage decoy is used in compliance checks? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

Not specified 
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What is the maximum age a decoy may be to 
participate in a compliance check? 

Not specified 

Are there appearance requirements for the 
decoy? 

No 

Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? Not specified 
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual 
age?  

Prohibited 

Is decoy training mandated, recommended, 
prohibited, or not specified? 

Mandated 

 
Alabama-Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

Yes 

What is the time period for defining second, 
third, and subsequent offenses? 

Four years 

What is the penalty for the first offense? $100 to $1,000 fine 
What is the penalty for the second offense? $100 to $1,000 fine 
What is the penalty for the third offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? N/A 
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Alabama State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws No 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors Not applicable 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Not applicable 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies 741 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 09/30/2020 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine whether 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 10,366 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 5,556 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 256 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 09/30/2020 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both retail 
establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy operations N/A 
Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks N/A 

Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 126 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $271,800 
Smallest fine imposed $500 
Largest fine imposed $1,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2020 
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State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 9 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 606 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 3 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 365 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2020 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2020 

Additional Clarification   
No data 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 

sales to minors. 
3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6 Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 
Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Drug Education Council  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  https://www.drugeduca

tion.org/ 
Program Description: Drug Education Council (DEC) is a voluntary, nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting 
a drug-free society, preventing chemical dependency, and providing quality education, information, and 
intervention programs. DEC is located in Mobile, Alabama, and it is certified in prevention services through the 
Alabama Department of Mental Health (ADMH). DEC uses three of the six Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 
(CSAP) strategies, to include information dissemination, community-based processes, and problem identification 
and referral. DEC’s target focus is high-risk youth in rural, urban, and suburban communities. The council provides 
an array of prevention services and community service activities to youth through evidence-based programming 
for universal populations. DEC provides information dissemination with a focus on the “Talk. They Hear You.” 
campaign. DEC promotes community-based processes by focusing on coalition-building and stakeholder activities 
to include youth-adult partnerships addressing community issues; needs assessments and resource assessments; 
community and volunteer training; multiagency coordination and collaboration/coalition; community team-
building activities; and coalitions, collaborations and/or wellness teams, town hall meetings, and coalition 
meetings. DEC incorporates the problem identification and referral strategy by utilizing the “Staying Connected 
with Your Teen” program. 
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Treatment Center, Inc.  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  https://adatc.org/ 

https://www.drugeducation.org/
https://adatc.org/
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Program Description: Alcohol and Drug Abuse Treatment Center, Inc. (ADATC) is a certified prevention provider 
located in Birmingham, Alabama. ADATC utilizes four of the six CSAP strategies—education, environmental, 
community-based processes, and alternatives—to implement prevention services to high-risk youth. These 
services include coordinated efforts with the Boys and Girls Club, law enforcement, education, and Children's 
Policy Council. Strategies are implemented in a variety of mediums at various venues in the community, including 
“Too Good for Drugs and Violence” (an evidence-based curriculum), recreational and social events, town hall 
meetings, a youth prevention network of peer leaders/helpers, community service projects, and others. The 
environmental strategy focuses on compliance checks and the utilization of the “Parents Who Host, Lose the 
Most” campaign for all five counties served. 
Aletheia House  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  https://www.specialkin

dofcaring.org/ 
Program Description: Aletheia House (AH) is a community-based organization committed to empowering 
individuals and the communities in which they live with the skills and services they need to become responsible for 
their own well-being. AH is certified as a substance abuse prevention provider by ADMH and provides prevention 
services to youth in the Birmingham area (considered urban), as well as Macon County (considered rural). AH 
utilizes education, alternative, and community-based process strategies to implement its prevention programs. AH 
uses the evidence-based Positive Action curriculum to deliver prevention programs during summer programs. 
Alternative strategies are implemented by providing a summer camp for youth, recognition events, culturally 
based activities, and intergenerational events that promote positive family and community interaction. AH 
anticipates serving approximately 100 youth through these efforts. Signature youth prevention programming 
includes Kids Who Care. The community-based process strategy is allowing for the creation of a “Teens Who Care” 
group and the organization of town hall meetings. It is anticipated that 40 teens will be recruited for Teens Who 
Care. 
The Mountain Lakes Behavioral Healthcare Substance Abuse Prevention Program  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  https://www.mlbhcweb

page.com/ 
Program Description: The Mountain Lakes Behavioral Healthcare (MLBH) Substance Abuse Prevention Program 
focuses on utilizing the Too Good for Drugs curriculum with fifth grade students. MLBH is certified by ADMH to 
deliver prevention services. MLBH implements four of the six CSAP strategies: Education is implemented using the 
Too Good for Drugs evidence-based curriculum to fifth graders in Jackson and Marshall Counties. Alternative 
strategies are implemented with students receiving prevention education through MLBH. The community-based 
process strategy is designed to create a subcommittee through the Children’s Policy Council. The environmental 
strategy focuses on school policy and DUI checkpoints and utilizes the “Talk. They Hear You.” campaign and the 
“Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over” campaign. 
Wellstone Behavioral Health  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 

https://www.specialkindofcaring.org/
https://www.mlbhcwebpage.com/
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Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  https://www.wellstone.

com/ 
Program Description: Wellstone is certified by ADMH to provide prevention services. Located in Huntsville, 
Alabama, Wellstone primarily serves the residents of Madison County in northern Alabama. Since merging with 
Mental Healthcare of Cullman, prevention programming also extends to Cullman County. It implements three of 
the six CSAP strategies in Cullman County to include information dissemination, environmental, and community-
based processes.  
 
Wellstone has established partnerships with the following agencies: Wallace State Community College, Cullman 
County Sheriff Office, Cullman County Police Department, Hanceville Police Department, Cullman County Coroner, 
The Bridge Adolescent Treatment Center, Cullman County Department of Human Resources, Cullman City and 
County Schools, coalitions, advocacy organizations, media, local churches, and businesses. In Cullman County, 
prevention programming is located on the campus of Wallace State Community College in Hanceville, Alabama. 
Prevention resources are available to all students and faculty Monday through Friday. The office provides a relaxed 
environment that promotes healthy peer interactions while providing information about the risks of alcohol/drug 
use and abuse. Through this program, the prevention coordinator has the opportunity to build and establish 
healthy relationships with students and coordinate efforts with campus police. The overall goal is to reduce 
underage drinking. The prevention coordinator works with campus law enforcement and the administration to 
collect data on related incidents and reviews infractions with campus police to identify areas to increase, enhance, 
or implement further prevention efforts. The goals related to the community-based process strategy include the 
creation of a community coalition and community needs assessment. The environmental strategy incorporates 
countywide DUI checkpoints. 
Agency for Substance Abuse Prevention  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  https://asaprev.com/ 

Program Description: The Agency for Substance Abuse Prevention (ASAP) is dedicated to strengthening 
community awareness through substance abuse education and prevention services provided to individuals, 
schools, industry, and affected individuals and families residing in the State of Alabama. ASAP implements four of 
the six CSAP strategies to include environmental, community-based processes, education, and alternatives. The 
agency also utilizes community events as additional forums. In addition, ASAP plans to focus on community 
planning for prevention efforts by the establishment of a subcommittee. The evidence-based program, “Mendez 
Too Good for Drugs,” targets fifth through eighth graders in the Anniston City and Calhoun County area as an 
educational strategy. Alternative strategies include summer activities at the following locations: Tenth Street 
Elementary; Boys and Girls Clubs: Norwood Community Center, Constantine Community Center, and Glen Addie 
Community Center. The summer enrichment activities include the implementation of recreational activities, 
community service, prevention board games, etc. organized and lead by ASAP. ASAP uses the environmental 
strategy through its coordination with law enforcement to identify "hot spots" in targeted geographic areas and 
initiate prevention initiatives and activities to prevent underage drinking and raise community awareness. 
Northwest Alabama Mental Health Center  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 

https://www.wellstone.com/
https://asaprev.com/
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Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.nwamhc.co

m/ 
Program Description: Northwest Alabama Mental Health Center (NWAMHC) is certified by ADMH to provide 
prevention services. NWAMHC uses five of the six CSAP strategies, including education, alternatives, community-
based processes, environmental, and problem identification and referral to address underage drinking prevention. 
NWAMHC uses various community events and venues to provide information, including student-designed 
materials, such as health fairs, Sober Prom activities, and kids promotional week. Too Good For Drugs is the 
evidence-based curriculum used in county schools, along with after-school and summer programs. Youth 
participating in educational programs are provided opportunities to participate in alternative activities in 
classroom sessions, after school, and during the summer. Problem identification and referral utilizes the “Project 
Toward No Drugs” and "Alcohol Literacy" curricula. Community-based processes focus on community needs 
assessments and other collaborative efforts with community stakeholders. NWAMHC Prevention intends to 
collaborate with Colbert County Children's Policy Council and other community partner agencies for community 
events, capacity building, and networking. Environmental strategies consist of working with the ALEA in Walker 
County to increase compliance checks. Past efforts in this area resulted in significant reduction in purchase of 
alcohol by minors as reported by the ABC Board. 
East Alabama Mental Health Center  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://eamhc.org/ 

Program Description: East Alabama Mental Health Center (EAMHC) is certified by ADMH to provide prevention 
services. Located in Opelika, Alabama, it provides an array of prevention services through education, alternatives, 
and environmental prevention strategies. EAMHC is active and present in the community and assists with multiple 
community service projects. EAMHC utilizes Too Good for Drugs as an educational curriculum with high school 
students. EAMHC’s environmental strategy is to work on school policy and implement the “Talk. They Hear You.” 
campaign. EAMHC Prevention services also worked with community stakeholders to develop and implement a 
campaign to recognize vendors that are compliant in refusing to serve underage customers (i.e., compliance 
window clings, signs, posters, etc.). The recognition campaign aimed to encourage other vendors to refuse to sell 
to minors. 
Altapointe Health Systems  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  https://altapointe.org/ 

Program Description: Altapointe Health Systems is certified by ADMH and serves Baldwin County. Altapointe 
implements the information dissemination strategy to address underage drinking. The information dissemination 
strategy includes the distribution of the 2020 ID Checking guides to vendors and law enforcement and a media 
campaign that will be geofenced in the beach communities and run during the peak beach times of summer and 
spring break. 
Mental Health Center of North Central Alabama/Quest Recovery Center  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 

http://www.nwamhc.com/
http://eamhc.org/
https://altapointe.org/
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Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  https://www.mhcnca.or

g/ 
Program Description: Mental Health Center (MHC) of North Central Alabama/Quest Recovery Center is located in 
Decatur, Alabama, and is certified by ADMH to provide prevention services. MHC implements four of the six CSAP 
strategies to address underage drinking. Too Good for Drugs and Violence is the educational curriculum utilized 
within the school system and community boys and girls clubs. Community-based processes aim to meet with 
community leaders, community stakeholders, and agency representatives to plan and implement prevention 
strategies throughout the community. Alternative strategies include community service activities, crafts, games, 
and physical activities at the Limestone County Boys and Girls Club during the school year and summer breaks. 
Environmental strategies include addressing the compliance rate through compliance checks and the media 
campaign Parents Who Host, Lose the Most. 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Council on Substance Abuse-National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependency (COSA-NCADD) is a private 
nonprofit organization founded in 1973 to promote the understanding that dependence on alcohol and other 
drugs is a preventable and treatable disease. COSA is the state affiliate of the NCADD and is a member of the 
Community Anti-Drug Coalition of America (CADCA). COSA is certified by ADMH, serving Montgomery (considered 
urban) and primary Black Belt areas (considered rural). COSA implements four of the six CSAP strategies to include 
community-based processes, alternatives, education, and environmental prevention. Activities include the 
implementation of the LifeSkills curriculum with elementary and high school students, creation of a student 
organization to provide peer prevention awareness that addresses young adult problems regarding drinking and 
underage/binge drinking, and drug-free recreational activities and school policy initiation. To support the school 
policy initiation, two underage drinking campaigns serve as the focus: “Let’s Talk Prevention” and “5 Bees of 
Success.” (https://cosancadd.org/)  
 
SpectraCare Health Systems comprises a team of dynamic individuals who take pride in promoting physical and 
emotional health and wellness. Certified by ADMH, SpectraCare provides prevention services and implements four 
of the six CSAP strategies: environmental, information dissemination, education, and problem identification and 
referral. Prevention activities are designed to provide education and increase awareness among individuals and 
communities to promote choices that lead to healthy living. Comprehensive, evidence-based prevention activities 
are available to provide the tools necessary for healthy living. Services are provided in Barbour, Dale, Geneva, 
Henry, and Houston counties. Underage drinking prevention activities include the utilization of Ripple Effects and 
Active Parenting evidence-based curricula to support the problem identification and educational strategies and the 
implementation of the Parents Who Host, Lose the Most campaign. The campaign also serves as support to the 
environmental strategies that include school policy initiation and DUI checkpoints. 
(http://www.spectracare.org/our-services/community-services/prevention-services)  
 
Parents Resource Institute Drug Education (PRIDE) of Tuscaloosa is certified by ADMH, serving Bibb, Pickens, 
Tuscaloosa, Sumter, Marengo, Hale, Greene, and Choctaw Counties. PRIDE implements all six CSAP strategies, to 
include environmental, community-based processes, information dissemination, alternatives, education, and 
problem identification and referral. PRIDE remains the only community-based nonprofit organization in the 
Tuscaloosa area that is dedicated to drug and alcohol prevention, education, and awareness. PRIDE implements 
strategies to address underage drinking and binge drinking through provision of services to students ages 18-25 in 
the community college system. Educational and alternative strategies are provided within Pickens County to 
address ages 12-18. PRIDE continues to attain goals within the community by forming partnerships with Shelton 
State Community College, the University of Alabama, the Tuscaloosa County District Attorney's Office, the West 
Alabama Narcotics Task Force, the Tuscaloosa Police Department, the County Sheriff's Office, the Northport Police 
Department, the Children's Policy Council, the Tuscaloosa Mental Health Alliance, the West Alabama Chamber of 
Commerce, and multiple community organizations. Problem identification and referral strategy is in coordination 

https://www.mhcnca.org/
https://cosancadd.org/
http://www.spectracare.org/our-services/community-services/prevention-services
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with the juvenile justice programs in Greene and Tuscaloosa counties. Additional strategy implementation includes 
a media campaign, establishment of a subcommittee through the Children’s Policy Council, and school policy 
initiation. In addition, collaboration with local police departments to increase patrols around bars and areas known 
for high alcohol consumption in those ages 18-25 resulted in a 5 percent decrease in DUIs 
(http://www.prideoftuscaloosa.org/).  
 
South Central Alabama Mental Health Center (SCAMHC) is certified by ADMH and provides prevention services in 
Butler, Coffee, Covington, and Crenshaw counties. SCAMHC utilizes four prevention strategies to address underage 
drinking. These strategies include education, alternatives, community-based processes, problem identification and 
referral, and environmental. The educational strategy provides Mental Health First Aid (MHFA) to community 
members and Too Good for Drugs to fifth-eighth grade students. Students participating in the educational strategy 
also participate in the alternative program, which is delivered in an after-school setting that is inclusive of 
substance-free activities. SCAMHC employs the environmental strategy through the collaboration with local law 
enforcement to provide DUI checkpoints and the promotion of the “Underage Under Arrest” campaign. The 
problem identification and referral strategy is in coordination with the juvenile justice programs in Coffee and 
Covington counties. In addition, SCAMHC aims to establish a subcommittee focusing on alcohol and other 
substances through the Children’s Policy Council. (https://www.scamhc.org/)  
 
Cherokee, Etowah, and Dekalb Mental Health Center (CED MHC) is certified by ADMH and provides prevention 
services in Cherokee, Etowah, and Dekalb counties. CED MHC implements the problem identification and referral 
strategy in Dekalb county utilizing "Project Magic" to address underage drinking in coordination with Dekalb Youth 
Services and the juvenile court system. (https://cedmentalhealth.org/substance-abuse-prevention/) 
Additional Clarification  
No data 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

No 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program: ADMH currently certifies 24 community organizations to 
provide substance use prevention services and contracts with 16* providers covering 
all 67 counties throughout Alabama. Fifteen of the contracted providers currently 
receive Block Grant funds; three are state-funded; two are subrecipients of State 
Prevention Framework Partnerships for Success (SPF PFS) discretionary grant funds 
implementing services in eight counties; four are funded through the Strategic 
Prevention Framework for Prescription Drugs (SPF Rx); ten are funded through the 
State Opioid Response (Opioid SOR); and four are funded through the Overdose Data 
to Action funding opportunities. *Note: Some agencies are multifunded grant initiative 
awardees. 

Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 
Federal campaigns: “Talk. They Hear You.” (SAMHSA); Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over Yes 
Regional and local media campaigns: 5 Bees of Success; Let’s Talk Prevention; Under 
Age Under Arrest; It's 21 For A Reason; Champions Are Made When No One Is 
Watching" 

Yes 

Local school district efforts:  No 
Other: Parents Who Host, Lose the Most Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” 

Yes 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts No 
State commits state resources for TTHY No 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Yes 

http://www.prideoftuscaloosa.org/
https://www.scamhc.org/
https://cedmentalhealth.org/substance-abuse-prevention/
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Other:  No 
State procures funding for TTHY No data 

Pro bono No data 
Donated air time No data 
Earned media No data 
Other:  No data 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies): SAMHSA/CSAP/SPF 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: Alabama Department of Mental Health Substance Abuse 
Prevention Standards 

Yes 

Nongovernmental agency(ies):  No 
Other: Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center Yes 
Best practice standards description: To ensure compliance, all certified agencies are provided training on the 
SPF Model and must utilize this model in the development of their prevention plans. All providers must adhere 
to State Prevention Standards, which include standards for personnel, performance improvement, 
documentation, and prevention records, and community planning and definitions. Strategy implementation 
must encompass use of evidence-based programs and practices. 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Brandon Folks 
Email: brandon.folks@mh.alabama.gov 
Address: 100 North Union Street, RSA Suite 420, Montgomery, AL, 36130 
Phone: 334-242-3230 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration  
Department of Justice 
Agency for Substance Abuse Prevention 
Alabama Department of Corrections 
Alabama State Department of Education 
Auburn University at Montgomery  
Drug Education Council  
Alabama Department of Human Resources  
Alabama Department of Public Health 
Alabama State University 
University of Alabama Tuscaloosa  
COMPACT2020  
Healthy Sexual Solutions, LLC  
Family Guidance Center  
Addiction Prevention Coalition  
Council on Substance Abuse  
Cherokee, Etowah, Dekalb Mental Health Center  
SpectraCare Health Systems  
Medical Advocacy and Outreach  
Franklin Primary Health Center, Inc.  
AIDS Alabama  
Alabama Children's Policy Council  
Mental Health Center of North Central Alabama  
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Alabama Administrative Office of Courts  
Parent Resource Institute for Drug Education  
Sylacauga Alliance for Family Enhancement 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access: https://mh.alabama.gov/division-of-mental-health-substance-abuse-
services/prevention/ 

Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by: ADMH, Office of Prevention, State Prevention Advisory Board, Alabama Epidemiological 
Outcomes Workgroup  
Plan can be accessed via: https://mh.alabama.gov/division-of-mental-health-substance-abuse-
services/prevention/ 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by: ADMH, Mental Health and Substance Services Division, Office of Prevention 
Report can be accessed via: https://mh.alabama.gov/division-of-mental-health-substance-abuse-
services/prevention/ 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included: Data not available 
Estimate of state funds expended:  Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending:  Data not available 

Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other: Not applicable No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 
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https://mh.alabama.gov/division-of-mental-health-substance-abuse-services/prevention/
https://mh.alabama.gov/division-of-mental-health-substance-abuse-services/prevention/
https://mh.alabama.gov/division-of-mental-health-substance-abuse-services/prevention/
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Additional Clarification  
Pertaining to expenditures for compliance checks: The cost of evidence for fiscal year 2020 was $2,129.11 and our 
minor op payments were $13,040.00 for the total of $15,169.11. Complete data on the use of state funds for 
underage drinking prevention are not available. State funding data are only available for the Division of Mental 
Health & Substance Abuse Services. Of the state funds received by this agency, $353,982 goes toward underage 
drinking prevention efforts through community programming and enforcement. 
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