




State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement:  Region 7 includes a report on each 
state in the region.  These State Reports are required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) 
Underage Drinking Act (Pub. L. 109-422), which was enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in 
December 2016 as part of the 21st Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255).  The STOP Act requires an 
annual report “on each State's performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and 
programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.”  As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports 
were prepared by the Interagency Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking 
(ICCPUD), which is chaired by the Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). 

In 2020, the State Reports for each of the ten HHS regions are being published together.  For more 
information about the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s (SAMHSA’s) 
efforts in each HHS region, go to https://www.samhsa.gov/about-us/who-we-are/regional-
administrators. 

Time Period Covered by these State Reports:  These State Reports primarily include data from 
calendar year 2019.  Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available 
federal survey data as of 2018.  State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2019.  State 
survey data, collected in 2019, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states 
maintained the data.   

Source of Data:  For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data.  
Data about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about 
past-month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2015 through 2018 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), SAMHSA’s Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality 
(CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis (2018).  Confidence intervals for these estimates are 
available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance and Data Collection on request.  The Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related Disease Impact (ARDI) application served as the 
resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths from 2006–10 among youth under age 21.  ARDI 
was also the source for state-level data on years of potential life lost as a result of underage alcohol-
related fatalities.  The National Center for Statistics and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System 
(FARS) provided the 2018 data used to present statistics about fatalities among 15-to 20-year-old 
drivers.   

Recommended Citation:  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). (2020). State Reports – Underage Drinking 
Prevention and Enforcement:  Region 7. Rockville, MD:  SAMHSA. 

 

Staff Chair and ICCPUD Point of Contact: 
Robert M. Vincent, MS.Ed 

Public Health Analyst 
SAMHSA’s Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) 

Division of Systems Development 
Phone:  (240) 276-1582 

Email:  Robert.Vincent@samhsa.hhs.gov 
 

Region 7 SAMHSA Regional Administrator: 
Kimberly Nelson, LAC, MPA 
601 E. 12th Street, Suite N250 

Kansas City, MO 64106 
Phone:  (816) 426-5291 

Email:  Kimberly.Nelson@samhsa.hhs.gov
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Contents:  Region 7 (Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska) 

As mandated by the STOP Act, the following state reports for Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and 
Nebraska detail each state’s performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, 
and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.   

A regional profile showing combined data on underage drinking is provided on the next page. 

Each state report contains: 

A. State population and underage alcohol consumption data; 

B. Summary of the state’s behavioral health and substance use prevention, treatment, and 
recovery systems, including expenditures for substance abuse prevention and 
treatment; 

C. State laws and policies:  These 26 underage drinking prevention policies have been 
identified as best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and 
fall into four categories:  

(1) Laws addressing minors in possession of alcohol;  

(2) Laws targeting underage drinking and driving;  

(3) Laws targeting alcohol suppliers; and  

(4) Laws affecting alcohol pricing.  

D. STOP Act State Survey data:  The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 
states and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating 
laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  Administered since 
2011, the STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics: 

 
(1) Enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and 

regulations; 
 

(2) Programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking; 
 

(3) State interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice 
standards, collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage 
drinking media campaigns; and 
 

(4) State expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking. 
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Region 7 

Region Population:  14,092,442 
Population Ages 12–20:  1,695,900 

   Past-Month Alcohol Use Among 12- to 20-Year-Olds 
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 345,900 (20.4%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 229,200 (13.5%) 

  
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths and Years of Potential Life Lost Under the Age of 21 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 215 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 13,003 
  
Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) > 0.01%1 

Number of Fatalities Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With BAC > 0.01 24 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver 56% 
 
  

 
1 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are 

rounded to the nearest whole number, however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded 
estimates and may not equal those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of 
components due to independent rounding. 
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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), which was enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 
21st Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255).  The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.”  As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), which is chaired by the 
Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS). 

Time Period Covered by this State Report:  This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2019.  Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available federal survey 
data as of 2018.  State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2019.  State survey data, 
collected in 2019, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states maintained the 
data.   

Source of Data:  For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data.  
Data about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about 
past-month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2015 through 2018 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), SAMHSA’s Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality 
(CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis (2018).  Confidence intervals for these estimates are 
available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance and Data Collection on request.  The Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related Disease Impact (ARDI) application served as the 
resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths from 2006–10 among youth under age 21.  ARDI 
was also the source for state-level data on years of potential life lost as a result of underage alcohol-
related fatalities.  The National Center for Statistics and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System 
(FARS) provided the 2018 data used to present statistics about fatalities among 15-to 20-year-old 
drivers.   

Recommended Citation:  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2020). 2020 Iowa State Report – Underage 
Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD:  SAMHSA.    

 

Staff Chair and Point of Contact, ICCPUD: 
Robert M. Vincent, MS.Ed 

Public Health Analyst 
SAMHSA’s Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) 

Division of Systems Development 
Phone:  (240) 276-1582 

Email:  Robert.Vincent@samhsa.hhs.gov 
 

Iowa Governor’s Designated Contact for STOP Act State Survey: 
Julie Hibben 

Project Director, Iowa Partnerships for Success Project 
Bureau of Substance Abuse, Division of Behavioral Health 

Phone:  (515) 725-7895 
Email:  julie.hibben@idph.iowa.gov
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Iowa 

State Population:  3,156,145 
Population Ages 12–20:  367,400 

   Past-Month Alcohol Use Among 12- to 20-Year-Olds 
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 76,300 (20.8%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 49,900 (13.6%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 3,900 (3.4%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 2,700 (2.4%) 

Ages 15–17   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 18,100 (14.0%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 9,100 (7.1%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 54,300 (44.1%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 38,100 (30.9%) 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths and Years of Potential Life Lost Under the Age of 21 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 32 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 1,962 
Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%1 

Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With BAC > 0.01% 9 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver 22% 

 
1 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are 

rounded to the nearest whole number, however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded 
estimates and may not equal those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of 
components due to independent rounding. 
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System of Care for Substance Use Disorders Overview2 
The Iowa Department of Public Health (IDPH) is the parent organization of the Division of 
Behavioral Health, the Single State Authority (SSA) for the Substance Abuse Prevention and 
Treatment Block Grant (SABG).  IDPH’s mission is “Promoting and Protecting the Health of 
Iowans.” 
 
The Division of Behavioral Health contracts with 18 community-based agencies to provide 
comprehensive substance abuse prevention in 23 geographic service areas.  The combined 
service areas encompass all 99 Iowa counties.  IDPH contracts with 23 treatment provider 
agencies to provide substance use disorder treatment services that cover all 99 Iowa counties 
through geographic service areas. 
 
The Division of Behavioral Health is comprised of two bureaus and three offices, staffed by 45 
full-time equivalents.  The bureaus and offices in the Division of Behavioral Health are: 
• Bureau of HIV, Sexually Transmitted Diseases, and Hepatitis. 
• Bureau of Substance Abuse. 
• Office of Disability, Injury, and Violence Prevention. 
• Office of Gambling Treatment and Prevention. 
• Office of Medical Cannabidiol. 
 
Division of Behavioral Health SSA duties, including the SABG, are implemented through the 
Bureau of Substance Abuse.  Additional grants and programs in the Bureau of Substance Abuse 
include, but are not limited to: 
• Access to Recovery (Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration 

[SAMHSA] ATR) 
• AmeriCorps Mentoring Program 
• Capacity Coach and Capacity Coach Support Services 
• Comprehensive Substance Abuse Primary Prevention (SAMHSA SABG) 
• Community Coalitions 
• County Substance Abuse Prevention 
• Culturally Competent Treatment Services (ended as separate program June 2017; 

incorporated into general substance use disorder treatment services) 
• Data Systems 
• Families in FOCUS (SAMHSA SYT-I) 
• Iowa SAFE Community Network 
• Iowa Youth Survey 
• Medication-Assisted Treatment (SAMHSA MAT PDOA) Opioid Treatment Programs 
• Partnerships for Success (PFS; SAMHSA) 
• Pregnant and Postpartum Women’s Grant (SAMHSA PPW) 
• Screening Brief Intervention and Referral to Treatment (SAMHSA SBIRT; ended June 2017) 
• State Epidemiological Workgroup 

 
2 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2018/2019 – (Iowa) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, SABG, Center 

for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP), Division of State Programs, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, 
Division of State and Community Assistance:  Planning Step One.  Assess the strengths and needs of the service 
system to address the specific populations.  
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• Strategic Prevention Rx grant (SAMHSA SPF-Rx) 
• State Targeted Response to the Opioid Crisis Grant (STR) 
• Substance Abuse Prevention Ethics Training 
• Substance Abuse Prevention Skills Training 
• Training and Workforce Development 
• Treatment Program Licensure and Regulation 
• Youth Development 
• Youth Mentoring 
• Youth Suicide Prevention (SAMHSA Garrett Lee Smith; ended December 2016, state 

funding continues) 
• Women and Children’s Programs (SAMHSA SABG) 
 
Comprehensive Substance Abuse Prevention 
Comprehensive substance abuse prevention services may be directed to all ages and populations 
not in need of direct treatment services.  Comprehensive prevention services maintain and 
advance public health activities, essential services, core public health functions, and strong 
relationships with community partners.  In State FY 2017, Comprehensive prevention agencies 
provided 23,930 direct service hours to 169,013 individuals. 
 
Iowa’s Comprehensive Substance Abuse Prevention services are based on a multi-strategy 
approach that incorporates all  six primary prevention strategies and that aims strategies at 
multiple populations including youth, adults, high-risk individuals, community coalitions, and 
workplaces.  All contracted providers have to address three  problem areas and one area must be 
about alcohol.  Contracted providers must meet required goals or results that: 
• Reduce consumption of alcohol by persons under 21 years of age. 
• Reduce binge consumption of alcohol by persons under 21 years of age. 
 

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through SABG funds 
administered by SAMHSA.  Exhibit 1 shows the sources that Iowa used for expenditures on 
substance abuse prevention and treatment in 2019.  As indicated, state funds and SABG funds 
account for the largest sources (49.4 percent and 30.2 percent, respectively).3  
 
States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures.  For FY 2018–2019, Iowa designated reducing 
underage drinking and youth binge drinking as priority number four for use of SABG funds.4 

 
  

 
3 WebBGAS State Profile, 2019 SABG and Community Mental Health Block Grant (MHBG) Reports – Iowa 2019. 
4 FY 2018/2019 – (Iowa) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 

(CSAP), Division of State Programs, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Division of State and Community 
Assistance:  Table 1:  Priority Areas and Annual Performance Indicators. 
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Exhibit 1:  Sources of Iowa’s 2019 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and 
Treatment 
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State Performance:  Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 
As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details Iowa’s performance in enacting, enforcing, 
and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  The 
following sections address these measures. 
 
State Laws and Policies:  These 26 underage drinking prevention policies have been identified 
as best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into four 
categories: 
1. Laws addressing minors in possession of alcohol; 
2. Laws targeting underage drinking and driving;  
3. Laws targeting alcohol suppliers; and 
4. Laws affecting alcohol pricing.  
 
STOP Act State Survey Data:  The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 
states and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating 
laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  Administered since 
2011, the STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics: 
1. Enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and regulations. 
2. Programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking. 
3. State interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice standards, 

collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking media 
campaigns. 

4. State expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage-Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages prohibited? Yes 
Are there exceptions based on family relationships?    
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is present or consents? Yes, in specified locations – see 

below 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or consents? No 
Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in any private residence if 

parent/guardian is present or 
consents 

 
Underage-Internal Possession 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages prohibited? No law 
Are there exceptions based on family relationships?    
• Is consumption allowed if the parent or guardian is present or 

consents? 
N/A 

• Is consumption allowed if the spouse is present or consents? N/A 
Is there an exception based on location? N/A 

 
Underage-Consumption 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic beverages prohibited? Yes 
Are there exceptions based on family relationships?    
• Is internal possession allowed if the parent or guardian is present 

or consents? 
Yes, in specified locations – see 
below 

• Is internal possession allowed if the spouse is present or consents? No 
Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in any private residence if 

parent/guardian is present or 
consents 

Notes:  Prior to July 1, 2014, Iowa law did not specifically prohibit consumption of alcohol by persons 
under 21, but only generally prohibited the use or consumption of alcohol by any person in a public 
place.  Iowa added a specific underage consumption prohibition beginning on July 1, 2014. 

 
Underage-Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages prohibited? Yes 
May youth purchase for law enforcement purposes? No 

 
Underage-False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s driver’s license 
suspension? 

Yes, through a judicial process 
and an administrative process 

Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false ID prohibited?   No 
Is the production of a false ID in the context of underage alcohol 
sales specifically prohibited?   

No 
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Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use electronic scanners for 
information digitally encoded on valid IDs?  

No 

Are state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 easily distinguishable 
from licenses for persons 21 and over? 

Yes 

May retailers seize apparently false IDs without fear of prosecution 
even if the ID is ultimately deemed valid? 

Yes 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?   Yes 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer reasonably believed ID 

was valid after examining it)? 
No 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer reasonably believed 
purchaser was over 21)? 

Yes 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor for use of a false 
ID? 

No 

May a retailer detain a minor who used a false ID?   No 
 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit for an 
underage driver of a motor vehicle? 

0.02% 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically establish a violation 
(per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit applies? Not specified 
What is the maximum age to which the limit applies? 21 

 
Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or revokes a minor’s driving 
privileges for alcohol violations? 

Yes 

What types of violation lead to license suspension or revocation?  
• Purchase of alcohol Yes 
• Possession of alcohol No 
• Consumption of alcohol Yes 
The law applies to people under what age? 18 
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or discretionary? Discretionary 
What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days 365 
Maximum number of days 365 

 
Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians, or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

14 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

12 
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What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians, or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

20 (2 of which must be at night) 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

12:30 AM 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

Yes, officer may stop driver for night driving 
violation 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes, no more than 1 unrelated minor passengers 
unless waived by the licensee's parent at time 
intermediate license is issued. 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

Yes, officer may stop driver for passenger 
restrictions violation 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

17 

Notes:  In addition to the supervised driving requirement at the learner's stage, Iowa requires an 
intermediate license holder to complete 10 hours of supervised driving with two of these hours being 
at night. 

 
Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors prohibited? Yes 
Are there exceptions based on family relationships?  
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian supplies the 

alcohol? 
Yes, in specified locations 

• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies the alcohol? No 
Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in any private residence if 

parent/guardian supplies 
alcohol 

Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated of furnishing to a 
minor if the minor has not been charged? 

No 

 
Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when an underage decoy 
is used in compliance checks? 

No data 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to participate in a 
compliance check? 

N/A 

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to participate in a 
compliance check? 

N/A 

Are there appearance requirements for the decoy? N/A  
Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? N/A 
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual age?   N/A 
Is decoy training mandated, recommended, prohibited, or not 
specified? 

N/A 
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Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are 
imposed on retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

Yes 

What is the time period for defining second, third 
and subsequent offenses? 

Second offense: 2 years; Third and subsequent 
offenses, 3 years 

What is the penalty for the first offense? $500 fine 
What is the penalty for the second offense? $1,500 fine and a 30-day suspension 
What is the penalty for the third offense? $1,500 fine and a 60-day suspension 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? License revocation 
Notes:  Affirmative defense possible for licensees when the employee guilty of the violation has 
successfully completed the Iowa Program for Alcohol Compliance Training prior to the violation 
occurring and the sale/service was made to someone between the ages of 18 and 20.  A violation 
involving a sale to a person under age 18 does not qualify for affirmative defense.  A licensee may 
only use affirmative defense once in a 4-year time period. 

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS)–Voluntary 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage Service Training?   Yes–Voluntary 
If training is mandatory, who must participate?   N/A 
If training is voluntary, which of the following incentives are offered?  
• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits No 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, license fees, or other  No 
• Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to 

minors or intoxicated persons 
Yes 

• Protection against license revocation for sales to minors or sales 
to intoxicated persons 

Yes 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises establishments (such as bars 
and restaurants) or off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

Both 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing licensees?   Not specified 
Notes:  The mitigation of penalties incentive does not apply if a sale is made to a minor under the age 
of 18. 

 
Minimum Ages for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-premises retail 
establishments? 

 

Beer 16 
Wine 16 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present? No 

 
Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for servers in on-premises 
establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
What is the minimum age requirement for bartenders in on-
premises establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
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Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present? No 

 
Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and Primary and 
Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises outlets (i.e., liquor 
stores)? 

No 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises outlets (i.e., 
restaurants and bars)? 

No 

To which alcohol products does requirement apply? N/A 
Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises outlets (i.e., liquor 
stores)? 

No 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises outlets (i.e., 
restaurants and bars)? 

No 

To which alcohol products does requirement apply? N/A 
 

Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

No 

Does the statute limit who may be sued? Yes (Retailers that furnish alcohol for off-
premises consumption are exempt.) 

Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

Yes (Retailer should have known that minor was 
intoxicated or was going to become intoxicated.) 

Does common law dram shop liability exist? No 
 

Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

No 

Does the statute limit who may be sued? No 
Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

Yes (Social host should have known that minor 
was intoxicated or was going to become 
intoxicated.) 

Does common law social host liability exist? No 
 

Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking parties? Yes 
Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a general prohibition 
against permitting underage drinking on the property? 

General 

What action by underage guest triggers a violation? Possession/Consumption 
Property type covered by the law? Residential/Outdoor/Other 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? Knowledge:  Host must have 

actual knowledge of party 
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Does host’s preventive action protect him/her from being held 
liable? 

No 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? Yes – Family members 
Notes:  Iowa's social host statute only applies to possession or consumption by persons under the age 
of 18. This law does not apply to a landlord or manager of the property. 

 
Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending interstate 
shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Prohibited  
Wine Prohibited 
Spirits Prohibited 

 
Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to consumers? Yes 
What alcohol types may be shipped? Wine 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to producer before delivery is 
authorized? 

No 

Age verification requirements 
 

Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age before sale? No 
Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of recipients? Yes 
State approval/permit requirements 

 

Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state license or permit? Yes 
Must the common carrier (deliverer) be approved by a state agency? Yes 
Recording/reporting requirements 

 

Must the producer/manufacturer record/report purchaser’s name? No 
Must the common carrier (deliverer) record/report recipient’s 
name? 

Yes 

Shipping label requirements 
 

Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? Yes 
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years old”? Yes 

 
Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? Equal to or more than 5.00 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or unlabeled keg and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

No 

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, what is the 
penalty? 

Yes (Maximum fine/jail, 
$625/30 days) 

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? Yes 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name and address on 
license or other government information? 

Yes 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg will be consumed? No 
Must warning information be given to purchaser? Yes, passive (requires no 

action by purchaser) 
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Is a deposit required? No 
Does law cover disposable kegs? Yes 

 
Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer Yes 
Wine Yes 
Spirits Yes 

 
High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof 
grain alcohol beverages? 

No.  However, this state is a control state, and 
control states may impose additional restrictions 
on the sale of products that are not reflected in 
statute or regulation. 

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume 
(ABV)? 

N/A 

Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A 
 

Laws Affecting Alcohol Pricing 
Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.19 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on total receipts for 
5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on total receipts for 
5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if applicable  
 
Wine  
Control system for wine? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol wine $1.75 
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Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on total receipts for 
12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on total receipts for 
12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if applicable  
 
Spirits  
Control system for spirits? Yes 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol spirits N/A 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on total receipts for 
40% alcohol spirits 

  

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

N/A 

• General sales tax rate N/A 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
N/A 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on total receipts for 
40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

N/A 

• General sales tax rate N/A 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
N/A 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if applicable  
 

Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from offering the following 
types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  No 
Multiple servings at one time No 
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Multiple servings for same price as single serving No 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., happy hours) No 
Unlimited beverages for fixed price No 
Increased volume without increase in price No 

 
Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup or maximum 
discount for each product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not reduce) prices for 
a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to retailer and if so, what is 
the maximum time period? 

No 

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup or maximum 
discount for each product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not reduce) prices for 
a set period of time? 

Post and Hold (30 days) 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to retailer and if so, what is 
the maximum time period? 

Yes (30 days) 

Spirits Control 
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? N/A 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup or maximum 
discount for each product sold to retailers? 

N/A 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not reduce) prices for 
a set period of time? 

N/A 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to retailer and if so, what is 
the maximum time period? 

N/A 
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Iowa State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

The Iowa State Patrol within the Iowa Department of Public Safety is the agency primarily responsible for 
statewide enforcement of underage drinking laws.  The Iowa State Patrol works closely with local law 
enforcement agencies to conduct projects involving underage drinking. 

Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

The Iowa Alcoholic 
Beverages Division issues 

Wine Direct Shipper 
Permits and Wine Carrier 

Permits 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Don't know 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies 

No data 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending No data 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No data 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of retail licensees in state3 9,200 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments Not applicable 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Not applicable 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks, Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 39 
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Total amount in fines across all licensees $20,000 
Smallest fine imposed $500 
Largest fine imposed $1,500 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 05/14/2019 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 83 

Total days of suspensions across all licensees Unable to quantify at this 
time 

Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 30 days 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 30 days 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 05/14/2019 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

Additional Clarification    
No data 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 

sales to minors. 
3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Iowa Department of Commerce, Alcoholic Beverages Division, Iowa Program for 
Alcohol Compliance Training (I-PACT) 

 

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   https://abd.iowa.gov/education/i-pact   

Program Description:  Iowa Department of Commerce, Alcoholic Beverages Division, Iowa Program for Alcohol 
Compliance Training (I-PACT) has been available online since February 2012.  The core objective of the program is 
to prevent illegal sales of alcohol by educating sellers and servers on current state liquor laws as outlined in Iowa 
Code 123.  The overall goal of I-PACT is increased voluntary compliance with the state's alcohol laws through 
education prior to penalty.  During fiscal year 2018 (FY18), 21,614 individuals were certified. 
Iowa Department of Education: PRIME for Life Operating While Intoxicated (OWI) 
Program 

 

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:    https://educateiowa.gov/adult-career-and-

community-college/owi-education 
 

Program Description:  PRIME for Life is an alcohol and drug prevention program designed to challenge common 
beliefs and attitudes that directly contribute to high-risk alcohol and other drug use.  This state-mandated program 
is required for all individuals (regardless of age) convicted of operating while intoxicated (OWI) in Iowa.  Program 

https://abd.iowa.gov/education/i-pact
https://educateiowa.gov/adult-career-and-community-college/owi-education
https://educateiowa.gov/adult-career-and-community-college/owi-education
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goals are to reduce the risk for health problems and impairment.  PRIME for Life's intervention component focuses 
on a self-assessment to help people understand and accept the need for change.  PRIME for Life is recognized as an 
evidence-based program.  During FY18, 11,237 participants attended PRIME for Life courses from one of the 101 
agencies that offer the program throughout the state.  Participants 20 years old or younger are included in this 
total, but data on this specific age group was not readily available.  The program is for offenders only; parents and 
caregivers are not included. 
Youth Diversion Programs  

Number of youth served 218 
Number of parents served 24 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://idph.iowa.gov/substance-

abuse/comprehensive-prevention  
 

Program Description:  The Iowa Department of Public Health (IDPH) funds 18 community-based agencies for 23 
service areas, which collectively cover all 99 Iowa counties.  Contracts are funded by the prevention portion of the 
Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment (SAPT) Block Grant and some state appropriations.  Among services 
provided are diversion programs in many of the 23 service areas.  A diversion program is for youth who have 
received a minor-in-possession charge or other alcohol offense (except OWI).  If the youth successfully completes 
the program, he or she may be diverted from the court system.  These programs have different names, such as 
Prime for Life, Rethinking Drinking, or Juvenile Education Group (JEG), and vary somewhat as to the number of 
sessions and whether a parent or guardian is required to attend.  During FY18, 218 youth and 24 caregivers 
participated in diversion programming. 
Youth Substance Abuse Prevention Services Grant  

Number of youth served 1,772 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://idph.iowa.gov/substance-

abuse/programs/youth-services  
 

Program Description:  IDPH receives state appropriations to fund contracts to support 15 agencies focused on 
youth mentoring and youth development services.  The program supports the state’s goals of primary prevention 
of the use and abuse of alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs (ATOD).  The mentoring component of the grant focuses 
on establishing or sustaining mentoring programs that promote relationship-building and social skills development, 
using elements of effective practice as established by the National Mentoring Partnership, and promoting a 
positive perception of caring adults in the community.  The youth development component of the grant focuses on 
providing evidence-based substance abuse prevention programming for youth (ages 5–18) that includes out-of-
school activities and opportunities for character and youth development, leadership, and community service.  The 
youth development approach focuses on the developmental experiences shown to promote a healthy transition to 
adulthood.  During FY18, 1,772 youth were served. 
Alcohol Prevention Education Programs  

Number of youth served 59,790 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:    http://idph.iowa.gov/substance-

abuse/comprehensive-prevention 
 

http://idph.iowa.gov/substance-abuse/comprehensive-prevention
http://idph.iowa.gov/substance-abuse/comprehensive-prevention
http://idph.iowa.gov/substance-abuse/programs/youth-services
http://idph.iowa.gov/substance-abuse/programs/youth-services
http://idph.iowa.gov/substance-abuse/comprehensive-prevention
http://idph.iowa.gov/substance-abuse/comprehensive-prevention
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Program Description:  Through the SAPT Block Grant, IDPH funds contracts that collectively cover all 99 Iowa 
counties.  In FY18, some state funds and other funds from fees were included in the contracts.  One of the primary 
services provided is ATOD education programs in school and community settings.  Many are small-group, 
recurring-service (multiple session), evidence-based programs, including LifeSkills Training, Project ALERT, Project 
Towards No Drug Abuse, All Stars, and Too Good For Drugs.  Other prevention strategies are included under this 
funding as well.  For all funding combined, 59,790 youths were served in FY18. 
Community Coalition Grant  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   http://idph.iowa.gov/substance-

abuse/community-coalition  
 

Program Description:  This IDPH grant program funds community coalitions to provide environmental substance 
abuse prevention strategies to reduce underage use of alcohol in communities.  Coalitions can receive up to 
$10,000.  Grant funds come from state appropriations and cover a 1-year timeframe.  In Iowa’s FY18, 8 coalitions 
were funded by IDPH.  No numbers of youth or adults served were required in the year-end report. 
Partnerships for Success Grant  

Number of youth served 1,246 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:    http://idph.iowa.gov/substance-

abuse/programs/ipfs 
 

Program Description:  IDPH received the SAMHSA-funded Partnerships for Success (PFS) grant in 2014.  The 5-year 
grant is designed to address 2 of the nation’s top substance abuse prevention priorities, including underage 
drinking among persons ages 12-20 and prescription drug misuse and abuse among persons ages 12-25.  The PFS 
grant also is intended to bring SAMHSA’s Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF) to a national scale.  Iowa’s 2 data-
driven grant priorities include underage drinking and youth binge drinking.  The implementation of environmental 
(estimation of 31,995 reached) and individual strategies (1,246 served through programming) continued within 12 
highest need counties during FY18. 
Drug Abuse Resistance Education (D.A.R.E) Iowa  

Number of youth served 11,000 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  http://www.dareiowa.org/home.html   

Program Description:  The mission of Drug Abuse Resistance Education (D.A.R.E.) Iowa is to improve the quality of 
life for youth by helping them avoid harmful choices.  D.A.R.E. develops and coordinates the resources and training 
necessary for local D.A.R.E. officers, schools, and communities to effectively provide D.A.R.E. instruction to the 
young people of Iowa.  The program has been in Iowa since 1988 and currently has about 72 agencies and 
approximately 95 instructors serving 136 school districts and 224 schools.  The Governor's Office of Drug Control 
Policy provides student education materials for statewide use by certified D.A.R.E. instructors who teach substance 
abuse prevention techniques and resistance skills.  During FY18, 11,000 youth were served. 

 
  

http://idph.iowa.gov/substance-abuse/community-coalition
http://idph.iowa.gov/substance-abuse/community-coalition
http://idph.iowa.gov/substance-abuse/programs/ipfs
http://idph.iowa.gov/substance-abuse/programs/ipfs
http://www.dareiowa.org/home.html
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Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: IDPH has provided training and resources to the Meskwaki Nation (Sac and Fox 
Tribe of the Mississippi).  The tribe has a small prevention team that has been able to access trainings hosted 
by IDPH, such as Substance Abuse Prevention Skills Training and Prevention Ethics.  We have also 
recommended the tribe receive a stipend from SAMHSA to host a Town Hall Meeting on underage drinking. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program:  IDPH has funded local implementation of the "alcohol 
advertising restriction in public places" environmental strategy through the 
Partnerships for Success and Substance Abuse Block Grant. 

Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 
Federal campaigns: Talk. They Hear You. Yes 
Regional and local media campaigns: What Do You Throw Away; Parents Who Host, 
Lose the Most 

Yes 

Local school district efforts:  No 
Other:  No 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” 

Yes 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts Yes 
State commits state resources for TTHY Yes 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Yes 
Other:  No 

State procures funding for TTHY Yes 
Pro bono No 
Donated air time No 
Earned media Yes 
Other: Use of state funding to support this campaign Yes 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies): SAMHSA 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: IDPH - Evidence-Based Practices Workgroup Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies):  No 
Other:  No 
Best practice standards description: Best practice standards relate specifically to selecting and implementing 
evidence-based interventions following the SPF process.     
SPF definitions of "evidence-based" include interventions in one or more of the following 3 categories: (a) 
included in federal registries, (b) reported (with positive effects on the primary targeted outcome) in peer-
reviewed journals, or (c) documented effectiveness supported by other sources of information and the 
consensus judgment of informed experts as specified in the SAMHSA Center for Substance Abuse Prevention 
(CSAP) guidance document, “Identifying and Selecting Evidence-Based Interventions.”  

 
Additional Clarification  
The IDPH-sponsored Evidence-Based Practice Workgroup, a subcommittee of the SPF-SIG Advisory Council, 
recommended that the Council adopt the SAMHSA CSAP guidance document cited above to define evidence-based 
interventions.  The Council supported the recommendation.  Now that the SPF-SIG project has been completed, 
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IDPH has recognized the value of this guidance and is continuing with the same best practice standards description 
for all IDPH substance abuse prevention grants. 
 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Angie Asa-Lovestad 
Email: kossuthconnections@gmail.com 
Address: 2300 River Road, Algona, IA 50511 
Phone: 515-320-0585 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Iowa Department of Public Health, Division of Behavioral Health 
Iowa Department of Commerce, Alcoholic Beverages Division 
Iowa Department of Human Rights, Division of Criminal Juvenile Justice Planning 
Iowa Department of Public Safety, Governor's Traffic Safety Bureau 
Iowa National Guard 
Iowa Consortium for Substance Abuse Research and Evaluation, University of Iowa 
Alliance of Coalitions for Change (AC4C) 
Iowa Behavioral Health Association 
Partnerships in Prevention Science Institute (PROSPER) at Iowa State University 
Iowa Substance Abuse Supervisors Association 
Community-based prevention agencies   
Community college   
Law enforcement agency   
Youth are involved through the State of Iowa Youth Action Committee (SIYAC) 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  https://idph.iowa.gov/substance-abuse/programs/ipfs/advisory-council 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  IDPH in collaboration with the State Advisory Council and other interested stakeholders. 
Plan can be accessed via:  
http://idph.iowa.gov/Portals/1/userfiles/55/IDPH%20Substance%20Abuse%20Prevention%20Strategic%20Pla
n%20%28Final%29_2.pdf 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by:  Not applicable 
Report can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
The previous state-level Underage Drinking Task Force voted to combine with the SPF-SIG Advisory Council (at 
least for the remainder of the SPF-SIG Project period, which was extended until January 31, 2015).  Representation 
on the two groups had started to overlap.  The same is now true for the Iowa PFS/Prevention Partnerships 
Advisory Council.  The Iowa Governor's Office of Drug Control Policy produces the Iowa Drug Control Strategy as a 
required annual report to the legislature and the general public.  The strategy describes substance abuse and 
related issues and includes underage alcohol use, but it does not report separately about underage drinking 
services.  The State Epidemiological Workgroup produces an Epidemiological Profile every 2 years that includes 
data about underage alcohol use, but it does not include services data. 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 

https://idph.iowa.gov/substance-abuse/programs/ipfs/advisory-council
http://idph.iowa.gov/Portals/1/userfiles/55/IDPH%20Substance%20Abuse%20Prevention%20Strategic%20Plan%20%28Final%29_2.pdf
http://idph.iowa.gov/Portals/1/userfiles/55/IDPH%20Substance%20Abuse%20Prevention%20Strategic%20Plan%20%28Final%29_2.pdf
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Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 
Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included:  Fees generated from Sunday beer and liquor permits fund the IDPH 
Community Coalitions contracts and a portion of the Comprehensive Substance Abuse Prevention contracts 
(predominately funded by the SAPT Block Grant). 
Estimate of state funds expended:   $363,918 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending:   06/30/2018 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees Yes 
Other:  Not applicable No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Some IDPH prevention contracts are funded by fees generated from Sunday beer and liquor permits. 

Additional Clarification  
The Governor's Office of Drug Control Policy produces the Iowa Drug Control Strategy as a required annual report 
to the legislature and the general public.  The Strategy describes funding, but allocations are not broken out 
specifically for underage drinking services.  The Strategy is available at https://odcp.iowa.gov/strategy. 
  
 

https://odcp.iowa.gov/strategy
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This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), which was enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 
21st Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255).  The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.”  As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), which is chaired by the 
Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS). 

Time Period Covered by this State Report:  This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2019.  Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available federal survey 
data as of 2018.  State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2019.  State survey data, 
collected in 2019, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states maintained the 
data.   

Source of Data:  For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data.  
Data about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about 
past-month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2015 through 2018 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), SAMHSA’s Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality 
(CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis (2018).  Confidence intervals for these estimates are 
available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance and Data Collection on request.  The Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related Disease Impact (ARDI) application served as the 
resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths from 2006–10 among youth under age 21.  ARDI 
was also the source for state-level data on years of potential life lost as a result of underage alcohol-
related fatalities.  The National Center for Statistics and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System 
(FARS) provided the 2018 data used to present statistics about fatalities among 15-to 20-year-old 
drivers.   

Recommended Citation:  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2020). 2020 Kansas State Report – Underage 
Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD:  SAMHSA.    
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Email:   Stephanie.Rhinehart@ks.gov 
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Kansas 

State Population:  2,911,510 
Population Ages 12–20:  369,700 

   Past-Month Alcohol Use Among 12- to 20-Year-Olds 
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 75,400 (20.4%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 49,400 (13.4%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 2,700 (2.4%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 1,500 (1.3%) 

Ages 15–17   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 22,900 (18.4%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 14,900 (12.0%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 49,800 (37.7%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 33,000 (24.9%) 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths and Years of Potential Life Lost Under the Age of 21 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 41 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 2,459 
Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%1 

Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With BAC > 0.01% 10 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver 13% 

 
1 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are 

rounded to the nearest whole number, however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded 
estimates and may not equal those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of 
components due to independent rounding. 
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Behavioral Health System Overview2 
In July of 2012, several state agencies in Kansas were reorganized.  The mental health and 
addictions-prevention and treatment programs, previously administered by the Kansas 
Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services, were moved into the newly formed Kansas 
Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS).  These programs became part of the 
agency’s Community Services and Programs Commission, which administered both behavioral 
health and home- and community-based services.  In June of 2015, a separate Behavioral Health 
(BH) Commission was established, and a Commissioner was appointed to oversee management 
of the BH services provided by the state.  The state’s two psychiatric hospitals were situated 
under the BH Commission as well. 
 
The Director of Behavioral Health Services reports to the Commissioner for BH.  The 
Behavioral Health Services Director is designated as the State Mental Health Authority (SMHA) 
and supervises the majority of the BH staff.  The Block Grant Manager is the Single State 
Authority (SSA) for community mental health services (MHS), substance abuse prevention 
(SAP), and substance abuse treatment (SAT). 
 
Five BH staff oversee SAT programs; six oversee SAP programs; and 11 oversee MHS programs 
(three of which focus on programs for children and adolescents).  In 2016, KDADS staff 
responsible for licensing and certifying MH services and SAT providers moved from the BH 
Commission to the newly established KDADS Commission on Survey, Certification and 
Credentialing.  This reorganization has enabled BH staff to focus on program planning and 
management rather than the enforcement of regulations, which is now the work of staff on the 
Survey. 
 
Children’s Services 
Children’s Services provides for a system of integrated services that enables children to receive 
care for their multiple needs.  Services that should be integrated into a comprehensive system of 
care are:  social services; educational services, including services provided under the Individuals 
with Disabilities Education Act; juvenile justice services; substance abuse services; and health 
and mental health services.   
 
One mechanism for ensuring that Kansas children receive integrated services for their multiple 
needs is through the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s (SAMHSA)-
funded System of Care for Mental Health Services for Children and Their Families.  The goal is 
to improve behavioral health outcomes for Kansas children and youth (birth-21) experiencing 
serious emotional disturbances (SED) and their families.  Partnerships between KDADS, 
Wichita State University (WSU), and four local jurisdictions will, in the first year of the 
program, offer the following mental health services to youth to obtain the outcomes of improved 
behavioral health status and functionality of participants:  (1) diagnostic and evaluation services; 
(2) outpatient services; (3) 24-hour emergency services; (4) intensive home-based services for 

 
2 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2018/2019 – (Kansas) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, Substance 

Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG), Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP), Division 
of State Programs, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Division of State and Community Assistance:  Planning 
Step One.  Assess the strengths and needs of the service system to address the specific populations.   
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the children and their families when the child is at risk of out-of-home placement; (5) intensive 
day treatment services; (6) respite care; (7) therapeutic foster care services, services in 
therapeutic foster family homes or individual therapeutic residential homes, and group homes 
caring for not more than ten children; (8) assisting the child in making the transition from 
services received as a child to the services to be received as an adult; and (9) other recovery 
support services (e.g., supported employment) and focus efforts to provide early treatment for 
those youth with early onset of SED/SMI to children and youth. 
 

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG) funds administered by SAMHSA.  Exhibit 1 
shows the sources that Kansas used for expenditures on substance abuse prevention and 
treatment in 2019.  As indicated, Medicaid funds and SABG funds account for the largest 
sources (47.7 percent and 22.3 percent, respectively).3  
 
States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures.  For FY 2018–2019, Kansas designated reducing 
alcohol consumption among students in grades 6, 8, 10, and 12 as priority number four for use of 
SABG funds.4 
 
Exhibit 1:  Sources of Kansas’ 2019 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and 
Treatment 

 
 
  

 
3 WebBGAS State Profile, 2019 SABG and MHBG Reports – Kansas 2019. 
4 FY 2018/2019 – (Kansas) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, 

Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Division of State and Community Assistance:  Table 1:  Priority Areas and 
Annual Performance Indicators. 
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State Performance:  Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 
As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details Kansas’ performance in enacting, enforcing, 
and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  The 
following sections address these measures. 
 
State Laws and Policies:  These 26 underage drinking prevention policies have been identified 
as best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into four 
categories: 
1. Laws addressing minors in possession of alcohol; 
2. Laws targeting underage drinking and driving;  
3. Laws targeting alcohol suppliers; and 
4. Laws affecting alcohol pricing.  
 
STOP Act State Survey Data:  The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 
states and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating 
laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  Administered since 
2011, the STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics: 
1. Enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and regulations. 
2. Programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking. 
3. State interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice standards, 

collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking media 
campaigns. 

4. State expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage-Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages prohibited? Yes 
Are there exceptions based on family relationships?    
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is present or consents? No 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or consents? No 
Is there an exception based on location? No 
Notes:  Kansas has an exception permitting persons under 21 years of age to possess alcohol but the 
exception only applies to cereal malt beverages (defined as any fermented but undistilled liquor 
brewed or made from malt or from a mixture of malt or malt substitute, but not including any such 
liquor which is more than 3.2% ABW). 

 
Underage-Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages prohibited? Yes 
Are there exceptions based on family relationships?    
• Is consumption allowed if the parent or guardian is present or 

consents? 
No 

• Is consumption allowed if the spouse is present or consents? No 
Is there an exception based on location? No 
Notes:  Kansas has an exception permitting persons under 21 years of age to consume alcohol but the 
exception applies only to cereal malt beverages (defined as any fermented but undistilled liquor 
brewed or made from malt or from a mixture of malt or malt substitute, but not including any such 
liquor which is more than 3.2% ABW). 

 
Underage-Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic beverages prohibited? Yes 
Are there exceptions based on family relationships?    
• Is internal possession allowed if the parent or guardian is present 

or consents? 
No 

• Is internal possession allowed if the spouse is present or consents? No 
Is there an exception based on location? No 
Notes:  Kansas has an exception permitting persons under 21 years of age to possess or consume 
alcohol but the exception applies only to cereal malt beverages (defined as any fermented but 
undistilled liquor brewed or made from malt or from a mixture of malt or malt substitute, but not 
including any such liquor which is more than 3.2 percent ABW). 

 
Underage-Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages prohibited? Yes 
May youth purchase for law enforcement purposes? Yes 

 
Underage-False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s driver’s license 
suspension? 

No 
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Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false ID prohibited?   Yes 
Is the production of a false ID in the context of underage alcohol 
sales specifically prohibited?   

No 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use electronic scanners for 
information digitally encoded on valid IDs?  

No 

Are state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 easily distinguishable 
from licenses for persons 21 and over? 

Yes 

May retailers seize apparently false IDs without fear of prosecution 
even if the ID is ultimately deemed valid? 

No 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?   Yes 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer reasonably believed ID 

was valid after examining it)? 
Yes 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer reasonably believed 
purchaser was over 21)? 

No 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor for use of a false 
ID? 

No 

May a retailer detain a minor who used a false ID?   No 
 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit for an 
underage driver of a motor vehicle? 

0.02% 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically establish a violation 
(per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit applies? Not specified 
What is the maximum age to which the limit applies? 21 
Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or revokes a minor’s driving 
privileges for alcohol violations? 

Yes 

What types of violation lead to license suspension or revocation?  
• Purchase of alcohol Yes 
• Possession of alcohol Yes 
• Consumption of alcohol Yes 
The law applies to people under what age? 21 
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or discretionary? Mandatory 
What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days 30 
Maximum number of days 30 

 
Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians, or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

14 
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What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

12 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians, or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

50 (10 of which must be at night) 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

9:00 PM 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

Yes, officer may stop driver for night driving 
violation 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes, no more than one passenger under 18 who is 
not an immediate family member 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

Yes, officer may stop driver for passenger 
restrictions violation 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

16 years, 6 months 

Notes:  Kansas has a "restricted license" which allows unsupervised 15-year-olds to drive to and from 
school or work using the most direct route possible.  They must have completed driver's education, 
held an instruction permit for 12 months, completed 25 hours of supervised driving with an additional 
25 hours of driving prior to age 16, and obtained parental consent.  They must not operate the vehicle 
with non-sibling minor passengers. 

 
Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors prohibited? Yes 
Are there exceptions based on family relationships?  
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian supplies the 

alcohol? 
No 

• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies the alcohol? No 
Is there an exception based on location? No 
Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated of furnishing to a 
minor if the minor has not been charged? 

No 

Notes:  Kansas has an exception permitting the furnishing by a parent or legal guardian to a child or 
ward but the exception only applies to cereal malt beverages (defined as any fermented but 
undistilled liquor brewed or made from malt or from a mixture of malt or malt substitute, but not 
including any liquor which is more than 3.2 percent ABW). 

 
Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when an underage decoy 
is used in compliance checks? 

No data 
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What is the minimum age a decoy may be to participate in a 
compliance check? 

N/A 

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to participate in a 
compliance check? 

N/A 

Are there appearance requirements for the decoy? N/A  
Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? N/A 
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual age?   N/A 
Is decoy training mandated, recommended, prohibited, or not 
specified? 

N/A 

 
Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are imposed on 
retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

Yes 

What is the time period for defining second, third and subsequent 
offenses? 

Not specified 

What is the penalty for the first offense? $500 per minor 
What is the penalty for the second offense? $750 per minor 
What is the penalty for the third offense? $1000 per minor 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? $1000 per minor and 

suspension of two weekend 
days (Friday and Saturday) 

Notes:  Penalties may vary based on aggravating or mitigating circumstances. 
 

Responsible Beverage Service (RBS) 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage Service Training?   No law 
If training is mandatory, who must participate?   N/A 
If training is voluntary, which of the following incentives are offered?  
• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits N/A 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, license fees, or other  N/A 
• Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to 

minors or intoxicated persons 
N/A 

• Protection against license revocation for sales to minors or sales 
to intoxicated persons 

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises establishments (such as bars 
and restaurants) or off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing licensees?   N/A 
 

Minimum Ages for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-premises retail 
establishments? 

 

Beer 21 
Wine 21 
Spirits 21 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present? No 



 ___________________________________________________________________________________________  State Reports | Kansas 

 

 __________________________________________________  2020 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement | 9 

Notes:  Although employees must be at least 21 years of age to sell alcoholic liquors at off-sale 
establishments, employees who are at least 18 years of age may sell cereal malt beverages (defined 
as containing not more than 3.2% alcohol by weight) if the licensee's place of business is licensed only 
to sell cereal malt beverages at retail in original and unopened containers and not for consumption on 
the premises. 

 
Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for servers in on-premises 
establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
What is the minimum age requirement for bartenders in on-
premises establishments? 

 

Beer 21 
Wine 21 
Spirits 21 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present? Yes 

 
Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and Primary and 
Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises outlets (i.e., liquor 
stores)? 

Yes, within 200 feet. 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises outlets (i.e., 
restaurants and bars)? 

No 

To which alcohol products does requirement apply? Beer, Wine, Spirits 
Notes:  A city may, by ordinance, waive restriction for licensed premises located within a core 
commercial district as defined by Kan. Stat. Ann. § 12-17,122. 
Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises outlets (i.e., liquor 
stores)? 

Yes, within 200 feet. 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises outlets (i.e., 
restaurants and bars)? 

No 

To which alcohol products does requirement apply? Beer, Wine, Spirits 
Notes:  A city may, by ordinance, waive restriction for licensed premises located within a core 
commercial district as defined by Kan. Stat. Ann. § 12-17,122. 

 
Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be recovered? N/A 
Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A 
Does the statute limit elements or standards of proof? N/A 
Does common law dram shop liability exist? No 
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Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be recovered? N/A 
Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A 
Does the statute limit elements or standards of proof? N/A 
Does common law social host liability exist? No 

 
Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking parties? Yes 
Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a general prohibition 
against permitting underage drinking on the property? 

Specific 

What action by underage guest triggers a violation? Possession/Consumption 
Property type covered by the law? Residential/Outdoor/Other 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? Recklessness: Host must act 

with intentional disregard for 
probable consequence of 
actions 

Does host’s preventive action protect him/her from being held 
liable? 

No 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? Yes – Family members and 
residents of household 

Notes:  As of May 24, 2007, Kansas's "unlawful hosting" provision applies to possession or 
consumption by minors, which is any person under 21 years of age.  Prior to May 24, 2007, Kansas's 
"unlawful hosting" provision only applied to possession or consumption by persons under the age of 
18. 

 
Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending interstate 
shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Prohibited  
Wine Prohibited 
Spirits Prohibited 

 
Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to consumers? Yes 
What alcohol types may be shipped? Wine 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to producer before delivery is 
authorized? 

No 

Age verification requirements 
 

Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age before sale? Yes 
Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of recipients? No 
State approval/permit requirements 

 

Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state license or permit? Yes 
Must the common carrier (deliverer) be approved by a state agency? Yes 
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Recording/reporting requirements 
 

Must the producer/manufacturer record/report purchaser’s name? Yes 
Must the common carrier (deliverer) record/report recipient’s 
name? 

No 

Shipping label requirements 
 

Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? Yes 
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years old”? No 

 
Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? Equal to or more than 4.00 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or unlabeled keg and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

Yes (Maximum fine/jail, 
$1,000/6 months) 

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, what is the 
penalty? 

Yes (Maximum fine/jail, 
$1,000/6 months) 

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? Yes 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name and address on 
license or other government information? 

Yes 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg will be consumed? No 
Must warning information be given to purchaser? Not required 
Is a deposit required? No 
Does law cover disposable kegs? Yes 

 
Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer No law 
Wine No law 
Spirits No law 

 
High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof grain alcohol 
beverages? 

No 

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume (ABV)? N/A 
Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A 

 
Laws Affecting Alcohol Pricing 

Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.18 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on total receipts for 
5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) 8.00% 
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Retail tax rate (if applicable) 10.00% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

Yes 

• General sales tax rate 6.50% 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
3.50% 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on total receipts for 
5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 8.00% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

Yes 

• General sales tax rate 6.50% 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
1.50% 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if applicable  
Notes:  Sales of beer containing not more than 4% alcohol by retailers holding only a cereal malt 
beverage (CMB) license are subject only to the applicable state and local sales tax.  The 10% Liquor 
Drink Tax is not due on beer containing not more than 4% alcohol sold by those holding only a CMB 
license; however, holders of alcoholic liquor licenses must collect and remit the 10% Liquor Drink Tax 
on sales of beer containing not more than 4% alcohol but are not required to collect sales tax. 
Wine  
Control system for wine? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol wine $0.30 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on total receipts for 
12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) 8.00% 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 10.00% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

Yes 

• General sales tax rate 6.50% 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
3.50% 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on total receipts for 
12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 8.00% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

Yes 

• General sales tax rate 6.50% 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
1.50% 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if applicable  
 
Spirits  
Control system for spirits? No 
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Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol spirits $2.50 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on total receipts for 
40% alcohol spirits 

  

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) 8.00% 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 10.00% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

Yes 

• General sales tax rate 6.50% 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
3.50% 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on total receipts for 
40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) 8.00% 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

Yes 

• General sales tax rate 6.50% 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
1.50% 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if applicable  
 

Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from offering the following 
types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  Yes 
Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving No 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., happy hours) No 
Unlimited beverages for fixed price Yes 
Increased volume without increase in price No 

 
Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? Banned 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup or maximum 
discount for each product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not reduce) prices for 
a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to retailer and if so, what is 
the maximum time period? 

No 

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? Banned 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup or maximum 
discount for each product sold to retailers? 

No law 
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Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not reduce) prices for 
a set period of time? 

Post 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to retailer and if so, what is 
the maximum time period? 

No 

Spirits  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? Banned 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup or maximum 
discount for each product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not reduce) prices for 
a set period of time? 

Post 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to retailer and if so, what is 
the maximum time period? 

No 

 
  



 ___________________________________________________________________________________________  State Reports | Kansas 

 

 _________________________________________________  2020 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement | 15 

Kansas State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Kansas Department of Revenue, Alcoholic Beverage Control Division 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops Don’t know 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Kansas Department of 
Revenue, Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Division 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Don't know 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies 

217 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 06/30/2018 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies No 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine whether 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 3,430 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 900 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 164 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2018 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both retail 
establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations 390 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks 81 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Don’t know 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Don’t know 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Don’t know 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Don’t know 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 172 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $112,050 
Smallest fine imposed $250 
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Largest fine imposed $3,000 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2018 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 1 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 2 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 2 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 2 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2018 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 0 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 06/30/2018 

Additional Clarification    
Please contact Pam O'Neil @ 785-368-6400 with the Kansas Department of Revenue, Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Division, if you have questions. 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 

sales to minors. 
3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Underage Enforcement Operations  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No data 
Evaluation report is available No data 
URL for evaluation report:  No data 
URL for more program information:  No data 

Program Description:  The Kansas Alcoholic Beverage Control Division conducts underage enforcement operations 
at concerts, college and other public events, and clean sweeps in some counties.  These operations are funded by a 
grant from the Kansas Department of Transportation, which distributes federal funds from the National Highway 
Traffic Safety Administration.  Additional funding for these operations is provided by a grant from the Douglas 
County Citizens Committee on Alcoholism.  Specific population data are not tracked. 
Keep a Clear Mind  

Number of youth served 95 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  No data 
URL for more program information:  

www.keepaclearmind.com/keep_a_clear_mind.php   
 

Program Description:  Prevention education program targeting alcohol, marijuana, and tobacco use for grades 4-6. 
Addresses social norms, low perceived risk of harm in the individual, family and school domains. 
Alcohol Edu  

Number of youth served 148 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
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Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  No data 
URL for more program information:  www.everfi.com/offerings/listing/alcoholedu-

high-school   
 

Program Description:  Prevention education program targeting alcohol for high school and college. Addresses low 
perceived risk of harm in the individual and school domains. 
All Stars  

Number of youth served 1,035 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  No data 
URL for more program information:   www.allstarsprevention.com  

Program Description:  Prevention education program targeting alcohol, prescription drug use, other drug use, and 
marijuana use for middle school students.  Addresses social norms and low perceived risk of harm in the individual 
and school domains. 
Botvin LifeSkills  

Number of youth served 417 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  No data 
URL for more program information:   www.lifeskillstraining.com  

Program Description:  Prevention education program targeting alcohol, marijuana, other drug use, and tobacco for 
upper elementary and middle school.  Addresses social norms and low perceived risk of harm in individual and 
school domains. 
It Matters (Mass media campaign)  

Number of youth served 142,305 
Number of parents served 351,590 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  www.itmattersks.org   

Program Description:  Information dissemination strategy targeting all ages that addresses retail access of alcohol, 
social access, social norms, and low perceived risk of harm.  Addresses school and community domain. 
Keepin’ It Real  

Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:   https://real-prevention.com/keepin-it-real/    

https://real-prevention.com/keepin-it-real/
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Program Description:  Prevention education program targeting alcohol, marijuana, other drug use, and tobacco for 
ages 11-15.  Addresses social norms, low perceived risk of harm, and other risk and protective factors in the 
individual and school domains. 
Alcohol True Stories  

Number of youth served 115 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  No data 
URL for more program information:    

www.wordscanwork.com/products/product.html?prod=002 
 

Program Description:  Prevention education program targeting alcohol for grades 5-12.  Addresses low perceived 
risk of harm and social norms in the individual and school domains. 
Guiding Good Choices  

Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  www.channing-bete.com/prevention-

programs/guiding-good-choices/guiding-good-choices.html  
 

Program Description:  A prevention education program targeting alcohol, prescription drug use, other drug use, 
and marijuana use for students ages 6-17.  Addresses social norms and low perceived risk of harm in individual, 
family, and school domains. 
Active Parenting  

Number of youth served Not applicable 
Number of parents served Not applicable 
Number of caregivers served Not applicable 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  www.activeparenting.com   

Program Description:  A prevention education program targeting alcohol, prescription drug use, other drug use, 
and marijuana use in elementary school children and parents.  Addresses social norms in individual, family, and 
school domains. 
 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Alcohol Literacy Challenge 
Number of Youth Served:  31 
Number of Parents Served:  Not applicable 
Number of Caregivers Served:  Not applicable 
Program Has Been Evaluated:  Yes 
Evaluation Report Is Available:  Yes 
URL for Evaluation Report:  No data 
URL for Program Information:  www.alcoholliteracychallenge.com   
Program Description:  An alcohol prevention education program targeting grades 5-12, college, and parents. 
Addresses low perceived risk of harm and social norms in individual, family, and school domains. 
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Project ALERTI 
Number of Youth Served:  56 
Number of Parents Served:  Not applicable 
Number of Caregivers Served:  Not applicable 
Program Has Been Evaluated:  Yes 
Evaluation Report Is Available:  Yes 
URL for Evaluation Report:  No data 
URL for Program Information:  www.projectalert.com 
Program Description:  Prevention education program targeting alcohol and marijuana use for middle school 
students.  Addresses social norms and low perceived risk of harm in the individual domain. 
Strengthening Families 
Number of Youth Served:  Not applicable 
Number of Parents Served:  Not applicable 
Number of Caregivers Served:  Not applicable 
Program Has Been Evaluated:  No 
Evaluation Report Is Available:  No 
URL for Evaluation Report:  Not applicable 
URL for Program Information:  www.strengtheningfamiliesprogram.org 
Program Description:  Prevention education program targeting alcohol for ages 3-16.  Addresses social norms and 
low perceived risk of harm in the individual and family domains. 
Too Good for Drugs 
Number of Youth Served:  62 
Number of Parents Served:  Not applicable 
Number of Caregivers Served:  Not applicable 
Program Has Been Evaluated:  Yes 
Evaluation Report Is Available:  Yes 
URL for Evaluation Report:  No data 
URL for Program Information:  www.toogoodprograms.org 
Program Description:  Prevention education program that targets alcohol, tobacco, and other drug use for ages 3-
12.  Addresses social norms and low perceived risk of harm in the individual domain. 
Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration: Prairie Band Pottawatomie Nation is a federally recognized tribe of Neshnabé in 
Mayetta, Kansas.  They receive federal funding through our agency to address underage drinking. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program:  Not applicable 

No 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 
Federal campaigns:  No 
Regional and local media campaigns:  No 
Local school district efforts:  No 
Other: "It Matters" campaign Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” 

Yes 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts Yes 
State commits state resources for TTHY No 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Yes 
Other:  No 
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State procures funding for TTHY No 
Pro bono No 
Donated air time No 
Earned media No 
Other:  No 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies): SAMHSA 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies):  No 
Other:  No 
Best practice standards description: Kansas' criteria for evidence-based prevention strategy selection is listed 
below:  
1) Included in a federal list or registry of evidence-based intervention or strategies,  
2) Reported in a peer review journal to have produced positive results, and 
3) Documented as effective based on all 3 of the following guidelines:  

a) The intervention is based on solid theory or theoretical perspective that has validated research.  
b) The intervention is supported by a documented body of knowledge - a converging of empirical 

evidence of effectiveness generated from similar or related interventions that indicate effectiveness. 
c) The intervention is judged by a consensus of informed experts to be effective based on their 

combined knowledge of theory and their research and practice experience. Informed experts may 
include key community leaders and elders or other respected leaders within indigenous cultures.   

We are currently in the process of putting together a document where communities can submit their own 
strategy or intervention for evidence-based approval by the state.  

 
Additional Clarification  
Because a lot of interventions are expensive, we are looking to utilize community led "train the trainers" to reduce 
training costs to those who want to implement strategies. 
 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Stephanie Rhinehart 
Email: Stephanie.Rhinehart@ks.gov 
Address: 503 S Kansas Ave, Topeka, KS 66603 
Phone: 785-368-7429 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services 
Wichita State University/Center for Community Engagement 
Douglas County Citizens Committee on Alcoholism (DCCCA)  
Greenbush-Southeast Kansas Learning Center 
Headquarters, Inc. 
University of Kansas Center for Community and Health Development 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Yes 
URL or other means of access:  http://kansaspreventioncollaborative.org/ 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services and Kansas Prevention Collaborative 
Plan can be accessed via:  http://kbhid.org/ and http://kctcdata.org 

http://kansaspreventioncollaborative.org/
http://kbhid.org/
http://kctcdata.org/
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State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services and Kansas Prevention Collaborative 
Report can be accessed via:  http://kctcdata.org 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2019 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included:  Data not available 
Estimate of state funds expended:   Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending:   Data not available 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other:  Federal funds through SAMHSA No data 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

http://kctcdata.org/


 

 



 

 

  



 

 

This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), which was enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 
21st Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255).  The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.”  As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), which is chaired by the 
Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS). 

Time Period Covered by this State Report:  This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2019.  Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available federal survey 
data as of 2018.  State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2019.  State survey data, 
collected in 2019, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states maintained the 
data.   

Source of Data:  For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data.  
Data about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about 
past-month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2015 through 2018 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), SAMHSA’s Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality 
(CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis (2018).  Confidence intervals for these estimates are 
available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance and Data Collection on request.  The Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related Disease Impact (ARDI) application served as the 
resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths from 2006–10 among youth under age 21.  ARDI 
was also the source for state-level data on years of potential life lost as a result of underage alcohol-
related fatalities.  The National Center for Statistics and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System 
(FARS) provided the 2018 data used to present statistics about fatalities among 15-to 20-year-old 
drivers.   

Recommended Citation:  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2020). 2020 Missouri State Report – 
Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD:  SAMHSA.    

 

Staff Chair and Point of Contact, ICCPUD: 
Robert M. Vincent, MS.Ed 

Public Health Analyst 
SAMHSA’s Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) 

Division of Systems Development 
Phone:  (240) 276-1582 

Email:  Robert.Vincent@samhsa.hhs.gov 
 

Missouri Governor’s Designated Contact for STOP Act State Survey: 
Angie Stuckenschneider 
Prevention Coordinator 

Division of Alcohol and Drug Abuse 
Phone:  (573) 751-9105 

Email:  angie.stuckenschneider@dmh.mo.gov



 _________________________________________________________________________________________  State Reports | Missouri 

 

 __________________________________________________  2020 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement | 1 

 
Missouri 

State Population:  6,126,452 
Population Ages 12–20:  720,500 

   Past-Month Alcohol Use Among 12- to 20-Year-Olds 
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 147,800 (20.5%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 97,500 (13.5%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 6,900 (3.1%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 3,800 (1.7%) 

Ages 15–17   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 42,600 (17.2%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 22,800 (9.2%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 98,300 (38.9%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 70,800 (28.0%) 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths and Years of Potential Life Lost Under the Age of 21 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 116 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 7,008 
Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%1 

Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With BAC > 0.01% 15 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver 14% 
  

 
1 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are 

rounded to the nearest whole number, however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded 
estimates and may not equal those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of 
components due to independent rounding. 
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Behavioral Health System Overview2 
The Missouri Department of Mental Health (DMH) is one of 16 state agencies under the 
executive branch of state government.  DMH collaborates on initiatives with other state agencies 
including the Departments of Corrections (DOC), Transportation, Elementary and Secondary 
Education (DESE), Health and Senior Services (DHSS), Public Safety (DPS), and Social 
Services (DSS).  DSS is the Medicaid authority for the state.  DMH’s close, collaborative 
relationships with DOC and DSS, in particular, are strengths of the state’s behavioral health 
system.  The principal missions for DMH as established in state law are to 1) prevent mental 
disorders, developmental disabilities, substance abuse, and compulsive gambling; 2) treat, 
habilitate, and rehabilitate Missourians who have these conditions; and 3) improve the public 
understanding and attitudes about mental disorders, developmental disabilities, substance abuse, 
and compulsive gambling. 
 
Historically, DMH has included the Divisions of Alcohol and Drug Abuse (ADA), 
Comprehensive Psychiatric Services (CPS), and Developmental Disabilities (DD).  In January 
2013, ADA and CPS integrated into a new division:  The Division of Behavioral Health (DBH).  
The Department’s supportive offices include the Offices of Deaf Services, Constituent Services, 
and Comprehensive Child Mental Health. 
 
Substance Abuse Services 
DBH substance abuse treatment programs include the Comprehensive Substance Treatment and 
Rehabilitation (CSTAR) programs for women and children (12 contracts), the general population 
(34 contracts), the opioid program (4 contracts), and adolescents (17 contracts).  CSTAR 
programs offer a flexible combination of clinical and supportive services that vary in duration 
and intensity depending on the needs of the client.  All but the opioid program offer a residential 
component for individuals needing that type of structure and support. 
 
Substance use treatment for adolescents is provided in the CSTAR Adolescent program, which 
provides a full spectrum of treatment services for youth ages 12 to 17.  Treatment focuses on 
issues relevant to this age group and is provided in settings that are programmatically and 
physically separate from adult programs.  Youth in residential settings are offered academic 
support services to minimize disruptions in their education.  For youth with co-occurring mental 
health and substance use disorders, CPR and CSTAR Adolescent programs will coordinate 
services.  
 
Prevention and Mental Health Promotion includes substance abuse prevention, suicide 
prevention, Crisis Intervention Teams (CIT), Mental Health First Aid, tobacco cessation, and 
tobacco retailer education.  DBH subcontracts with the Department of Public Safety, Division of 
Alcohol and Tobacco Control for enforcement of the federal Family Smoking Prevention and 
Tobacco Control Act.  DBH uses a Statewide Training and Resource Center (STRC) to provide 
information, technical assistance, and training to the Missouri’s substance abuse prevention 

 
2 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2018/2019 – (Missouri) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, Substance 

Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG), Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP), Division 
of State Programs, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Division of State and Community Assistance:  Planning 
Step One.  Assess the strengths and needs of the service system to address the specific populations.  
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workforce.  The STRC is also a member of Community Anti-Drug Coalitions of America 
(CADCA).  DBH also provides funding to the Missouri Youth/Adult Alliance (MYAA), a 
statewide coalition that provides resource materials and education to local community efforts 
focused on underage drinking. 
 
DBH contracts with 10 community-based, state-certified Regional Support Centers (RSC) that 
provide prevention services on alcohol, tobacco, and other drug (ATOD) issues.  The RSCs are 
the primary source of training and technical assistance support for more than 150 community 
coalitions located throughout the state.  The coalitions are teams of volunteers of community 
leaders, parents, and youth who seek to address substance abuse in their communities.  
 
RSCs employ prevention specialists who serve as community-level experts to assess community 
needs, build capacity, develop strategic plans, and implement evidence-based prevention 
programming.  The RSCs provide retailer education on state and federal tobacco regulations to 
local tobacco retailers and assist the state in compiling a list of tobacco retailers in support of 
federal Synar requirements, as Missouri does not have tobacco licensure.  
 
DBH also provides funding to Partners in Prevention (PIP), Missouri’s higher education 
substance abuse consortium representing 21 colleges and universities and serving about 161,000 
college students.  PIP administers the Missouri College Student Health Behavior Survey 
(MCHBS) which is completed by approximately 9,000 students each school year.  The RSC’s, 
PIP, and many community coalitions have been trained on and use the Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health Services Administration’s (SAMHSA) Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF) 
planning process.  In support of prevention planning at the local level, DBH funds the biennial 
Missouri Student Survey (MSS) to assess substance use and related behaviors among students in 
grades 6 through 12. 
 
DBH’s School-based Prevention, Intervention, and Resources Initiative (SPIRIT) implements 
school-based curricula of proven effectiveness for reducing substance use, preventing substance 
initiation, and reducing violent behavior among children in kindergarten through 12th grade.  
Age- and grade-appropriate programs are selected.  SPIRIT currently operates in four sites 
serving six school districts across the state.  These school districts serve high-risk populations 
characterized by:  1) high percentage of students qualifying for reduced/free lunches, 2) low 
standardized test scores, 3) high prevalence of substance use, 4) low graduation rates, and/or 5) 
high rate of juvenile justice referrals.  Screening and referral services are provided.  In FY 2016, 
about 5,900 students participated in the SPIRIT program. 
 

Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through the Substance Abuse 
Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG) funds administered by SAMHSA.  Exhibit 1 
shows the sources that Missouri used for expenditures on substance abuse prevention and 
treatment in 2019.  As indicated, Medicaid funds and state funds account for the largest sources 
(43.0 percent and 25.6 percent, respectively).3  

 
3 WebBGAS State Profile, 2019 SABG and Community Mental Health Block Grant (MHBG) Reports – Missouri 

2019. 
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States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures.  For FY 2018–2019, Missouri designated 
reducing alcohol and other drugs availability to youth and other populations as part of priority 
number eight, and school-based programs to delay onset of and reduce substance use among 
youth as priority number nine for use of SABG funds.4 
 
Exhibit 1:  Sources of Missouri’s 2019 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and 
Treatment

 
 
  

 
4 FY 2018/2019 – (Missouri) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, 

Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Division of State and Community Assistance: Table 1: Priority Areas and 
Annual Performance Indicators. 
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State Performance:  Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 
As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details Missouri’s performance in enacting, enforcing, 
and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  The 
following sections address these measures. 
 
State Laws and Policies:  These 26 underage drinking prevention policies have been identified 
as best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into four 
categories: 
1. Laws addressing minors in possession of alcohol; 
2. Laws targeting underage drinking and driving;  
3. Laws targeting alcohol suppliers; and 
4. Laws affecting alcohol pricing.  
 
STOP Act State Survey Data:  The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 
states and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating 
laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  Administered since 
2011, the STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics: 
1. Enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and regulations. 
2. Programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking. 
3. State interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice standards, 

collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking media 
campaigns. 

4. State expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage-Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages prohibited? Yes 
Are there exceptions based on family relationships?    
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is present or consents? No 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or consents? No 
Is there an exception based on location? No 

 
Underage-Consumption 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages prohibited? No law 
Are there exceptions based on family relationships?    
• Is consumption allowed if the parent or guardian is present or 

consents? 
N/A 

• Is consumption allowed if the spouse is present or consents? N/A 
Is there an exception based on location? N/A 

 
Underage-Internal Possession 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic beverages prohibited? Yes 
Are there exceptions based on family relationships?    
• Is internal possession allowed if the parent or guardian is present 

or consents? 
No 

• Is internal possession allowed if the spouse is present or consents? No 
Is there an exception based on location? No 

 
Underage-Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages prohibited? Yes 
May youth purchase for law enforcement purposes? Yes 

 
Underage-False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s driver’s license 
suspension? 

Yes, through a judicial process 

Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false ID prohibited?   Yes 
Is the production of a false ID in the context of underage alcohol 
sales specifically prohibited?   

Yes 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use electronic scanners for 
information digitally encoded on valid IDs?  

No 

Are state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 easily distinguishable 
from licenses for persons 21 and over? 

Yes 

May retailers seize apparently false IDs without fear of prosecution 
even if the ID is ultimately deemed valid? 

No 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?   Yes 
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• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer reasonably believed ID 
was valid after examining it)? 

Yes 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer reasonably believed 
purchaser was over 21)? 

No 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor for use of a false 
ID? 

No 

May a retailer detain a minor who used a false ID?   No 
 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit for an 
underage driver of a motor vehicle? 

0.02% 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically establish a violation 
(per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit applies? Not specified 
What is the maximum age to which the limit applies? 21 

 
Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or revokes a minor’s driving 
privileges for alcohol violations? 

Yes 

What types of violation lead to license suspension or revocation?  
• Purchase of alcohol Yes 
• Possession of alcohol Yes 
• Consumption of alcohol No 
The law applies to people under what age? 21 
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or discretionary? Mandatory 
What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days 30 
Maximum number of days 30 
Notes:  Although Missouri does not authorize a Use / Lose penalty for all underage consumption, a 
law that became effective on August 28, 2005 imposes the mandatory license sanction on an 
underage person who “has a detectable blood alcohol content of more than two-hundredths of one 
percent or more by weight of alcohol in such person's blood.”  See Mo. Rev. Stat. §§ 311.325(1), 
577.500(2) (2005), 302.400 (2017). 

 
Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians, or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

15 

What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

6 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians, or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

40 (10 of which must be at night) 
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Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

1:00 AM 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

Yes, officer may stop driver for night driving 
violation 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes, First 6 months, no more than 1 passenger 
under 19 who is not an immediate family 
member.  After 6 months, no more than 3 
passengers under 19 who are not immediate 
family members. 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

Yes, officer may stop driver for passenger 
restrictions violation 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

17 years, 11 months 

 
Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors prohibited? Yes 
Are there exceptions based on family relationships?  
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian supplies the 

alcohol? 
Yes 

• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies the alcohol? No 
Is there an exception based on location? No 
Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated of furnishing to a 
minor if the minor has not been charged? 

No 

 
Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when an underage decoy 
is used in compliance checks? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to participate in a 
compliance check? 

18 

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to participate in a 
compliance check? 

19 

Are there appearance requirements for the decoy? Yes, Shall have a youthful 
appearance and males should 
not have facial hair or a 
receding hairline 

Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? Required 
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual age?   Prohibited 
Is decoy training mandated, recommended, prohibited, or not 
specified? 

Not specified 
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Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are imposed on 
retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

No data 

What is the time period for defining second, third and subsequent 
offenses? 

N/A 

What is the penalty for the first offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the second offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the third offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? N/A 

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS) 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage Service Training?   No law 
If training is mandatory, who must participate?   N/A 
If training is voluntary, which of the following incentives are offered?  
• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits N/A 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, license fees, or other  N/A 
• Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to 

minors or intoxicated persons 
N/A 

• Protection against license revocation for sales to minors or sales 
to intoxicated persons 

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises establishments (such as bars 
and restaurants) or off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

N/A 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing licensees?   N/A 
 

Minimum Ages for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-premises retail 
establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present? Yes 

 
Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for servers in on-premises 
establishments? 

 

Beer 18 
Wine 18 
Spirits 18 
What is the minimum age requirement for bartenders in on-
premises establishments? 

 

Beer 21 
Wine 21 
Spirits 21 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present? No 
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Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and Primary and 
Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises outlets (i.e., liquor 
stores)? 

No 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises outlets (i.e., 
restaurants and bars)? 

No 

To which alcohol products does requirement apply? N/A 
Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises outlets (i.e., liquor 
stores)? 

Yes, within 100 feet.  Local 
government has authority to 
override state restrictions. 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises outlets (i.e., 
restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, within 100 feet.  Local 
government has authority to 
override state restrictions. 

To which alcohol products does requirement apply? Beer, Wine, Spirits 
Notes:  Exemptions include a school that has obtained an exemption from the payment of federal 
taxes. 

 
Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be 
recovered? 

No 

Does the statute limit who may be sued? Yes (Retailers that furnish alcohol for off-
premises consumption exempt.) 

Does the statute limit elements or standards of 
proof? 

Yes (Clear and convincing evidence required to 
show that retailer knew or should have known 
underage status.) 

Does common law dram shop liability exist? No 
 

Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? No 
Does the statute limit damages that may be recovered? N/A 
Does the statute limit who may be sued? N/A 
Does the statute limit elements or standards of proof? N/A 
Does common law social host liability exist? No 

 
Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking parties? Yes 
Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a general prohibition 
against permitting underage drinking on the property? 

General 

What action by underage guest triggers a violation? Possession/Consumption 
Property type covered by the law? Residential/Outdoor/Other 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? Knowledge:  Host must have 

actual knowledge of party 
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Does host’s preventive action protect him/her from being held 
liable? 

Yes 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? Yes – Family members 
 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending interstate 
shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Prohibited  
Wine Prohibited 
Spirits Prohibited 

 
Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to consumers? Yes 
What alcohol types may be shipped? Wine 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to producer before delivery is 
authorized? 

No 

Age verification requirements 
 

Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age before sale? No 
Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of recipients? Yes 
State approval/permit requirements 

 

Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state license or permit? Yes 
Must the common carrier (deliverer) be approved by a state agency? Yes 
Recording/reporting requirements 

 

Must the producer/manufacturer record/report purchaser’s name? No 
Must the common carrier (deliverer) record/report recipient’s 
name? 

Yes 

Shipping label requirements 
 

Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? Yes 
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years old”? Yes 

 
Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? Equal to or more than 4.00 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or unlabeled keg and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

No 

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, what is the 
penalty? 

No 

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? Yes 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name and address on 
license or other government information? 

Yes 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg will be consumed? No 
Must warning information be given to purchaser? Yes, active (requires an action 

by purchaser) 
Is a deposit required? Yes, $50.00 
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Does law cover disposable kegs? Yes 
Notes:  Although Missouri does not require a retailer to record the number of a keg purchaser's ID, it 
does require the retailer to record the form of identification presented by the purchaser, as well as 
the purchaser's name, address, and date of birth. 

 
Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer No law 
Wine No law 
Spirits No law 

 
High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof grain alcohol 
beverages? 

No 

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume (ABV)? N/A 
Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A 

 
Laws Affecting Alcohol Pricing 

Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.06 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on total receipts for 
5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on total receipts for 
5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if applicable  
 
Wine  
Control system for wine? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol wine $0.42 
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Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on total receipts for 
12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on total receipts for 
12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if applicable  
 
Spirits  
Control system for spirits? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol spirits $2.00 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on total receipts for 
40% alcohol spirits 

  

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on total receipts for 
40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if applicable  
 

Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from offering the following 
types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  No 



State Reports | Missouri  _________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

14 | 2020 State Reports – Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement  _________________________________________________ 

Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving No 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., happy hours) No 
Unlimited beverages for fixed price No 
Increased volume without increase in price No 

 
Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup or maximum 
discount for each product sold to retailers? 

Yes 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not reduce) prices for 
a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to retailer and if so, what is 
the maximum time period? 

Yes (30 days) 

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? Restricted 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup or maximum 
discount for each product sold to retailers? 

Yes 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not reduce) prices for 
a set period of time? 

Post and Hold (30 days) 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to retailer and if so, what is 
the maximum time period? 

Yes (30 days) 

Spirits  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? Restricted 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup or maximum 
discount for each product sold to retailers? 

Yes 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not reduce) prices for 
a set period of time? 

Post and Hold (30 days) 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to retailer and if so, what is 
the maximum time period? 

Yes (30 days) 

Notes:  Wholesalers may not sell below cost.  For sales of wine and spirits between January 1, 2003 
and August 27, 2009, no discounts in excess of 4% for quantity or 1% for time of payment.  After 
August 27, 2009, no discounts in excess of 1% for quantity or 1% for time of payment. 
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Missouri State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Missouri Department of Public Safety, Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Control (ATC) 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops Yes 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs No 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations No 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 

Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Missouri Division of 
Alcohol and Tobacco 

Control 
Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Don't know 

Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies 

3,596 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/31/2018 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine whether 
alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

No 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of retail licensees in state3 13,584 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both retail 
establishments Not applicable 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Not applicable 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations Not applicable 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not applicable 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors Yes 

Data are collected on these activities No 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies Not applicable 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks Not applicable 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending Not applicable 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 286 
Total amount in fines across all licensees $310,000 
Smallest fine imposed $100 
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Largest fine imposed $1,500 for 7 violations 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 04/30/2019 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 50 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 222 days 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) 2 days 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) 30 days 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 04/30/2019 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments specifically 
for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 3 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 04/30/2019 

Additional Clarification    
ATC has increased enforcement staff in the last 2 years and as staff come on board and become fully trained, the 
administrative actions taken against liquor licenses have increased. 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 

sales to minors. 
3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Partners in Prevention (PIP)  

Number of youth served 130,000 
Number of parents served 30,000 
Number of caregivers served 400 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  http://pip.missouri.edu/  
URL for more program information: http://pip.missouri.edu/    

Program Description:  Missouri Partners in Prevention (PIP) is an established statewide substance abuse 
prevention coalition of Missouri universities implementing evidence-based strategies to reduce binge and 
underage drinking among students at participating institutions.  PIP is a consortium of 21 public and private 
colleges and universities.  Since 2001, PIP has effectively reduced binge drinking and underage drinking behavior 
on campuses throughout the state and has been nationally recognized for its efforts. 
Missouri School-based Substance Abuse Prevention Intervention and Resources 
Initiative (SPIRIT) 

 

Number of youth served 9,354 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:   https://dmh.mo.gov/media/pdf/spirit-sixteenth-year-

report-2018  
 

URL for more program information:  No data 
Program Description:  In 2002, the Missouri Department of Mental Health (DMH), Division of Alcohol and Drug 
Abuse (ADA), launched the Missouri School-based Substance Abuse Prevention Intervention and Resources 
Initiative (SPIRIT).  This project proposes to delay the onset and decrease the use of substances, improve overall 
school performance, and reduce incidents of violence.  To achieve these goals, prevention agencies are paired with 

http://pip.missouri.edu/
http://pip.missouri.edu/
https://dmh.mo.gov/media/pdf/spirit-sixteenth-year-report-2018
https://dmh.mo.gov/media/pdf/spirit-sixteenth-year-report-2018
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participating school districts to provide technical assistance in implementing evidence-based substance abuse 
prevention programming and referral and assessment services as needed.  The project offers a variety of evidence-
based prevention programs selected by the districts. 
Prevention Resource Center (PRC) Network and Community Coalitions  

Number of youth served No data 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  No data 

Program Description:  Prevention Resource Center (PRC) Network and Community Coalitions are the primary 
sources of technical assistance support for community coalitions.  The PRC’s goal is to facilitate development of 
teams capable of making changes in substance use patterns in their communities.  Each PRC has a prevention 
specialist who works directly with the teams in his/her area and assists with developing teams and task forces in 
communities who desire them.  Coalitions make up a network of volunteer community teams that focus solely on 
alcohol, tobacco, and drug issues as part of a broad mission and/or array of services.  Coalitions were organized 
and developed in 1987 and are composed of community volunteers from the areas served.  Each coalition receives 
technical assistance and training from the PRC on a variety of topics related to organization, development, and 
implementation of prevention strategies.  The PRC and community coalitions implement various evidence-based 
strategies and programs. 
Direct Prevention Programs for High-Risk Youth  

Number of youth served 3,154 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated No 
Evaluation report is available No 
URL for evaluation report:  Not applicable 
URL for more program information:  No data 

Program Description:  Direct programs/services for high-risk youth are prevention education and early 
intervention activities provided to designated children, youth, and families.  These services involve structured 
programming or a curriculum with multiple sessions that include pre- and post-testing and address identified risk 
and protective factors.  Direct programs/services may also involve a variety of activities, including informational 
sessions, training, and technical assistance activities with groups. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

No 

Description of collaboration: Not applicable 
State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program:  Missouri has many coalitions across the state that provide 
training and activities addressing youth exposure to alcohol advertising and marketing. 

Yes 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 
Federal campaigns:  No 
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Regional and local media campaigns: Coalitions across the state have local media 
campaigns to prevent underage drinking. 

Yes 

Local school district efforts:  No 
Other:  No 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” 

No 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts Not applicable 
State commits state resources for TTHY Not applicable 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State procures funding for TTHY Not applicable 
Pro bono Not applicable 
Donated air time Not applicable 
Earned media Not applicable 
Other:  Not applicable 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies): SAMHSA 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: Missouri Division of Behavioral Health Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies):  No 
Other:  No 
Best practice standards description: The Division of Behavioral Health requires providers to use evidence-based 
programs and environmental strategies.  SAMHSA's publication, “Identifying and Selecting Evidence-Based 
Interventions for Substance Abuse Prevention,” serves as a guide, which provides the following definition for 
evidence-based programs:     
• Inclusion in a federal list or registry of evidence-based interventions and indicated to be effective.     
• Being reported (with positive effects) in a peer-reviewed journal.     
• Documentation of effectiveness based on the following guidelines:     

o The intervention is based on a theory of change that is documented in a clear logic or conceptual 
model. 

o The intervention is similar in content and structure to interventions that appear in registries and/or 
the peer-reviewed literature.     

o The intervention is supported by documentation that it has been effectively implemented in the past, 
and multiple times, in a manner attentive to identifying and selecting evidence-based interventions, 
scientific standards of evidence, and with results that show a consistent pattern of credible and 
positive effects.     

o The intervention is reviewed and deemed appropriate by a panel of informed prevention experts that 
includes well-qualified prevention researchers who are experienced in evaluating prevention 
interventions similar to those under review, local prevention practitioners, and key community 
leaders as appropriate (e.g., officials from law enforcement and education sectors or elders within 
indigenous cultures).     

Missouri uses the Strategic Prevention Framework (SPF) model to implement these guidelines.  The process 
includes:          
• Assessment of the community’s needs and readiness.     
• Capacity-building to mobilize and address the needs of the community.    
• Development of a prevention plan to identify the activities, programs, and strategies necessary to address 

the needs.     
• Implementation of the prevention plan.     
• Evaluation of the results to achieve sustainability and cultural competence.     
Missouri identifies appropriate strategies based on validated research, empirical evidence of effectiveness, and 
the use of local, state, and federal key community prevention leaders, such as National Prevention Network, 
Southwest Regional Expert Team, and SAMHSA’s Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP).  
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Additional Clarification  
No data 
 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

No 

Committee contact information:  
Not applicable 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Not applicable 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities Not applicable 
URL or other means of access:  Not applicable 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Missouri Division of Behavioral Health 
Plan can be accessed via:  https://dmh.mo.gov/media/pdf/strategic-plan-prevention 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years No 
Prepared by:  Not applicable 
Report can be accessed via:  Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 04/30/2019 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $789,569 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2018 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2018 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2018 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2018 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended $0 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2018 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included:  No data 
Estimate of state funds expended:   No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending:   No data 

  

https://dmh.mo.gov/media/pdf/strategic-plan-prevention
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Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other:  Not applicable No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 



 

 



 

 

  



 

 

This State Report is required by the Sober Truth on Preventing (STOP) Underage Drinking Act (Pub. 
L. 109-422), which was enacted by Congress in 2006 and reauthorized in December 2016 as part of the 
21st Century Cures Act (Pub. L. 114-255).  The STOP Act requires an annual report “on each State's 
performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce 
underage drinking.”  As directed by the STOP Act, the State Reports were prepared by the Interagency 
Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD), which is chaired by the 
Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use, U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS). 

Time Period Covered by this State Report:  This State Report primarily includes data from calendar 
year 2019.  Regional and state profile data were drawn from the most recently available federal survey 
data as of 2018.  State legal data reflect the status of the law as of January 1, 2019.  State survey data, 
collected in 2019, were drawn from the most recent 12-month period in which the states maintained the 
data.   

Source of Data:  For each state, overall population information was taken from 2010 Census data.  
Data about the portion of each state’s population comprising 12-to 20-year-olds, as well as facts about 
past-month alcohol use and binge use, were averaged from the 2015 through 2018 National Surveys on 
Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), SAMHSA’s Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality 
(CBHSQ), and the NSDUH special data analysis (2018).  Confidence intervals for these estimates are 
available from CBHSQ’s Division of Surveillance and Data Collection on request.  The Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention’s Alcohol-Related Disease Impact (ARDI) application served as the 
resource for data about alcohol-attributable deaths from 2006–10 among youth under age 21.  ARDI 
was also the source for state-level data on years of potential life lost as a result of underage alcohol-
related fatalities.  The National Center for Statistics and Analysis’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System 
(FARS) provided the 2018 data used to present statistics about fatalities among 15-to 20-year-old 
drivers.   

Recommended Citation:  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA; 2020). 2020 Nebraska State Report – 
Underage Drinking Prevention and Enforcement. Rockville, MD:  SAMHSA.    

 
Staff Chair and Point of Contact, ICCPUD: 

Robert M. Vincent, MS.Ed 
Public Health Analyst 

SAMHSA’s Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) 
Division of Systems Development 

Phone:  (240) 276-1582 
Email:  Robert.Vincent@samhsa.hhs.gov 

 
Nebraska Governor’s Designated Contact for STOP Act State Survey: 

Sheri Dawson 
Director, Division of Behavioral Health 

Department of Health and Human Services 
Phone:  (402) 471-7856 

Email:  Sheri.Dawson@nebraska.gov
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Nebraska 

State Population:  1,929,268 
Population Ages 12–20:  238,300 

   Past-Month Alcohol Use Among 12- to 20-Year-Olds 
Ages 12–20  

Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 46,400 (19.5%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 32,400 (13.6%) 

Ages 12–14   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 1,600 (2.1%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 900 (1.1%) 

Ages 15–17   
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 10,300 (13.5%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 7,200 (9.4%) 

Ages 18–20  
Past-Month Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 34,400 (41.0%) 
Past-Month Binge Alcohol Use – Number (Percentage) 24,400 (29.0%) 

Alcohol-Attributable Deaths and Years of Potential Life Lost Under the Age of 21 
Alcohol-Attributable Deaths (under 21) 26 
Years of Potential Life Lost (under 21) 1,567 
Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) > 0.01%1 

Number of Fatalities Involving 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver With BAC > 0.01% 8 
Percentage of All Fatal Crashes Involving a 15- to 20-Year-Old Driver 19% 

 
1 Alcohol-related fatalities are estimates derived from a sophisticated statistical procedure.  The estimates are 

rounded to the nearest whole number, however, percentages as displayed are calculated from the unrounded 
estimates and may not equal those calculated from the rounded estimates.  Totals may not equal the sum of 
components due to independent rounding. 
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Behavioral Health System Overview2 
Behavioral Health in Nebraska covers service needs for both Mental Health and Substance Use 
Disorders.  The publicly funded system is only one part of the overall behavioral healthcare 
system in Nebraska.  Private funding sources such as insurance companies, private businesses, 
and individuals themselves also influence the way behavioral health services are provided in the 
state.  Publicly funded services are administered by many different agencies including three of 
six different divisions within the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services:  The 
Division of Behavioral Health (DBH); the Division of Medicaid and Long-Term Care 
(DMLTC); and the Division of Children and Family Services (DCFS).  
 
The Nebraska Behavioral Health Services Act designates the DBH as the chief behavioral health 
authority for the State [§71-806 (1)].  The DBH is both the State Mental Health Authority 
(SMHA) and the Single State Substance Abuse Authority (SSA).  It is important to note that the 
authority does not extend to DMLTC or DCFS policy decisions.  The DBH administers, 
oversees, and coordinates the state’s public behavioral health system to address the prevention 
and treatment of mental health and substance use disorders.  The primary goal is to develop a 
behavioral health system that is co-occurring capable, trauma-informed, recovery-oriented, and 
person-centered.   
 
The DBH is responsible for managing both the Community Mental Health Services Block Grant 
(MHBG) and the Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG).  DBH funds 
priority treatment and support services for individuals without Medicaid and individuals without 
insurance or underinsured, according to financial eligibility based on a sliding scale on income 
and family size.  The Office of Consumer Affairs (OCA) focuses on recovery initiatives, 
planning, research, and advocacy for behavioral health consumers. 
 
The DBH Strategic Plan 2017-2020 identifies 30 objectives—the mechanism for achieving 
identified goals that are “SMART” in that they are specific, measurable, attainable, realistic, and 
time-framed—addressing how the NPBH system collaborates with other state agencies with 
respect to the delivery of behavioral health systems.  In particular, the following objectives 
identify how DBH will work across systems to address the identified needs of diverse 
populations: 
• Reduce disparities in access to behavioral health care, both treatment and prevention.  
• Increase the number of children and youth who attend school regularly following 12 months 

of system of care (SOC) services and supports. 
• Reduce utilization of residential and inpatient behavioral health care for youth in any youth 

service system.  
• Reduce the suicide rate for identified populations. 
• Increase the number of behavioral health providers who report practicing in a setting that is 

integrated with primary care.  
• Decrease average age of first system contact. 

 
2 Extracted from fiscal year (FY) 2018/2019 – (Nebraska) State Behavioral Health Assessment and Plan, SABG, 

Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP), Division of State Programs, Center for Substance Abuse 
Treatment, Division of State and Community Assistance:  Planning Step One.  Assess the strengths and needs of 
the service system to address the specific populations.  
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• Reduce the prevalence of underage alcohol use among individuals 12 to 20 years of age. 
• Reduce the prevalence of binge drinking among youth (12 to 17 years of age) and young 

adults (18 to 25 years of age). 
• Maintain or reduce the prevalence of nonmedical use of pain relievers among individuals 

over 12 years of age. 
• Reduce the prevalence of high school students who seriously considered attempting suicide 

in the past year. 
• Maintain the annual compliance rate of tobacco retailer violations at 10 percent or below. 
• Increase the availability and utilization of evidence-based practices (EBP). 
• Increase the number of consumers and their families who have stable housing from 

behavioral health services admission to discharge. 
• Increase the number of consumers who are employed or seeking employment from 

behavioral health services admission to discharge. 
 
Prevention System 
The DBH is charged with the development of prevention, treatment, and recovery services for 
the State of Nebraska.  DBH strives to maintain a sustainable and effective prevention system by 
promoting safe and healthy environments that foster youth, family, and community development 
through best practices in mental health promotion, substance abuse prevention, and early 
intervention.  Partnership with the six Regional Behavioral Health Authorities (RBHA) and 
oversight by DBH’s Behavioral Health Services Manager provides the infrastructure to support a 
comprehensive prevention system that promotes overall wellness.   
 
DBH contracts with the RBHA for technical assistance, training, and data collection to support 
local coalitions and community entities.  The majority of prevention activities purchased by the 
DBH are carried out by the RBHA’s Prevention Coordination system which is designed to 
operate at the community level, embracing local culture while leading the development of 
sustainable prevention activities for substance abuse and related societal problems through the 
life span.  Funded primarily by the SABG, Regional Prevention Coordination staff utilize 
coexisting prevention efforts such as Strategic Prevention Framework-Partnerships for Success 
(SPF-PFS) grant, Drug Free Communities grant, and the Garrett Lee Smith (GLS) Youth Suicide 
Prevention grant, to establish common directives and target populations leading to optimal reach 
when planning training and technical assistance initiatives. 
 
In cooperation and partnership with Regional Prevention System Coordinators, training events 
are funded throughout the state to introduce, enhance, and improve the use of evidence-based, 
promising, and local prevention strategies most appropriate to their local community goals 
utilizing the SPF process.  Local goals have included the reduction of underage drinking, 
reduction of driving under the influence, reduction of binge drinking, and preventing prescription 
drug abuse and marijuana use among youth.  By requiring all communities to use the SPF model, 
and by providing effective statewide training and technical assistance in the use of the model, 
greater progress is being achieved in reducing substance abuse and related health consequences 
across the state. 
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Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment 
All states receive federal funds for substance abuse prevention through SABG funds 
administered by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).  
Exhibit 1 shows the sources that Nebraska used for expenditures on substance abuse prevention 
and treatment in 2019.  As indicated, state funds and SABG funds account for the largest sources 
(67.5 percent and 19.9 percent, respectively).3  
 
States submit Behavioral Assessment and Plan reports that include their priorities for use of 
SABG funds, as well as planned expenditures.  For FY 2018–2019, Nebraska designated 
reducing alcohol use among youth and young adults as the number one priority for use of SABG 
funds.4 
 
Exhibit 1:  Sources of Nebraska’s 2019 Expenditures for Substance Abuse Prevention 
and Treatment 

 
 
  

 
3 WebBGAS State Profile, 2019 SABG and MHBG Reports – Nebraska 2019. 
4 FY 2018/2019 – (Nebraska) State Behavioral Assessment and Plan, SABG, CSAP, Division of State Programs, 

Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Division of State and Community Assistance:  Table 1:  Priority Areas and 
Annual Performance Indicators. 
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State Performance:  Laws, Enforcement, and Programs 
As mandated by the STOP Act, this report details Nebraska’s performance in enacting, 
enforcing, and creating laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  
The following sections address these measures. 
 
State Laws and Policies:  These 26 underage drinking prevention policies have been identified 
as best practices (or as promising practices suitable for ongoing evaluation) and fall into four 
categories: 
1. Laws addressing minors in possession of alcohol; 
2. Laws targeting underage drinking and driving;  
3. Laws targeting alcohol suppliers; and 
4. Laws affecting alcohol pricing.  
 
STOP Act State Survey Data:  The STOP Act requires annual reporting of data from the 50 
states and the District of Columbia on their performance in enacting, enforcing, and creating 
laws, regulations, and programs to prevent or reduce underage drinking.  Administered since 
2011, the STOP Act State Survey collects data on the following topics: 
1. Enforcement programs to promote compliance with underage drinking laws and regulations. 
2. Programs targeted to youth, parents, and caregivers to deter underage drinking. 
3. State interagency collaborations to implement prevention programs, best-practice standards, 

collaborations with tribal governments, and participation in underage drinking media 
campaigns. 

4. State expenditures on the prevention of underage drinking. 
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Laws Addressing Minors in Possession of Alcohol 
Underage-Possession 
Is underage possession of alcoholic beverages prohibited? Yes 
Are there exceptions based on family relationships?    
• Is possession allowed if parent or guardian is present or consents? No 
• Is possession allowed if spouse is present or consents? No 
Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in parent/guardian’s home 

only 
Notes:  Nebraska makes an exception for persons who are at least 16 years old to carry alcohol from 
licensed establishments when they are accompanied by any person who is not a minor. 

 
Underage-Internal Possession 
Is underage consumption of alcoholic beverages prohibited? No law 
Are there exceptions based on family relationships?    
• Is consumption allowed if the parent or guardian is present or 

consents? 
N/A 

• Is consumption allowed if the spouse is present or consents? N/A 
Is there an exception based on location? N/A 
Notes:  Although Nebraska does not prohibit Internal Possession as defined by APIS, beginning on April 
4, 2001, it provides that "...no minor may...consume, or have in his or her possession or physical 
control any alcoholic liquor...."  See Neb. Rev. St. § 53-180.02.  “Consume” is defined as “knowingly and 
intentionally drinking or otherwise ingesting alcoholic liquor."  See Neb. Rev. St. § 53-103 prior to July 
15, 2010, and Neb. Rev. St. § 53-103.11 effective on July 15, 2010.  Laws that prohibit minors from 
having alcohol in their bodies, but which do so without reference to a blood, breath, or urine test, are 
not considered as prohibiting Internal Possession as defined by APIS. 

 
Underage-Consumption 
Is underage internal possession of alcoholic beverages prohibited? Yes 
Are there exceptions based on family relationships?    
• Is internal possession allowed if the parent or guardian is present 

or consents? 
No 

• Is internal possession allowed if the spouse is present or consents? No 
Is there an exception based on location? Yes, in parent/guardian’s home 

only 
 

Underage-Purchase and Attempted Purchase 
Is the purchase of alcoholic beverages prohibited? Yes 
May youth purchase for law enforcement purposes? Yes 

 
Underage-False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol 
Provisions Targeting Minors  
Is the use of false identification (ID) prohibited? Yes 
Does the use of a false ID result in minor’s driver’s license 
suspension? 

No 

Provisions Targeting Suppliers  
Is the lending or transferring or selling of a false ID prohibited?   No 
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Is the production of a false ID in the context of underage alcohol 
sales specifically prohibited?   

Yes 

Retailer Support Provisions   
Is there an incentive for the retailer to use electronic scanners for 
information digitally encoded on valid IDs?  

Yes 

Are state driver’s licenses for persons under 21 easily distinguishable 
from licenses for persons 21 and over? 

Yes 

May retailers seize apparently false IDs without fear of prosecution 
even if the ID is ultimately deemed valid? 

No 

Does an affirmative defense exist for the retailer?   Yes 
• Is it a specific affirmative defense (retailer reasonably believed ID 

was valid after examining it)? 
Yes 

• Is it a general affirmative defense (retailer reasonably believed 
purchaser was over 21)? 

No 

Does the retailer have the right to sue the minor for use of a false 
ID? 

No 

May a retailer detain a minor who used a false ID?   No 
 

Laws Targeting Underage Drinking and Driving 
Youth Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles) 
What is the maximum blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit for an 
underage driver of a motor vehicle? 

0.02% 

Does a BAC level in excess of limit automatically establish a violation 
(per se violation)? 

Yes 

What is the minimum age to which the limit applies? Not specified 
What is the maximum age to which the limit applies? 21 

 
Loss of Driving Privileges for Alcohol Violations by Minors (“Use/Lose” Laws) 
Is there a “use/lose” law that suspends or revokes a minor’s driving 
privileges for alcohol violations? 

Yes 

What types of violation lead to license suspension or revocation?  
• Purchase of alcohol No 
• Possession of alcohol Yes 
• Consumption of alcohol Yes 
The law applies to people under what age? 18 
Is suspension or revocation mandatory or discretionary? Discretionary 
What is the length of suspension/revocation?  
Minimum number of days 30 
Maximum number of days 30 

 
Graduated Driver’s Licenses 
Learner Stage  
What is the minimum age for permit to drive with 
parents, guardians, or other adults (other than 
instructors)? 

15 
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What is the minimum number of months driver 
must hold learner permit before advancing to 
intermediate stage? 

6 

What is the minimum number of hours of driving 
with parents, guardians, or adults before 
advancing to intermediate stage? 

0 (with driver education; 50 hours without (10 of 
which must be at night)) 

Intermediate Stage  
What is the minimum age for driving without 
adult supervision? 

16 

For night driving, when does adult supervision 
requirement begin? 

12:00 AM 

Can law enforcement stop a driver for night 
driving violation as a primary offense? 

No, officer must stop driver for another offense 
to cite for night driving violation 

Are there restrictions on passengers? Yes, no more than one passenger under 19 who is 
not an immediate family member 

Can law enforcement stop driver for violation of 
passenger restrictions as a primary offense? 

No, officer must stop driver for another offense 
to cite for passenger restriction violation 

License Stage  
What is the minimum age for full license 
privileges and lifting of restrictions? 

17 (Passenger restrictions expire 6 months after 
issuance of intermediate license; unsupervised 
night driving restrictions remain until age 17) 

 
Laws Targeting Alcohol Suppliers 

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors 
Is furnishing of alcoholic beverages to minors prohibited? Yes 
Are there exceptions based on family relationships?  
• Is furnishing allowed if the parent or guardian supplies the 

alcohol? 
No 

• Is furnishing allowed if the spouse supplies the alcohol? No 
Is there an exception based on location? No 
Affirmative Defense for Sellers and Licensees  
Does law require seller/licensee to be exonerated of furnishing to a 
minor if the minor has not been charged? 

No 

 
Compliance Check Protocols 
Does the state have a written protocol for when an underage decoy 
is used in compliance checks? 

No data 

What is the minimum age a decoy may be to participate in a 
compliance check? 

N/A 

What is the maximum age a decoy may be to participate in a 
compliance check? 

N/A 

Are there appearance requirements for the decoy? N/A  
Does decoy carry ID during compliance check? N/A 
May decoy verbally exaggerate his or her actual age?   N/A 
Is decoy training mandated, recommended, prohibited, or not 
specified? 

N/A 
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Penalty Guidelines for Sales to Minors 
Are there written guidelines for penalties that are imposed on 
retailers for furnishing to a minor? 

No data 

What is the time period for defining second, third and subsequent 
offenses? 

N/A 

What is the penalty for the first offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the second offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the third offense? N/A 
What is the penalty for the fourth offense? N/A 

 
Responsible Beverage Service (RBS)–Voluntary 
Is there a state law pertaining to Beverage Service Training?   Yes–Voluntary 
If training is mandatory, who must participate?   N/A 
If training is voluntary, which of the following incentives are offered?  
• Defense in dram shop liability lawsuits No 
• Discounts in dram shop liability insurance, license fees, or other  No 
• Mitigation of fines or other administrative penalties for sales to 

minors or intoxicated persons 
No 

• Protection against license revocation for sales to minors or sales 
to intoxicated persons 

No 

Does the RBS law apply to on-premises establishments (such as bars 
and restaurants) or off-premises establishments (such as liquor 
stores)?   

Not specified 

Does the RBS law apply to new or existing licensees?   Not specified 
 

Minimum Ages for Sellers of Alcohol – Off-Premises (i.e., Liquor Stores)  
What is the minimum age requirement for off-premises retail 
establishments? 

 

Beer 16 
Wine 16 
Spirits 16 
Does a manager or supervisor have to be present? No 
Notes:  Employees between 16 and 19 years of age may complete a transaction for the sale of beer, 
wine, or spirits, if they do not handle or serve it. 

 
Minimum Age for Alcohol Servers and Bartenders – On-Premises (i.e., Restaurants and Bars) 
What is the minimum age requirement for servers in on-premises 
establishments? 

 

Beer 19 
Wine 19 
Spirits 19 
What is the minimum age requirement for bartenders in on-
premises establishments? 

 

Beer 19 
Wine 19 
Spirits 19 
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Does a manager or supervisor have to be present? No 
Notes:  As of April 19, 2016, employees between 16 and 19 years of age may complete a transaction 
for the sale of beer, wine, or spirits, but they cannot handle or serve it. 

 
Distance Limitations Applied to New Alcohol Outlets Near Universities, Colleges, and Primary and 
Secondary Schools 
Colleges and Universities  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises outlets (i.e., liquor 
stores)? 

No 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises outlets (i.e., 
restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, No bottle club shall be 
operated within 300 feet from 
campus. 

To which alcohol products does requirement apply? Beer, Wine, Spirits 
Notes:  Although Nebraska law states a 300-foot limit, the Commission may waive it.  If outlet is 
surrounded by or adjacent on two sides to University/College, then University/College must approve. 
Neb. Rev. Stat. § 53-177.01. 
Primary and Secondary Schools  
Is there a distance requirement for off-premises outlets (i.e., liquor 
stores)? 

Yes, within 150 feet. 

Is there a distance requirement for on-premises outlets (i.e., 
restaurants and bars)? 

Yes, within 150 feet. 

To which alcohol products does requirement apply? Beer, Wine, Spirits 
 

Dram Shop Liability 
Does a statute create dram shop liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be recovered? No 
Does the statute limit who may be sued? No 
Does the statute limit elements or standards of proof? No 
Does common law dram shop liability exist? No 
Notes:  Injury or property damage must be a proximate result of the negligence of an intoxicated 
minor. 

 
Social Host Liability 
Does a statute create social host liability? Yes 
Does the statute limit damages that may be recovered? No 
Does the statute limit who may be sued? No 
Does the statute limit elements or standards of proof? No 
Does common law social host liability exist? No 
Notes:  Injury or property damage must be a proximate result of the negligence of an intoxicated 
minor. 

 
Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties 
Does a statute prohibit hosting underage drinking parties? No law 
Is the statute specific to underage parties, or a general prohibition 
against permitting underage drinking on the property? 

N/A 

What action by underage guest triggers a violation? N/A 
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Property type covered by the law? N/A 
What level of knowledge by the host is required? N/A 
Does host’s preventive action protect him/her from being held 
liable? 

N/A 

Are there any exceptions for underage guests? N/A 
 

Retailer Interstate Shipments of Alcohol 
Are out-of-state retailers prohibited from sending interstate 
shipments to in-state consumers? 

 

Beer Permitted  
Wine Permitted 
Spirits Permitted 

 
Direct Shipments/Sales 
May alcohol producers ship directly to consumers? Yes 
What alcohol types may be shipped? Beer, Wine, Distilled Spirits 
Must purchaser make mandatory trip to producer before delivery is 
authorized? 

No 

Age verification requirements 
 

Must the producer/shipper verify purchaser’s age before sale? Yes 
Must the common carrier (deliverer) verify age of recipients? No 
State approval/permit requirements 

 

Must the producer/manufacturer obtain state license or permit? Yes 
Must the common carrier (deliverer) be approved by a state agency? Yes 
Recording/reporting requirements 

 

Must the producer/manufacturer record/report purchaser’s name? No 
Must the common carrier (deliverer) record/report recipient’s 
name? 

No 

Shipping label requirements 
 

Must the label state “Package contains alcohol”? Yes 
Must the label state “Recipient must be 21 years old”? Yes 

 
Keg Registration 
How is a keg defined (in gallons)? Equal to or more than 5.00 
Prohibitions  
Is it illegal to possess an unregistered or unlabeled keg and if so, 
what is the penalty? 

Yes (Maximum fine/jail, 
$500/3 months) 

Is it illegal to destroy the label on a keg, and if so, what is the 
penalty? 

Yes (Maximum fine/jail, 
$500/3 months) 

What purchaser information is collected?  
Must the retailer collect the name and address? Yes 
Must the retailer collect the ID number, name and address on 
license or other government information? 

Yes 

Must the retailer collect the address at which keg will be consumed? No 
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Must warning information be given to purchaser? Yes, passive (requires no 
action by purchaser) 

Is a deposit required? No 
Does law cover disposable kegs? No 

 
Home Delivery 
Is home delivery of alcohol permitted?  
Beer Yes 
Wine Yes 
Spirits Yes 

 
High-Proof Grain Alcohol Beverages 
Are there restrictions on the sale of high-proof grain alcohol 
beverages? 

No 

Are restrictions based on Alcohol by Volume (ABV)? N/A 
Are there exceptions to restrictions? N/A 

 
Laws Affecting Alcohol Pricing 

Alcohol Taxes 
 
Beer  
Control system for beer? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 5% alcohol beer $0.31 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on total receipts for 
5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on total receipts for 
5% alcohol beer 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 3.2 – 6% alcohol beer if applicable  
 
Wine  
Control system for wine? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 12% alcohol wine $0.95 
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Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on total receipts for 
12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on total receipts for 
12% alcohol wine 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 6 – 14% alcohol wine if applicable  
 
Spirits  
Control system for spirits? No 
Specific excise tax per gallon for 40% alcohol spirits $3.75 
Ad valorem excise tax (for on-premises sales) on total receipts for 
40% alcohol spirits 

  

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
Not relevant 

Ad valorem excise tax (for off-premises sales) on total receipts for 
40% alcohol spirits 

 

Wholesale tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
Retail tax rate (if applicable) N/A 
If retail tax rate applies, is there an exemption from general sales 
tax? 

No 

• General sales tax rate Not relevant 
• Sales tax adjusted retail tax rate (the retail tax minus the general 

sales tax, where there is an exemption from the general sales tax) 
Not relevant 

Additional taxes for 15 – 50% alcohol spirits if applicable  
 

Low-Price, High-Volume Drink Specials 
Are on-premises retailers prohibited from offering the following 
types of drink specials? 

 

Free beverages  No 
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Multiple servings at one time No 
Multiple servings for same price as single serving Yes 
Reduced price for a specified day or time (i.e., happy hours) No 
Unlimited beverages for fixed price Yes 
Increased volume without increase in price No 

 
Wholesaler Pricing Restrictions 
  
Beer  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup or maximum 
discount for each product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not reduce) prices for 
a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to retailer and if so, what is 
the maximum time period? 

No 

Wine  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup or maximum 
discount for each product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not reduce) prices for 
a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to retailer and if so, what is 
the maximum time period? 

Yes (30 days) 

Spirits  
Are volume discounts to retailers allowed? No law 
Must wholesalers establish a minimum markup or maximum 
discount for each product sold to retailers? 

No law 

Must wholesalers publicly post and hold (i.e., not reduce) prices for 
a set period of time? 

No law 

Is wholesaler permitted to extend credit to retailer and if so, what is 
the maximum time period? 

Yes (30 days) 
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Nebraska State Survey Responses 
State Agency Information 
Agency with primary responsibility for enforcing underage drinking laws: 

Nebraska State Patrol 
Enforcement Strategies 
State law enforcement agencies use: 

Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations No 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

Local law enforcement agencies use: 
Cops in Shops No 
Shoulder Tap Operations Yes 
Party Patrol Operations or Programs Yes 
Underage Alcohol–Related Fatality Investigations Yes 

State has a program to investigate and enforce direct sales/shipment laws Yes 
Primary state agency responsible for enforcing laws addressing direct 
sales/shipments of alcohol to minors 

Nebraska State Patrol-
Investigative Services 

Such laws are also enforced by local law enforcement agencies Yes 
Enforcement Statistics 
State collects data on the number of minors found in possession1 Yes 

Number of minors found in possession1 by state law  
enforcement agencies 

2,497 

Number pertains to the 12 months ending 12/30/2018 
Data include arrests/citations issued by local law enforcement agencies Yes 

State conducts underage compliance checks/decoy operations2 to determine 
whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of retail licensees in state3 5,117 as of 5/22/2019 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by state agencies  
(including random checks) 404 

Number of licensees that failed state compliance checks 25 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2018 
Compliance checks/decoy operations conducted at on-sale, off-sale, or both 
retail establishments 

Both on- and off-sale 
establishments 

State conducts random underage compliance checks/decoy operations Yes 
Number of licensees subject to random state compliance checks/decoy 
operations Not available 

Number of licensees that failed random state compliance checks Not available 
Local agencies conduct underage compliance checks/decoy operations to 
determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting sales to 
minors 

Yes 

Data are collected on these activities Yes 
Number of licensees checked for compliance by local agencies 776 
Number of licensees that failed local compliance checks 61 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending 12/31/2018 

Sanctions 
State collects data on fines imposed on retail establishments that furnish to 
minors Yes 

Number of fines imposed by the state4 194 
Total amount in fines across all licensees No data 
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Smallest fine imposed No data 
Largest fine imposed No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

State collects data on license suspensions imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of suspensions imposed by the state5 194 
Total days of suspensions across all licensees 2,076 (101 mandatory) 
Shortest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data 
Longest period of suspension imposed (in days) No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

State collects data on license revocations imposed on retail establishments 
specifically for furnishing to minors Yes 

Number of license revocations imposed6 No data 
Numbers pertain to the 12 months ending No data 

Additional Clarification    
The figure reported for minor in possession arrests represents all 2018 liquor law violation arrests of individuals 
under the age of 21, not just those specifically for minor in possession. 
The Liquor Commission assigns suspension days and the licensee can choose if they would like to serve the 
suspension or pay the fine. A total of 194 licensees received suspensions but were given the option to pay the fines 
instead of being suspended. Of those, there were 101 mandatory days of suspension imposed when paying the 
fine was not an option. 
1 Or having consumed or purchased per state statutes. 
2 Underage compliance checks/decoy operations to determine whether alcohol retailers are complying with laws prohibiting 

sales to minors. 
3 Excluding special licenses such as temporary, seasonal, and common carrier licenses. 
4 Does not include fines imposed by local agencies. 
5 Does not include suspensions imposed by local agencies. 
6Does not include revocations imposed by local agencies. 

Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State  
Too Good for Drugs and Violence  

Number of youth served 1,030 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:   https://www.childtrends.org/programs/too-good-for-

drugs  
 

URL for more program information:  https://www.childtrends.org/programs/too-
good-for-drugs   

 

Program Description:  Too Good for Drugs and Violence is designed to promote high school students’ pro-social 
skills, positive character traits, and violence- and drug-free norms.  The curriculum consists of 14 core lessons, as 
well as an additional 12 lessons that can be infused into other subject areas, such as English, science, and social 
studies).  Teachers participate in 10 staff development lessons.  The program includes optional elements of family 
and community involvement. 
All Stars  

Number of youth served 940 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 

https://www.childtrends.org/programs/too-good-for-drugs
https://www.childtrends.org/programs/too-good-for-drugs
https://www.childtrends.org/programs/too-good-for-drugs
https://www.childtrends.org/programs/too-good-for-drugs
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URL for evaluation report:   
https://www.crimesolutions.gov/ProgramDetails.aspx?ID=319  

 

URL for more program information:   https://allstarsprevention.com/  
Program Description:  All Stars programs are designed to prevent, reduce, and eliminate negative behaviors and 
promote positive behaviors.  Each All Stars program, and every session and activity within All Stars, achieves these 
goals by changing qualities that account for why young people engage in negative behaviors.  Various All Stars 
programs address the following concepts to some degree:       
• Beliefs about consequences     
• Bonding     
• Commitment to not use or to reduce use     
• Decision-making and impulsivity control     
• Goal setting    
• Idealism     
• Norms     
• Parental attentiveness     
• Resistance skills training    
• Self-management 
Alcohol Literacy Challenge  

Number of youth served 774 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:     

https://www.crimesolutions.gov/ProgramDetails.aspx?ID=632 
 

URL for more program information:    https://alcoholliteracychallenge.com/  
Program Description:  Alcohol Literacy Challenge (ALC) is a brief classroom-based program designed to alter 
alcohol expectancies and reduce the quantity and frequency of alcohol use among high school and college 
students.  Alcohol expectancies are an individual's beliefs about the anticipated effects of alcohol use, including 
those that are positive (e.g., increased sociability, reduced tension) and negative (e.g., impairments to mental and 
behavioral functioning, increased aggressiveness or risk taking).  Some of the most desired effects—arousing, 
positive, and prosocial effects—are placebo rather than pharmacological effects.  ALC aims to correct erroneous 
beliefs about the effects of alcohol, decreasing positive and increasing negative expectancies.  These shifts in 
expectancies have been shown to predict lower levels of alcohol use. 
Responsible Beverage Server Training (RBST)  

Number of youth served 16,266 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:    

https://www.theathenaforum.org/sites/default/files/xx_responsible_beverage_ser
vice_6-28-12.pdf 

 

URL for more program information:   
https://www.thecommunityguide.org/findings/alcohol-excessive-consumption-
responsible-beverage-service-training  

 

Program Description:  Responsible beverage server training (RBST) includes efforts to educate owners, managers, 
servers, and sellers at alcohol establishments about strategies to avoid illegally selling alcohol to underage youth or 
intoxicated patrons.  RBST practices include offering customers food with drinks, delaying service to rapid drinkers, 
refusing service to intoxicated or underage consumers, and discouraging intoxicated customers from driving.  RBST 
is sometimes called RBS or server training. 

https://www.crimesolutions.gov/ProgramDetails.aspx?ID=319
https://allstarsprevention.com/
https://www.crimesolutions.gov/ProgramDetails.aspx?ID=632
https://alcoholliteracychallenge.com/
https://www.theathenaforum.org/sites/default/files/xx_responsible_beverage_service_6-28-12.pdf
https://www.theathenaforum.org/sites/default/files/xx_responsible_beverage_service_6-28-12.pdf
https://www.thecommunityguide.org/findings/alcohol-excessive-consumption-responsible-beverage-service-training
https://www.thecommunityguide.org/findings/alcohol-excessive-consumption-responsible-beverage-service-training
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Lead and Seed  
Number of youth served 958 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:   Not available  
URL for more program information:  Not available    

Program Description:  Lead & Seed is an environmental drug prevention program for schools or communities that 
is youth-driven and adult-supported.  It has been replicated in all regions of the United States.  The program 
focuses on underage alcohol consumption, prescription drug misuse, drunk driving, and marijuana and illicit drug 
use.  It involves an interactive, 2-day training with youth leaders from middle and/or high school and adults who 
work with youth to capture the desired outcomes.  The team develops a logic model using compelling data from 
their community assessment to drive the process for innovative solutions and sustainability of positive outcomes.  
The empowered team promotes community mobilization, social marketing techniques, leadership skills and other 
advocacy measures to make necessary changes in their physical, sociocultural, economic, and legal environments. 
Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol (CMCA)  

Number of youth served 469,119 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:   

https://www.crimesolutions.gov/ProgramDetails.aspx?ID=269  
 

URL for more program information:  
https://www.crimesolutions.gov/ProgramDetails.aspx?ID=269  

 

Program Description:  Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol (CMCA) is a community organizing program 
designed to reduce youth access to alcohol by changing community and law enforcement policies, attitudes, and 
practices, and by targeting commercial and noncommercial availability of alcohol to underage drinkers. 
DARE to Be You (DTBY)  

Number of youth served 750 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  https://youth.gov/content/dare-be-you     
URL for more program information:  https://youth.gov/content/dare-be-you   

Program Description:  DARE to be You (DTBY) is a multi-level prevention program serving high-risk families with 
children ages 2-5.  Program objectives focus on children's developmental attainments and aspects of parenting 
that contribute to youth resilience to later substance abuse, including parental self-efficacy, effective child rearing, 
social support, and problem-solving skills. 
Second Step  

Number of youth served 1,235 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:    

https://www.crimesolutions.gov/ProgramDetails.aspx?ID=570 
 

URL for more program information:  https://www.secondstep.org/research   

https://www.crimesolutions.gov/ProgramDetails.aspx?ID=269
https://www.crimesolutions.gov/ProgramDetails.aspx?ID=269
https://youth.gov/content/dare-be-you
https://youth.gov/content/dare-be-you
https://www.crimesolutions.gov/ProgramDetails.aspx?ID=570
https://www.secondstep.org/research
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Program Description:  Second Step is a program rooted in social-emotional learning that helps transform schools 
into supportive, successful learning environments uniquely equipped to encourage children to thrive.  More than 
just a classroom curriculum, Second Step's holistic approach helps create a more empathetic society by providing 
education professionals, families, and the larger community with tools to enable them to take an active role in the 
social-emotional growth and safety of today's children. 
Alcohol: Compliance Checks  

Number of youth served 430,120 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:  

https://www.theathenaforum.org/sites/default/files/xx_compliance_checks_6-28-
12.pdf   

 

URL for more program information:   
http://www.projectextramile.org/enforcement/compliance-checks 

 

Program Description:  Compliance checks involve the use of underage buyers by law enforcement agencies to test 
retailers' compliance with laws prohibiting the sale of alcohol to minors. 
Brief Alcohol Screening & Intervention of College Students (BASICS)  

Number of youth served 189 
Number of parents served No data 
Number of caregivers served No data 
Program has been evaluated Yes 
Evaluation report is available Yes 
URL for evaluation report:   https://www.blueprintsprograms.org/factsheet/brief-

alcohol-screening-and-intervention-for-college-students-basics   
 

URL for more program information:    
https://www.blueprintsprograms.org/factsheet/brief-alcohol-screening-and-
intervention-for-college-students-basics 

 

Program Description:  The Brief Alcohol Screening & Intervention of College Students (BASICS) program is designed 
to help college students ages 18-24 make better alcohol-use decisions.  It targets students who drink alcohol 
heavily and have experienced or are at risk for alcohol-related problems.  This program is conducted over 2 brief 
interviews with the students to change habits. 

 
Additional Underage Drinking Prevention Programs Operated or Funded by the State 
Program description: No data 
Additional Clarification   
No data 

 
Additional Information Related to Underage Drinking Prevention Programs  
State collaborates with federally recognized tribal governments in the prevention of 
underage drinking 

Yes 

Description of collaboration:  Partnership on various initiatives occur through the work of the Nebraska 
Prevention Advisory Council whose membership includes tribal representation.  The state also partners with 
the Winnebago and Ponca tribes through the Thurston County Collaborative to prevent underage drinking in 
Thurston County. 

State has programs to measure and/or reduce youth exposure to alcohol advertising and 
marketing 

Description of program:  Yes, many of the locally established community coalitions 
that are targeting underage drinking prevention initiatives have included efforts aimed 

Yes 

https://www.theathenaforum.org/sites/default/files/xx_compliance_checks_6-28-12.pdf
https://www.theathenaforum.org/sites/default/files/xx_compliance_checks_6-28-12.pdf
http://www.projectextramile.org/enforcement/compliance-checks
https://www.blueprintsprograms.org/factsheet/brief-alcohol-screening-and-intervention-for-college-students-basics
https://www.blueprintsprograms.org/factsheet/brief-alcohol-screening-and-intervention-for-college-students-basics
https://www.blueprintsprograms.org/factsheet/brief-alcohol-screening-and-intervention-for-college-students-basics
https://www.blueprintsprograms.org/factsheet/brief-alcohol-screening-and-intervention-for-college-students-basics
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at youth exposure to alcohol advertising, promotions, and marketing, including some 
strategies that are initiated by youth members themselves. 

State collaborates with/participates in media campaigns to prevent underage drinking Yes 
Federal campaigns: Talk. They Hear You.; Talk About Alcohol Yes 
Regional and local media campaigns: Take Time Out to Talk about Underage Drinking Yes 
Local school district efforts:  No 
Other:  No 

State collaborates with/participates in SAMHSA’s national media campaign, “Talk. They 
Hear You.” 

Yes 

State officially endorses TTHY efforts Yes 
State commits state resources for TTHY Yes 
State forwards TTHY materials to local areas Yes 
Other:  No 

State procures funding for TTHY Yes 
Pro bono No 
Donated air time No 
Earned media No 
Other: Strategic Prevention Framework-Partnerships for Success (SPF-PFS) funding Yes 

State has adopted or developed best practice standards for underage drinking prevention 
programs 

Yes 

Agencies/organizations that established best practices standards:  
Federal agency(ies): SAMHSA, U.S. Department of Justice (USDOJ)/Office of Juvenile 
Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP), National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration (NHTSA) 

 
Yes 

Agency(ies) within your state: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services Yes 
Nongovernmental agency(ies):  No 
Other:  No 
Best practice standards description: The Surgeon General's Call to Action To Prevent and Reduce Underage 
Drinking (Health and Human Services [HHS], 2007) provides the framework for our underage drinking 
prevention initiatives.     
Additional Guidance by the:     
Interagency Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (ICCPUD)     
2015 Report to Congress (RTC) on the Prevention and Reduction of Underage Drinking  

 
Additional Clarification  
No data 
 
State Interagency Collaboration  
A state-level interagency governmental body/committee exists to coordinate or address 
underage drinking prevention activities 

Yes 

Committee contact information:  
Name: Mark Segerstrom 
Email: Mark.Segerstrom@nebraska.gov 
Address: 5001 South 14th Street, Lincoln, NE 68512 
Phone: 402-471-2515 

Agencies/organizations represented on the committee:  
Nebraska State Patrol 
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services 
Nebraska Crime Commission 
Nebraska Liquor Control Commission 
Nebraska Attorney General 
Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles 
University of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL) and UNL Police 
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Lincoln Police Department 
State Probation Office 
Project Extra Mile 
Nebraska Medical Association   
Nebraska Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD)   
Nebraska Public Health Association   
Nebraska Sheriff's Association 

A website or other public source exists to describe committee activities No 
URL or other means of access:  Not applicable 

 
Underage Drinking Reports 
State has prepared a plan for preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 

Prepared by:  Department of Health and Human Services, Prevention Advisory Council 
Plan can be accessed via:  
http://dhhs.ne.gov/Behavioral%20Health%20Documents/Strategic%20Plan%202017-2020.pdf 

State has prepared a report on preventing underage drinking in the last 3 years Yes 
Prepared by:  Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Statewide Epidemiological Outcomes 
Workgroup (SEOW) 
Report can be accessed via:  
http://dhhs.ne.gov/Behavioral%20Health%20Documents/Epidemiological%20Profile%20-%202017.pdf 

Additional Clarification  
No data 

 
State Expenditures for the Prevention of Underage Drinking  
Compliance checks in retail outlets:  

Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Checkpoints and saturation patrols:  
Estimate of state funds expended No data 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending No data 

Community-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $204,596 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2018 

K–12 school-based programs to prevent underage drinking:  
Estimate of state funds expended $171,805 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2018 

Programs targeted to institutes of higher learning:  
Estimate of state funds expended $32,791 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending 06/30/2018 

Programs that target youth in the juvenile justice system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Programs that target youth in the child welfare system:  
Estimate of state funds expended Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending Data not available 

Other programs:  
Programs or strategies included:  Data not available 
Estimate of state funds expended:   Data not available 
Estimate based on the 12 months ending:   Data not available 

  
Funds Dedicated to Underage Drinking  
State derives funds dedicated to underage drinking from the following revenue streams:   

http://dhhs.ne.gov/Behavioral%20Health%20Documents/Strategic%20Plan%202017-2020.pdf
http://dhhs.ne.gov/Behavioral%20Health%20Documents/Epidemiological%20Profile%20-%202017.pdf
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Taxes No 
Fines  No 
Fees No 
Other:  Not applicable No 

Description of funding streams and how they are used: 
Not applicable 

Additional Clarification  
No data 
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